We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Verandah with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Verandah with a View”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is in a great setting slightly blemished by manager quirks. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and the view of the boats passing by the porch is worth the reasonable price of the hotel. The duplex cabins are great for people traveling in a group or for family groups. The rooms are clean and satisfactory if you are not expecting luxury at a reasonably priced resort. The staff was friendly, but the service was unpredictable. There were problems getting the separate beds requested for one room. Dinner arrangements were odd. Our deal included dinner but we were told that we had to order 2 hours in advance. The menu was not complicated, our order included nothing that any kitchen in India wouldn't have on hand, the food was merely passable and did not take 2 hours to prepare. The final blot on the ambience was that the owner arranged a car for us at the highest per kilometer rates on the trip. He was overheard making a comment on the telephone to the car service to the effect that there are foreign tourists here. (European American and Indian American) Later we made alternate arrangements at a more customary price. The boats will pick you up from the grounds but keep in mind that you are paying for the hours that the boat will be underway and the transport time to and from the hotel counts against your time. Despite the oddities of service I would consider staying here again because of the setting and reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    69
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
108
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great Clean Hotel on the banks of the lake. The rooms are in the form of cottages and are very clean, with a nice home feel atmosphere. Bathrooms are clean too. The Cottages have a very upclose view of the lake, being only a few meters away from the lake. Hence, you can enjoy the great view and the nice breeze from the sitout area of your cottage. The food is great. The food they serve is also great , homemade style food at very reasonable prices. The owners of the resort are lovely, welcoming people, who were always around the resort, socialising with the guests and helping them with anything they need. What I would suggest for the hotel to improve would be providing Wifi internet access throughout the hotel and have more amenties in the bathroom, like shampoo, conditioner etc in addition to the already available soap.
Would love to go there again whenever I get the chance to revisit Kumarakom.

Room Tip: All the hotel rooms are at the same level and lined on one row therefore any room will provide you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MetroTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights, on either side of our houseboat trip from Allepey. Our family, with two young boys, stayed in aircon bungalows by the lakeside and it was beautiful to wake in the morning and swim with insect skimming the water above your head . As another reviewer has said, the lake it is set on is not the same as the myriad of small rivers you can canoe through: it's large and lovely in a different way. The rooms are fine: clean and comfortable (delux air con), and the staff friendly and happy to help - and were lovely with our children. The hammocks and the ping pong table and badminton net were big hits :-) They made a fab pot of tea and good food, lavish portions - but beware the VERY LONG waiting time for your meals. I suspect that they shop for the ingredients after you have placed your order, so it's best to give them a few hours notice of your choices! that said, it was a great place to stay and a lot cheaper than the neighbouring resorts. I totally recommend it. It was close to the main train station at Kottayam from where we caught our train to Varkala too. During our stay we visited the nearby bird sanctuary and had a blissful boat ride, spotting birds and bats.

Room Tip: Delux air con was good, lake side bungalows a must
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

lovely place facing the Lake. The property is right on the waterfront & the delux rooms facing the lake were excellent. We had booked a non ac lake facing delux room but were given a lake facing ac standard room instead which was not as good as the delux rooms. our standard room was small and the bathroom was not good. The owners changed our rooms because they got another booking which fetched them more. so one needs to ensure that you get the room you have booked. Other wise the resort is quite nice and the traditional kerala dishes they served were good. One can go to the boat jetty and book a houseboat after checking it out. The house boats pick you up from the resort.

Room Tip: book only lake facing delux ac rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desai66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Was there during the first week of October. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. Not much facilities apart from the private walk to the lake bed, Hammock to relax and few indoor games. Food is ok and little priced higher for the quality. Best place to relax -less disturbance. Staff is very friendly, especially the manager (Anoop) who ensures that you are treated as a valuable guest. Best place if you want to just cool off and unwind without much activities.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are very good and have a sitout facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed with family and must say it was a peaceful and comfortable one. Its best not to leave doors open in the nights to prevent mosquito bites. The gardens are maintained well, but could have done with some playground stuff for the children etc. I must say that the food was very pricey (e.g. egg curry Rs 90) for this sort of accommodation. Unfortunately there are no places nearby where you could go to. I do hope the management considers their pricing in the future and able to offer a better package.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG15102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had visited the place back in May.. It was a group of friends about 10 of us. we had booked couple of rooms in prior, though we did reach quite late.

The Resort in neatly tuck away in the interiors of Kumarakom.. the resort has a amazing lake frontage.

The rooms are large airy clean and new! Toilets are clean and upto the mark.. towels and sheet were all clean and fresh as well.

The Staff and the Owners are extremely helpful and courteous. This place is best suited for families wanting to relax and while away time in the gradens hammock while gazing at the Vembanad lake and the passing house boats.

The resort rates are very reasonable. Ample parking space.

The only let down food is quite expensive.. If i remember right a meal with fish is about 350rs! and the next restaurent is atleast 2kms away.. fortunatly we had cars.. The mgmt has no issues with bringing food/drinks from outside. Although we were told to be considerate about the amount of noise we made coz the other rooms were occupied by families.. thats quite understandable :)

Overall a great exp....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anand_2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
5.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.5 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#12 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages

Property: Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Address: banks of the Vembanad Lake | Kumarakom,Kerala state, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Illikkalam Lake Resort)
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#8 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illikkalam Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing