We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Money worth it”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury room Picture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury room Picture
Luxury room picture Luxury boat picture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Luxury room Picture
Luxury room picture
Luxury boat picture
Luxury boat picture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kumarakom, Kottayam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
diasjoek
Ernakulam, India
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Money worth it”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I wanted to take my Japanese Director on an overnight trip. I wanted to get a luxury house boat (with glass enclosure to stay away from mosquitoes) and they had promised me one. But i was skeptical as i know india can throw up surprises. However we did get what we were promised. I had informed in advance about a foreigner being there , so the food was adequately spiced down, but was still very tasty. Always at the beck and call, the crew was very supportive. I am sure i will call the folks of Mr.Praveen when i want to book the next one again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food was exceptional, fresh and served piping hot. Also had toddy that was fresh
Liked least: Crew should have more background of Kumarakom's history
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilsonj16...
Entebbe, Uganda
1 review
“Great stay with Kumarakom Houseboat”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had an amazing holiday with family on boat cruise with Kumarakom Boat House. This has been the best family outing we have had in recent times. The team on the boat was eminently suited to NRI guest like us. They were extremely helpful and considerate.
We had thoroughly enjoyed the five-star ambiance of the boat including the finest food, clean rooms, bathrooms and above all safely. The best part of the trip was our kids could do fishing.
I would love to go there again and perhaps recommend to anyone who would like to try a holiday with Kumarakom.
Thank you, Kumarakom Houseboat team. We hope to catch up with you again.
Best
Wilson

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Liked least: Too short a trip
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D64C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I booked the house boat through Kumarakom Houseboat Holidays website.
I thought it all went well staring to the end. One of their driver picked us from the airport and took us straight to the boat. The boat was clean and the boat journey was comfortable and the food was tasty.
I will recommend this company and tour to my friends and family.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagisetti
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Right choice for houseboat trip”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

First of all thanks to Mukul for all the arrangements and timely support. Good job.

Airport Pickup: It was easy and drivercould find me quickly and we hit the road and the travel was smooth.

Houseboat:
- 1 Bed room, toilets, Kitchen and living/dining/sitout area with Sofa
- Check in process is very smooth
- Staff are great , very cooperative and kind.
- food made by them was tasty and we could feel that we are at home.
- Lunch break and night break locations are good
- Breaks are little long, but it is OK as we dont have much to see in the lake.

Boat itself is well in overall appearance and ambience.
Few improvments can be made.
- Bathroom/ toilets are smelling a lot
- Shower not working
- Bed room requires a Fan
- Towels can be better
- Toileteries like soap require better choice (or please advice guests to bring their own, we had purchased before checkin, so we survivded)

Overall happy with all arrangements. We will plan to come again with bigger group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, dining area
Liked least: Toilets
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nilisha
India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Hospitality and a superb trip!”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We took a premium 2 bedroom HB and coordinated with Mukul for our stay. He was super helpful and made sure everything was just as we liked. The boat was clean and very comfortable. Staff were also verysweet and hospitable. Our AC wasnt working properly and they got it fixed even at 11 pm at night to make sure we had a comfortable stay. Food was outstanding - superbly prepared and very very tasty. The only feedback is that we wish they understoof a bit more of english as some things got lost in translation. But overall, an EXCELLENT holiday. A must visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, quality of service, boat standards
Liked least: language was a slight issue , the massage at the ayurveda center was terrible - but then it was a tie up and not theirs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santhosh5...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Had a wonderful time in the houseboat :)”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The Stay was really good at house boat. Well in advance, they called us to check out the food menu for the whole day and prepared us very good food based on our taste. We enjoyed the ride , food and the ambiance. Both the driver and cook were very cooperative and helpful.

Would like to visit again when time permits :).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PickACard
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Accommodating sevice”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a bit of confusion with our booking through this company but when we approached them with out concerns Praveen did even more than we expected to make sure we were satisfied with our experience. Our boat was comfortable and spacious with a great open-air upper deck for viewing the backwaters and a comfortably air-conditioned stateroom. Food was plentiful and tasty. The drivers and staff were punctual and friendly.
On a side note, the Ayurvedic center operated by these guys gave us some of the best massages we experienced in India.
Thanks again for taking care of us.

How easy was it to book the property?
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the interest you have expressed in ''KUMARAKOM HOUSEBOAT HOLIDAYS” and your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us.Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakomhouseboatholidays

Warm Regards
Praveen sg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing