We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and nice enough place!”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is very nice but I have mainly given it three stars due to it's location and the stunning scenery.

The first room we were in was not very good and I complained so they moved us to a much better room.

I have to say it could be a bit cleaner and the rooms are not as good as they look online.

The food was nice enough and we only really stayed here to do a rice boat tour and it was convenient for being picked up by the boat.

The pool was a nice touch bit is tiny and when there is another huge family staying, as there was with us, it was impossible to have a dip without being overrun by other people.

Nice enough but nothing special.

We actually travelled here in December 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review our resort.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our resort in general. However we regret that your expectations were not meet in some areas and you did not had the perfect and personalized stay experience.

We assure you that we have initiated necessary corrective measures for providing best services with high standards of hospitality.

We look forward to host you again soon.

Very sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

This property is fabulous! The scenic view of the Vembanad Lake in the backdrop is breathtaking. We had gone there in Nov 2009. The trip still is very fresh and the most memorable one. The staff were polite and welcoming. The complimentary boat ride that we took was worth the ride. The food is good as they have an authentic menu. Since my wife was expecting she had the craving to have the typical home-made authentic kerala style dishes. We asked the restaurant manager and they readily ask us what my wife would love to have..... She still remembers the heavenly taste of the dishes till today :) Our older daughter who was 20mths then too enjoyed herself to the best in the hammocks, the swings and the children play centre at the hotel. I would recommend this place as a must visit for family and honeymooning couples. I can bet you wont be disappointed. If you really wanna enjoy the food in kerala, you should definitely try the traditional and authentic kerala style menu for lunch and dinner....If you haven't tried it...then you're missing something..... And yes do not forget to try the kareemeen polichathu!

Room Tip: We had the garden view room which was good. But I suggest you take the room which gives you view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasdan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for opting to stay with us and reviewing our resort.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and the other services provided during the stay. Team at Resort is tremendously pleased to hear that you were able to experience the true magic of our personalized service. Thank you for your nice comments and the rating 5/5 will be a great motivation for all of us in Backwater Ripples.

Thank You for recommending us through the Trip Advisor and look forward to host you again soon.

Very sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Property is excellent..location with an infinity pool in backwater side..however, the food is highly over priced with no options of buffet spread on the 2 nights that we stayed there..a simple meal could cost around 1500-2000..which is huge.. their morning buffet is very good however...coz the food was very expensive..almost all the guests who had their own vehicles were found eating at the neighbouring restaurants in Kumarakom..eat outs actually..
The best thing that happened to us was through a person.. we came to know of a restaurant called 12 to 12 in kottayam which was just 12 kms away..they served awesome barbecues for lunch and dinner..its not to be missed..try it..
We had to miss our complimentary sunset cruise cause we slept late.. the receptionist says she called us but the intercom was right at my bedside and i bet it didn't ring..they could have sent a person to the room to wake us up as we were right next door..which was not done..very sad..i tried to refix it but they refused to accommodate us for another time..disappointing though..
OK.. i guess..

Room Tip: Lake facing cottages are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrPriya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for opting to stay with us on your recent visit to Kumarakom and reviewing our resort.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the ambiance, and other services.
Although our intent is never to offer our esteemed guest unpleasant experience, we regret for the discomfort you faced during your stay with us.

As guest feedback goes a long way in improving our performance we thank you for the same and look forward to host you again .Assuring you of our best services and attention with highest standards of hospitality at all times.

Very sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The third trip on our trip around Kerala this resort is outstanding, situated on the lake. We were treated to the honeymoon suite as it was my wife's birthday on the day we arrived and flowers were delivered from the management which made a nice surprise. Great views from our room and our own little island to sit and relax in the sun complete with hammock. Food was great and the staff attentive, fantastic place to relax with trips on the lake and even boat houses to rent.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumarakomIndia, Public Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for opting to stay with us and reviewing our resort

We are extremely happy to learn that you have enjoyed the holiday. Your good words and the rating 5/5 will be a great motivation for all of us in Backwater Ripples.

Thank You for recommending us through the Trip Advisor and look forward to host you again soon.

Very sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed in Backwater Ripples for 2 nights and 3 days on the last week of April. Really love d the rooms, we stayed in a duplex room it was awesome. The ambiance offered here is simply excellent with mouthwatering sea food dishes. I would really recommend this destination if you need hassle free holidays.

Room Tip: If you have the budget go for Duplex,,if you got kids,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indudennis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumarakomIndia, Public Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for opting to stay with us on your recent visit to Kumarakom and reviewing our resort.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the ambiance, room, food and other services. Your words will be a great motivation for all of us in Backwater Ripples Kumarakom.

Thank You for recommending us through the Trip Advisor and look forward to host you again soon.

Very sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had a stay with my family on 28 april excellent property with good views worth to stay paisa wasool excellent food taste, hotel provided sunset ride on boat at thier cost for an hour which was great would advice to come with family great destination. .....dr h s malhotra. .......

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drmalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumarakomIndia, Public Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for stay with us and reviewing our resort.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the ambiance,, food and other services. Your good words and 5/5 ratings will be a great motivation for all of us in Backwater Ripples Kumarakom.

Thank You for recommending us through the Trip Advisor for family vacation and look forward to host you again soon.

Very sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed in BWR for 4 nights in first week of April '14. Went there with my wife and 3 year son. Contacted the hotel reservations directly and booked through them. The entire process was very smooth, all our questions answered well and we even got a very good deal on the room rates, better than the best that we got from travel agents or through their site.

Pros: Very nice place, awesome location. We got a first floor Lake view room. The room had absolutely stunning views, open the curtains of the windows and you can see the swimming pool and the lake. The balcony again had a wonderful view. The pool was good and well maintained. The place was child friendly, especially the restaurant staff were very friendly and took good care of our needs. The food quality was good and was reasonably tasty as well. Room service was very nice and had nothing to complain about at all. We had a flight at 6, so requested for a late checkout. They were more than happy to give the us the extension and we were allowed to stay till 2.30 even though the checkout time was 12. The open air bathroom was quite huge and very nice.

Cons: Since we got a room very close to lake and pool, we did not get private hammocks with our room. Some rooms come with private hammocks, but for the ones that don't, there is only one in the common area near the lake and there is a musical chair happening for it round the clock. They should try to increase the # of hammocks. Kids play area was very bad, took my son there to let him play but had to come back because it looked like it was not maintained for a long time.. full of cobwebs and rust in slides and other items. Food was costly though and the # of items on the menu (atleast for a vegetarian) is not much and you don't have a lot of choice. Could have had more clean and softer towels in the bathroom. The ones in the bathroom looked very old with stains etc.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view room, go for the first floor room as they offer very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsathya2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for opting to stay with us and reviewing our resort

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the ambiance, food and other services. Your good words will be a great motivation for all of us in Backwater Ripples Kumarakom.

As guest feedback goes a long way in improving our performance we thank you for the same. Assuring you our best services and attention with highest standards of hospitality at all times.

Thank you for recommending us through the Trip Advisor and we look forward to host you again soon.

Very sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
813 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
748 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: £75 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing