We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful sunrise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayview Wildwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Severn Bridge
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed at this resort onSunday April 29 for one night. Lovley appointed room overlooking the water. Very clean and well decorated. We got a great deal thru Travel Zoo and wanted to check out the area for launching our boat this summer. Only 3 other couples in the dining room that evening but service was good and so was food. Has an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub. Doc is located right by the outside swimming pool and grounds are kept nicely. Staff were very helpful and you get a true sense of the beauty and serenity of the area. High season however is very over priced in my opinion. Over $300.00 per night during summer months. A great getaway if you get a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussiMilton_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Hello sussiMilton_Ontario,

Thank you so much for writing about your April visit to our resort through the Travel Zoo promotion. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and the beautiful sunrise over Sparrow Lake. The summer season is definitely more expensive due to the many activities, entertainment and family programs included in our packages. We have many great deals during the off season for guests who enjoy the quieter times. We would love to host you at our resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at one of "The Cottages I" and it was very luxurious and charming. The 2 story cottage was very spacious and had a large fully equipped kitchen. Included were 3 tvs, one in the family room and one in 2 of the 3 bedrooms. The view from all of the first floor was spectacular and the lake was beautiful. The rooms in the cottage were decorated with a great mix of modern and cottage charm. The cottage exceeded expectations by far. The resort is right next to a train track and the train comes by a couple times in the night and day but it didn't really bother us. Sadly, the rest of the resort was what really fell short of expectations.

When we first pulled into the resort, we instantly thought of a trailer park. The old decaying buildings were a dirty white and all the paint was chipping. The cottages further down the road where we stayed were gorgeous and fully renovated but stuck out like sore thumbs amongst the old resort. It was definitely not what we had expected.

The best time to go would be in the summer when you can swim in the lake and canoe etc... But in the spring you can play squash, tennis, excersize at the good sized excersie room, and play at the recreaton room (sadly some of the games are quite beat up and need to be replaced). I would recommend going for a weekend in the spring but not a full week because with the lake too cold there isn't a whole lot to do. The resort would be a lot of fun in the summer with the lake and associated activities. There isn't much outside the resort though. The area surrounding the resort is nothing out of the ordinary and kind of rundown. Still, this resort has soooo much potential: things to do, beautiful cottages, and is on a nice lake. But i don't know why they don't renovate the outside of the Bayview Wildwood Resort. They need to as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The rest of the resort looked too run down so i would stick with "The Cottages I" but &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeska0756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Hello jeska0756,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Cottages at Port Stanton and Bayview Wildwood Resort.

We are happy that your lakeside cottage exceeded your expectations.

The early Spring months (end of March through to mid-May) are typically the worst months to showcase the resort's grounds and buildings. After the winter is over, and the snow recedes, everything outside seems brown and dull. Once the warmer weather hits we bring out our crew to power wash the buildings and do the yearly building and deck painting. The flower beds are soon full of colour, the grass is green and our resort shines. We are sorry that you had a bad impression of our resort during your April stay.

We hope that you visit us again to experience the resort property at its best.

Best regards,

Dianne Hounsome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I've stayed at this resort a number of times most recently in February. This winter wasn't very cold in the area so we weren't able to do some of our usual lake activities but that's ok we still had a great time. The food at this resort is very good and they have great entertainment as well. We stayed in the Chicadee, a great little cottage. Check in was smooth, always is and so was check out. Great stay as always.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Hello mboyle,

We are so happy you enjoyed your recent February visit to the resort! It certainly was a different winter for weather this year.

I also love the Chicadee cottage - private and right on the lake. I hope to see you sitting on the Chicadee deck looking at the sunset again soon!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our resort.

Dianne Hounsome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A friend of mine stayed at the resort end of August 2011. I had never been there before but we loved it. Our boys were able to enjoy the resort independent of us: movie nights outdoors, playing tennis, kayaking, water trampoline, ping pong challenge, swimming in both the lake and the pool. We were able to enjoy ourselves reading, swimming. The resort is small enough where supervision is not an issue, but large enough that you are not inundated with crowds of people. The rooms were good, clean, and spacious. But we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyhow. And lastly - The food was absolutely spectacular - and I am a complete Foodie and know Great Food when I have it. My only concern about the trip was the weight that I gained! But well worth a two week diet afterwards... Thank you and we will be back this summer for sure!

Room Tip: They do have a lot of rooms that are newly renovated and just gorgeous. All the rooms are close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Hello T S,

We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay this past August 2011. Let your boys know that we have a new water "iceberg" to join the water trampoline this summer. I am sure they will have lots of fun climbing it!

Our chef is waiting to serve you more great meals - hope to see you this summer!

Dianne Hounsome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Exchanged via Interval International for one of the 3 bed cottages (Cottages at Port Stanton) which is part of the Bayview Wildwood Resort. The detatched cottage was lovely, super quick responsive gas fire in lounge, wrap around porches to 3 sides, lovely master bedroom with jacuzzi bath, and 2 other bedrooms with a further jacuzzi bathroom. Decent kitchen area.
As it is part of the resort you get to use all the failiies of the Resort itself, indoor pool, hot tub, games room, lounge etc.
Over all I would say that this family run resort was good, with the emphashis being placed on the cottage itself.
Little things annoyed like having no toiletries provided, I guess I should have thought to bring some, but had never stayed anywhere where they didnt provide them so never thought to. (A lesson learned)
A more major annoyance was being asked to empty bins and strip beds before leaving. Now this was new to me, more familiar was the instruction to wash all dishes, dont mind that, but really did start to feel as I walked round emptying the various bins and stripping the beds that I was the chambermaid!!
Not sure why they do this, it is a job that would take an employee moments to do, but left a real irritation hen I, as a guest, are asked to do so.........maybe they should rethink?
Train as mentioned by lots of previous reviewers was not an irritation but then again to be fair we were quite a long way away and do agree that train lines run very very close to some accommodation.
Pluses were free use of ski equipment, ice skates, snowshoes etc although some was in poor condition, but it did allow us to try some things out without spending anything so with a child that was appreciated as some activities lasted just minutes.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bed cottage - nos 401-418 best location for sure but they do have 2 bed ones too within t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Purchased a Jaunt.ca coupon $99 for "Autumn Splendor in Tranquil Muskoka" in September. The coupon will be expired on Mid December. During Winter time season without any snow, there was nothing much to do in the area. Of course, resort has an indoor pool and game room. If going in the Fall for the Leaves Color, the scene will be excellent. That will be the best deal in town.
The package had included a bottle of complimentary white or red wine and breakfast included. A free bottle of wine was an excellent idea. The dinning room just offered a simple dinner menu. But the breakfast was very impressive. It was a buffet style with different variety. The presentation was excellent; it could compare Marriot-Courtyard breakfast quality.
I stayed in Lakeview Building, the room was very spacious with excellent Sparrow Lake view. One unpleasant experience which was one of staffs opened our door without knocking in the morning around 10AM. Did not know the reason behind.
There was a hidden fee of gratuity 5%! I did not mind to pay as long as it was at black and white. Let the clients advance. It did not mention on Jaunt.ca coupon and check-in reservation. Did not aware the charge until I went home to check my final bill.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loong97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We called the hotel to make the reservation after we saw an ad for their winter getaway packages. They told us about the different prices for the different rooms. We decided to go for the rooms in the main building because the lady at the reception described it as "these rooms are old as the resort is old". She never told us that the rooms were downright filthy. The toilet bowl in the bathroom has dark spots all over. The shower cubicle is dirty and the platic surround is falling apart. The curtains are filled with dust. The carpets smell and the bed linens are disgusting and dirty.

Thankfully we just stayed there the one night and I have never been so excited to finish a holiday and get back home.

I was afraid that the kids might get some infection from the bathrooms. I really think the management should stop renting these rooms out until they can at least clean up. I fail to understand why some of the reviews are so good here.

The rooms and bathrooms are disgusting and unhygienic to stay in and they sould be shut down for creating health hazards for people.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacky-in-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Thank you for outlining your dissatisfaction with your recent stay at our resort.

Our resort is comprised of many buildings; some that have been standing for over 100 years and some that are brand new. We are continually renovating our rooms, suites and cottages. The small rooms in the Wildwood Inn have not been upgraded with new furnishings, fixtures and decor. As such, we do not sell these rooms in our on-line reservation system nor does our reservations staff book these unless they are specifically requested. We have a number of guests who continue to book these rooms due to their location in the main building and for cost reasons.

We prepare and clean the rooms for our guests as we do our other accommodation. We apologize sincerely if the cleanliness was not adequate. We really wish that you had given us the opportunity to address your concerns when you were here. We would have been happy to provide you with alternate accommodation or other options that would have given you a much better experience at our resort.

Our resort has been on Sparrow Lake for over 110 years. We would not have survived if we didn't take the comments and concerns of our guests seriously and address them in a positive manner.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Severn Bridge
8.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
11.8 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
607 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,121 reviews
24.4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
341 reviews
15.5 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Wildwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Wildwood Resort

Address: 1500 Port Stanton Pky, Severn Bridge, Ontario P0E 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Severn Bridge
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Severn Bridge
Price Range: £128 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayview Wildwood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanton family has provided six generations of friendly hospitality, fabulous dining, extensive recreation and beautiful vistas along the shores of Sparrow Lake since the late 1880's at this four-season resort village. Enjoy supervised children’s programs, indoor and outdoor pools, sandy beach, exercise gym, water sports, spa services, tennis, biking, hiking, and golf nearby. Experience Ontario winter activities; snow shoeing, cross-country skiing, skating, sleigh rides and snowmobile tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Wildwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wildwood Hotel Severn Bridge
Bayview Wildwood Resort Severn Bridge, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing