We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite room but very less activities; Poor restaurant”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exquisite room but very less activities; Poor restaurant”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went to the resort as a family group of 4 people... the resort was very beautiful... we can go by car up to a point and from there....had to take a boat which was exciting.... we were welcomed with garlands and a welcome drink....the check-in was very quick.... the rooms are very nice and exquisite... the swimming pool is also very nice... but the negatives... .not much activities other than swimming... i think there should be more activites so that we dont get bored... Also, the restaurant... the food was very very ordinary.... and most of the dishes in the menu were not available since "It was not the season for tourists" and the hotel was largely empty... This was not acceptable...

Room Tip: Rooms are all very good.... Be prepared to not get the best food... or if possible carry some snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashwini I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    153
    56
    20
    13
See reviews for
165
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After reading all the positive reviews, I tried the Cocobay resort last weekend and the resort was not up to the mark.

Positives:
1) Resort was clean and it had a nice view.

Negatives:
1) All the rooms are old and some of the locks, bathroom doors and cupboard have been worn out.
2) Only 2 rooms have lake view.
3) Restaurant is very very expensive. They charge 20% to serve in room with VAT and tax.
4) Property is very small and there is no designated smoking area. People smoke everywhere and it affects the kids.
5) Management take so much time to respond to any request.
6) You cannot adjust the AC temp and the AC switch is not close to bed so you cannot off when required,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dking007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I happened to go to Cocobay after a friend of mine told me that it was a place I had to visit on my trip to Kumarakom and as I reaching the resort by boat i was so stunned and mesmerizing by its beauty. The resort has a traditional setting with all modern aminities. From the garland welcome to Kumarakoms spectacular sunsets Cocobay was the most affordable as compared to the other resorts. Food is quite nice especially the traditional cuisine. They could work on some more activities for guests. Overall a spectacular experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view, except the Family Suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesmalcomgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hunting around on Tripadvisor for a suitable place to stay at Kumarakom for a weekend, Cocobay seemed to offer the right balance between affordable room tariff and good reviews. Barely a drive of an hour and a half later we reached the parking lot of what was to be our weekend getaway. The entry to the resort is by a short boat ride which made it more interesting making us all wonder what the resort itself may look like.

Garlands around the neck and an escorted walk to the reception to be handed a glass of watermelon juice seemed to be a warm and friendly way to welcome us to Cocobay. The staff were friendly, the rooms ready and in no time we were within the confines of of one of the many air conditioned rooms.

Famished as we were, we headed straight for lunch and I am sure it was not just because we were hungry that the Karimeen (Pearlspot) Polichattu and Chicken chetinad tasted yummy.

A short nap and the kids decided to take a dip in the large pool as the sun was setting (after having warmed the pool to a comfortable level). There were a few guest who did not have a proper swimming attire which personally I believe the resort should have been more strict about enforcing.

Dinner on the first night, though tasty, was served only after three hours of our placing the order - well above the 45 minute waiting period they mention on the menu card - and therefore very annoying. The best of the apologies from Mr Jacob the manager could do little to reduce our waiting time. That was about the only down side about our entire stay.

The staff are friendly and an Ayurvedic massage if you have the time is definitely recommended. The kids had a whale of a time in the pool on both days and the way the resort is located, it ideal to sit facing the Vembanad lake sipping a glass of chilled beer at night.

I wish there were a few more activities for the kids to indulge in.

I hope to be going back with a bigger group in June. I thank Mr Jacob and his wonderful team for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The approach to the Resort is from a point on a long boat like passing thru the Gondolas. The Resort is situated on the banks or to say adjoining the Vembanad Lake i.e. the Backwaters. A majestic view and an ideal enchanting & romantic place. Staff & the Manager Mr. Jacob are admirable. Food is decent with last order to be placed by 21.30. Restaurant is a hut like shack, so not much impressive. A meal for two in would cost about Rs. 700-2000/- (non veg) if snacks & drinks are included. It is advisable to carry your own Liquor & Tuk , since only Beer & Wines are served. Rooms are decent with all facing the Swimming Pool. Check the blankets which can be requested to change. Taj Vivanta is only half k.m. away & Zuri Kumarakom about 2k.m. So one can easily go to these 2 properties for exotic lunch/dinner.
Due to excess greenery & the lake so near advised to take some repellent. Nothing much to do in Kumarakom apart from ride on the House Boats & Kerala Massages. House Boats charges starts from Rs. 1200-1500/- per hour . Not a place to stay for more than 2 days. Good place to relax & better picturesque at a price compared to the nearby luxury properties.

From Kochi Airport approx 2hours drive. Taxi from Airport will charge Avg. Rs. 1900/- for one way to Kumarakom.

Over all a very safe & romantic getaway for couples as well as family. Location & scenic beauty wise its better than the rest. This Resort only accepts Visa & Master Cards.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvl_Crtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent one night in this hotel, it was very quiet and a good place to rest and unwind. The rooms were clean but the blanket was very dirty. The buffet tablecloth look like it had not been changed for months it had cobwebs and very poorly maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REGINA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We arrived at this beautiful Resort by houseboat and were greeted by leis and fresh juice. The resort is located on the largest lake in Kerala and has an absolutely amazing view of just the lake from the jetty.
Jacob the general manager was very helpful and informative about the local area and helped arranged a vehicle for the next leg of our journey.
The rooms were well kept, the bathroom had plenty of amenties but the hot water barely trickled out and the A/C unit was very noisey.
The rooms are all positioned around a small pool but there are only 6 sunbeds and not enough comfrotable seatinf around the resort to laze around. They have plently of metal chairs and tables but they are not very comfortable to relax on.
Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and fresh omelets and juice available. We were informed that dinner would take about 1hr and to order in advance if we didn't want to wait. Given the location, you really don't have a choice but to have dinner at the resort, it was hit and miss, some dishes were fantastic and others average.
WIFI was chargable and there are no activites on the resort apart from fishing, you can ask at reception for really basic fishing rod.
There is not much to do in the area apart from a visit to a Bird Sanactuary but if you are looking to get away and enjoy pin drop silence, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
715 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
725 reviews
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Kumarakom North, Kumarakom 686566, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocobay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocobay Resort is located in Kumarakom, a backwater hamlet - the most sought after holiday destination in Kerala. Nestled amid swaying palms, the resort fronts the magnificence of the Vembanad Lake with its canals, streams and intricate network of waterways. The resort is accessible only by water and is embraced by the lake.Resort offers 22 air-conditioned suites, designed in typical Kerala architecture. Its ethnic ambiance blends with modern facilities like refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and designer bathrooms etc. Verandas have a splendid view of the lake where you can watch stunning sunsets. The resort is located 70 Kms from Cochin International Airport, 16 Kms from Kottayam Railway Station and 90 minutes by road from Cochin International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Kumarakom
Coco Bay Hotel
Cocobay Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing