We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Hospitality and service”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
130 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kumarakom, Kottayam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philippe...
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good Hospitality and service”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A Good Boat with nice members. Excellent Hospitality as heard about Kerala people. We really enjoyed the private stay in boat.

Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Dear Philippe,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you. Please keep in touch.
See You Again Soon,
Team Amrutham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhakshina...
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow..!! Good time in Houseboat..”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked a Houseboat tour from company AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOAT and it was really excellent in all terms. We celebrated our Honeymoon in Lake. Boat was specially for us with a top deck. All meals freshly done for us hot from kitchen. Stay in a Kerala boat is the best way to enjoy the nature I think.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Kerala Toddy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muruganan...
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Must visit place in Kerala..”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

An overnight stay in houseboat is the main attraction in kerala trip. We were group of 10 stayed in this houseboat, had a memorable stay. It started at 12 noon and ends at 930 morning with breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Open Deck
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guru_Ragh...
Greater Noida, India
1 review
“Memorable stay in Amrutham Boat”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really appreciate the boat crew who treated us well. Food was excellent and they even taken care of our interest while cooking. Entire Boat was specially for us. Thanks for the wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Lunch
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salvadore...
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Journey in Kerala Backwaters..”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

On our stay at Cochin, tried Backwater travel at KUMARAKOM in House boat named AMRUTHAM on a friend's recommendation. One night stay in a luxury kerala traditional boat. Clean and tasty Kerala cuisine and helpful staff offered a pleasant stay. A complete relaxation and excellent service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kerala Cusine
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Dear Salvadores,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!

Thanks for the feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you. Please keep in touch.

See You Again Soon,

Team Amrutham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameeran...
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Please never ever book this houseboat. they are bunch of thugs fleecing money out of tourists. 4/5 guys are sleeping on the deck overnight while we wonder about safety about ourselves. 7/8 guys smoking cigarettes right infront of you with heaps of alcohol bottles thrown in a huge pile. you wonder where the basic courtesy of great Kerala is gone. they charged us close to 9K for one night and provided provided Potato fry and tomato fry for dinner. Lunch was having beans fry and cabbage fry for veg. In non-veg they provide 1 fishy fry in lunch and chicken 65 in dinner. breakfast is plain idli and sambar. and thankfully a cup of coffee as well. I had to wake up the staff in the morning to help me get a cup of tea.
My sincere request - even if someone pays you a lakh rupees, please don't book this houseboat..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exit..I was so happy getting out of this hell.
Liked least: Everything..
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Dear JennaSameeran,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!

We think this is mistakenly posted in our Review form.
Please see that we never had a booking in your name on the mentioned date. We are sure, this is a wrong review posted in wrong place. Please check it well from your end and let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syam K
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“An Awesome experience”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in May 2015

I was at Kumarakom with my family. Kumarakom backwater is a must see if you are planning for Kerala visit and Amrutham Houseboats made the trip very memorable, amazing and hassle-free. The early morning and evening cruises were the most enjoyable and refreshing ones. The house boat staffs were really friendly and took care of us with an awesome hospitality. The food was so awesome and tasty and they prepared the dishes what we asked for. Especially I loved the "Karimeen fry" which was made in an authentic Kerala style. Music was playing though out the cruise and we did some fishing in between which was really fun family time. The House boat was clean, neat and of high standards. I have been to other house boats and I can definitely say this one stands out special and I felt it was a worth buy at the price I got the package.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, cleanliness, food and price
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing