We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just about ok...”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Zuri after spending a couple of nights in Kumarakom Lake Resort. Thus, we had high expectations and were disappointed. The property is quite spread out but the location is not ideal. The resort is not right on the backwater lake. They have a manmade lagoon where you can do paddle boating but this was clearly not a good enough substitute. The rooms are average. They are spacious and clean but do not have any premium feel to it. Another disappointing thing about the place was the food. Neither their multi cuisine restaurant nor the sea food one were upto the mark. They seemed to be a little understaffed. Most of the staff seemed to be hustling and running around a bit to ensure service of good quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saunakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,
18-acres is the The Zuri Kumarakom resort and spa with the ten presidential Pool Villa category rooms having a spectacular view of the Vembanad Lake,the 28 Cottages are around a 5 acre Lagoon along with the 18 Zuri category and 16 Zuri Deluxe category Rooms as a hotel block facing the Lagoon and the vast spread of manicured lawns throughout the resort.
The Maya Spa consisting of 14 treatment rooms in a 15000 Sq.ft area of wellness offering rejuvenation and signature treatments by trained masseurs both in Ayurveda and Western therapy.Male/ Female Wet areas is a place to relax and enjoy the sauna,plunge pool and Jacuzzi.
We have noted your feedback on restaurant food and Service and will strive to work on the shortcomings.
Keep log-in to the website for special offers in our other destination property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    363
    103
    39
    33
See reviews for
516
496
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,477 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I rarely stay in independent hotel properties, and must admit that I had never heard of Zuri before I started seeking out a reasonable place to stay in Kumarakom during Diwali. The other 2 top end properties (Kumarakom and the Taj) were obscenely priced. Right from the warm welcome, to the sprawling well maintained grounds and facilities, to the spacious room and bathroom (with both shower and bath tub), it exuded comfort and relaxation. The breakfast buffet was a very good spread with some very traditional Kerala items.

The hotel offers an evening sunset cruise on the lake for Rs. 350, and that is a good outing. Also, we were unable to find a house boat for a day trip to the back waters without having to break the bank (Rs. 20,000+). So, we were offered the in house motorized shikara for 3 hrs at a relatively reasonable price. It was money well spent, instead of wasting it down the drain.

However, there are 3 cons for this hotel. One, the spa is way overpriced, specially for the run down facilities (the bathroom is totally run down, old Indian style) it offers. This is particularly annoying since almost 20% tax is added on top of the obscene prices. Sarat, the GM will no doubt defend and say that a 15% discount is offered on certain treatments. Well, even after that discount, the prices are insane for India.

Second, when Indians travel with children, they make a real nuisance of themselves, and that was the case here, since it was the Diwali holidays. If parents are not able to manage their unruly kids, they should stay at home and not spoil the holiday for the others.

Third, the main dining room is very small and cramped relative to the size of the resort and the number of people who stay here. It just cannot handle the crowd, and it quickly becomes a zoo. This is particularly a problem, when they have a live performance on the terrace and everyone is running helter skelter in and out. This needs to be better managed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing this beautiful destination in God's own country.
Challenges in road infrastructure battered by heavy monsoon is being repaired by the tourism board in coordination with public works department.
Maya Spa is the USP of the resort and we offer an array of superlative wellness in Ayurveda and Western therapy.Pricing is competitive to any international world class resort spa offering the same facility.
We have noted your feedback on the price aspect which will be reviewed.
The Lime Tree Restaurant is the all day dining area which can accommodate 124 covers with a am phi theater for evening entertainment.
For bigger families we try our best to block with a specific meal period timings so as to avoid inconveniencing and accommodate couples and smaller families.
Keep log-in to the website to avail special offers and know more about our other destination properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fabulous property...........lush green, amazing views of nature all around, very courteous staff & delicious food! The seafood specialty restaurant "Laguna Bass" a must try!! Rooms comfortable & of good size.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay @ the Private Villa with a plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vishalsuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback posted on trip advisor.
The Zuri Kumarakom resort and spa is located on the lap of nature.
Special offers and activities feature on the webpage of the resort to book direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAIROBI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights undergoing an Ayeruvedic de-tox program and had 13 treatments each, while we luxuriated in the lap of comfort with wonderful meals and a great setting! Service was excellent. All the staff could not do enough to make us feel comfortable. Little touches were much appreciated e.g. providing us with a fruit basket in our room; lots of extra bottles of water; advice on what to see and do (Scaria was a wealth of information and help) etc.

The Ayeruvedic doctor, Dr. Sunil, was outstanding (and the reason why we will return there next year)! He went out of his way to design holistic and remedial treatments for each of us. The staff at the Maya spa are well trained, professional, and very good at their jobs. Their products, treatment rooms and professionalism could not be faulted.

I flew from Kenya for the week's treatments, and it was well worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Cottages, and I highly recommend these over the double rooms because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdgrNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Jambo,
Asante Sana
asante tutaonana siku mojawith at the Zuri Kumarakom and rejuvenate at the Maya Spa.
Do visit our website for special offers at our different destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This property is a must-visit. They have it all..boating..fishing..spa..bar..swimming pool and above all a wonderful view of the Vembanad lake..It is just so awesome. The food is really nice and tasty and the staff is welcoming.. Also they give a complimentary sunset cruise ride which gives you a wonderful ride through the back waters!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Far from the maddening hustle bustle of the city is The Zuri Kumarakom resort and spa on the Vembanad Backwaters.
Drive down to enjoy hospitality far beyond expectation.
The Zuri website gives special offers for all our destination properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is located in the lap of nature and is around a lagoon Excellent pool. Perfect landscaping deluxe room, with a balcony overlooking the resort's artificial lagoon. The room itself was lovely - well furnished and maintained, good cleanliness. The balcony had a lovely view lagoon great ambience and super staff

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed_Aldoseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a feedback on trip advisor.
we are happy that the product and services met your expectations.
Do log-in to The Zuri website for special offers in winters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

we were two couples with kids stayed at the property mid sept, the weather god were pleased, this place is very well made. having a man made pond in the centre where boating and fishing is done. great ambience and super staff, the chef is at his best on special request. the food and service is very good.
Spa is very well made and great to use.
only draw back is the travel time from the Kochi airport which does take around 3 to 4 hours.

Room Tip: take the first floor rooms for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GopalChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for describing The Zuri kumarakom experience among-st the lap of nature to a discerning traveler.
keep log-in to the website for special offers for Kumarakom and other destinations within the group.
"Welcome Back" and experience hospitality far beyond expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.4 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Property: The Zuri Kumarakom
Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing