We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Presidential Pool Villa last week and I must admit that The Zuri Kumarakom is one of the best properties that I have stayed in Kerala. The warm welcome and the ease of checking in made us comfortable straight away. While being driven to our room in the buggy, we were informed of all the facilities, cultural activities and entertainment options. The staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

However, there were a few things that I thought could be improved.

1. The sunset cruise was disappointing. It was an hour for a round trip to view the sunset. There was really no views during the boat ride except the few minutes of sunset. The boat was obviously a traditional boat with a loud diesel engine and strong smell of diesel throughout the trip made is quite uncomfortable for us. As we were staying only for a night at the property, we really thought that this was a waste of time. We could have utilized this time to enjoy the good views around the resort especially as the lighting during the sunset would have been perfect for photography. I would therefore not recommend this trip if you are in the property only for a night. I would have loved to ride in a traditional row boat or a battery powered boat through the canals with beautiful scenery on both sides.

2. The cultural program was excellent. However, the announcements were not audible. A few of us also thought that there should have been an introduction to the artist and the form of art as most of the guests were either from abroad or from other parts of India. It cannot be assumed that they are aware of the different types of art/dance in Kerala. The kid who danced was not introduced and neither was the form of dance. This was extremely disappointing as she did a great job, her expressions were good and considering that she was a young girl, this would have been very encouraging.

Room Tip: A pool villa with the view of the lake is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting the comment on trip advisor.
We have noted the feedback on the Motor Boat and the cultural program.
We have initiated the cultural event to be more interactive and interesting keeping in mind the demographic client profile.
Motor Boats are apt for cruising on the lake for short duration since it can go into the canals in comparison to Houseboats.
Speedboats is another option available for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    363
    103
    39
    33
See reviews for
516
496
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Visited Zuri in November 2012. The drive from Cochin airport to Zuri takes around two hours. One will see the direction boards of all the popular resorts and pass by some of them including the Vivante by Taj on the way. Zuri is practically tucked in one corner and hence perhaps the most serene.
The welcome drink was a coconut which was very refreshing after travelling for around six hours from delhi. The place is beautifully crafted and well maintained. The most striking thing when you enter is the view of the lagoon and the wooden platforms around it.
The cottages are all located around the lagoon and are reached by beautiful winding paths. Those who dont like to walk or old people can take "baggi" that is the golf carts to their rooms with mannered staff.
The rooms are nice and cozy in this season with a very nice view of laggon from the balcony. The best part however is the bath which has a large glass window next to the bathtub, a shower room and a rain shower in the closed and private area next to the bath.
For recreation there is something for everyone. My kids enjoyed fishing (though they couldnt catch the intelligent fishes in the lagoon), bicycling (they have quiet a few), swimming (a nice a clean pool), an evening musical recital in the ampitheater.
There are also boat cruises and pedalling boats as well as message services. The spa looked good but we didnt use it due to the short stay.
Coming to food. They serve mainly the buffet. I would rate it as good and healthy. The spread is balanced.
The staff at Zuri is very polite and mannered.
Only cons which I found with the hotel is that when full they sometime cannot manage with limited no of golf carts and you have to wait for your turn to be picked from rooms.
I will definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a feedback on trip Advisor.
The Zuri Resort in Kumarakom offers ten presidential pool villa overlooking the beautiful vembanad lake.
The other categories like the cottages with the Zuri room and Zuri Deluxe rooms are overlooking the Lagoon.
The lagoon is rich in variety of fishes with the local delicacy- "Karimeen- translated as Pearl spot" in abundance.Fishing as an activity appeals to all age groups.
The Buffet incorporates the kerala cuisine along with choice of continental,North Indian and oriental cuisine.
Please visit our webpage for more information and happenings in the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The resort is great, nice, clean, original. The service is efficient and extremely friendly, even with people with limited English proficiency. Massages are offered at the spa pool excelentes. very original by the view you have from the water. The buffet food is correct, better a la carte cuisine in the restaurant daily, especially if you let the chef advised. The lagoon bass for dinner, there seems to be liked by other tripadvisor users, but my experience is very good. Professional Attention, fried squid and shrimp tempura are excellent, the mushroom risotto with very good and the tiramisu was amazing to be a non-Italian restaurant. My recommendation: use the kitchen a la carte restaurant daily for lunch and dinner. I also suggest a room on first floor better than at ground level, or a cottage for those with private pool, more privacy and better location within the resort, without this meaning that the other rooms have not seen or have bad bad locations that do not exist. The customer service for excursions seemed appropriate to the category of hotel. For example, the houseboat trip on the backwaters is not cheap, but the exclusivity of the boat was worth. Only a detail that, unfortunately, may not be solved hotel management: groups and families who were housed were too noisy to not record it in a review. Another problem is that some customers accustomed to stop drying clothes in public areas, and that's not very aesthetically say, and less in a hotel that wants to be five stars. My suggestion about it is that you ask customers not to leave clothes lying around everywhere, and it is located to individual customers or partners in areas as far away as possible from customers arriving in a group or family. In short: excellent choice for a retreat a few days looking for a little peace of mind with cultural activity, everything worked fine, and any requirement to employees was answered politely and quickly.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaswinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure having you and family stay with us.

The team is delighted to note that they could make your trip a special one!

At The Zuri Kumarakom, we take great pride in the services we offer and your appreciation motivates us to achieve greater heights of excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I wanna thank u all for such a great service..All the staffs of The Zure was fabulous..we spent memorable vacation in zuri..especially on person i want 2 thank is Chef Bishnu..really he is a great guy..n he made a delicious food for us...really..i will cme..again..thank you


Rajeev

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable and restful stay with us.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback on our facilities and food, and look forward to welcoming you back, should your holidays bring you back to Kumarakom.

Log into our website for early bird offerings and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights during Diwali vacation November 2012.
It's big, amazing property.

Rooms
We stayed in zuri cottage - very nice and specious and modern decore. Bathroom with tub, shower cube and garden rain shower

Cons- Only Zuri pool villa have the amazing back waters view... rest of the all rooms have man made lagoon view....

Food:
on expensive side.... but nice variety of selections... keralian food was very good.. staff nice and very courteous.

Spa:
expensive but very nice... both Keralian and western spa options....

pool:
Super location and clean

Activities:
free bicycles to ride around the property for adults and kids, small game room for kids, free paddle boat around the lagoon
Must do: take lunch house boat cruise for 4-5 hours around the backwaters... rent is very high but can get it cheaper from outside the hotel premises.

Room Tip: Only Pool Villas have backwater views.....rest of the rooms have only lagoon view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Zuri Kumarakom resort and spa and a big thank you for choosing your stay with us.
I am glad to know you were happy with our staff courteousness and enjoyed the food at our restaurant.
We continue to do all we can,to justify our guest confidence in our esteemed resort.
Thank you for recommending our hotel in the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed there in November 2012. Its an excellent property. The staff is very courteous and helping. Food served in the restaurants is simply amazing.


The only negative point would be the rooms are a bit dim lighted with the curtains closed even If you put on all the lights in the room.

I'd still highly recommend the property. Being a 5 star, its a bit expensive, but completely worth it.

Room Tip: If you are planning to work or read during the day. Check the room lighting with all the curtains cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pareeksourabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you posting a comment on Trip Advisor.
We have noted the lighting requirement in the guest rooms and will take necessary steps to fix the same.
Pricing to an exotic destination like kumarakom is evenly matched to any other resort of this scale and standard.
Please do log on to the website for offers and early bird discounts on bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bokaro Steel City, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We traveled from Thekkady to Zuri on 23/10/12 And stayed here for 2 nights.
We were warm welcomed with Coconut Water & Cold face Towel.
We stayed in Zuri Room - which was very spacious and the bathrooms were well equipped with modern fittings
we stayed here for two days which was nice. Its a place were we could relax and have a good lazy weekend
We were offered Complimentary Breakfast.It was very nice and we didn't took al crate but took charged buffet dinner, which was also very nice.
The staff serivice was very good. The resorts provided us complimentary jaccozi , Steam Bath And Sona bath which were aiso very good
Our children enjoyed the place very much.

ITS A PLACE WERE WE WOULD LIKE TO COME AGAIN

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a comment on trip advisor and choosing The Zuri Kumarakom as a destination.
A perfect getaway for families with activities to keep them occupied.
Yoga session at the body temple with chirping birds in the background is a perfect way to start the day.
A walk through the property guided by the horticulturist is a must and develops the sense of being close to nature.
Award winning Maya Spa is the place for rejuvenation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.4 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Property: The Zuri Kumarakom
Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing