We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Different Group Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elmira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Elmira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Different Group Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our Bridge group of 8 women friends (ranging in age from 63-77) recently spent two nights at the Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast. We did not have a very good experience; in fact, in 20 years of going to bed & breakfasts twice a year throughout Ontario this was our poorest experience. We had booked the 4 rooms which is what both their internet site and their printed brochure state they have. Imagine our surprise to find that we only had 3 of those rooms plus one in the basement and that there were 2 other rooms with guests in. That didn't start us off well as we know that we talk and laugh a lot for hours and so do not wish to disturb other guests. For that reason we always choose a 4 bedroom B & B. For perspective, I have written a number of reviews on Tripadvisor and this is only the second one that has been negative. Given that background I will outline both the positives and negatives.

The positives - rooms were very clean and nicely appointed and had satellite TV's and ensuites. We were surprised though that rooms were not checked during the day and so used bathroom glasses and towels were not exchanged. This has not been our experience in other B&B's. This would be a nice place to stay as a couple and I imagine that is why the other reviews are glowing. I also believe that it is likely most couples would return from an evening out, settle into their rooms and so do not disturb their hosts. The country setting is lovely and the breakfasts were fine. It is about 10 minutes to St Jacob's so offers a terrific location.

The negatives - unsuitable for groups. We were informed of the "rules" of the B&B after we were given a tour. You must not disturb the hosts as they go to bed in their basement bedroom at 10pm so they endorse a Quiet period that begins at 10pm. The lounges are not available after 10pm as one is outside their bedroom door and the other is directly above their room.. Where is a group of 8 to go after they return from 1. a performance at a local theatre and 2. a dinner in St. Jacob's? We had to resort both nights to congregating in one of the third floor rooms and sitting on the floor. - very unsatisfactory! And to think our group paid a total of $1120 for the privilege! Secondly, we were also informed that someone had the nerve to close a door too loudly at 12:45am and the hosts would appreciate that it didn't happen again! I guess someone at age 77 (or any age) isn't suppose to use the washroom during the night. This was definitely the most inhospitable B & B our group had ever been too over the years. There are many B&B's that we have returned to over and over again - this definitely will not be one of them!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cherpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We, the owners of " Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat " suspect that the one who posted this review, for what ever reason, did so without the groups knowledge. We had not noticed anything from this group that would not be common for people staying at a Bed & Breakfast. In fact, the group appearred to enjoy their stay very much, and the positive remarks written by the group in our guest book stated this. With all the kind remarks and the humour that took place at breakfast, it certainly was a surprise to see the content of their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    3
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SUDBURY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I found this B&B on the Internet so I'm always a little worried on what it's going to be like.

It was a great find and we loved it. We took friends of ours that were visiting from England.
The rooms are brilliant as is the food and hosts.

Room Tip: The Heritage and Starlight rooms are both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alsation131965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, 6 May 2015
Your title says "Lovely Place," We say "Lovely People" ! (and I mean you!!) Thanks for bringing your "England Friends" along. Enjoyed your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Leisure Estates is an amazing getaway in a beautiful location in the town of Elmira. The hosts, Mark and Joyce are so welcoming. Their warm personalities are so wonderful, you will feel like you have known them forever. The incredible breakfast is homemade everyday...Joyce will give you the recipes if you wish! We have stayed here regularly over the past couple of years. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deafcafe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, 6 May 2015
Sometimes it is difficult to remember the faces of previous guests when they call to book another visit, but you "Amazing People" we will always remember! Do not know why this is. Maybe it's the "Bubbly Entrance" you create on arrival. Anyway, love you guys a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
7.1 mi away
Les Diplomates B&B
Les Diplomates B&B
#1 of 6 in Waterloo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.3 mi away
1842 Bed and Breakfast
1842 Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Conestogo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat

Property: Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat
Address: 1099 Floradale Rd, Elmira, Ontario N3B 2Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Elmira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elmira
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing