We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resting time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayview Wildwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Severn Bridge
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Servise was perfect; food was very good 100%
Children had a lot of fun skiing, skiting , spending time in the pool .
Game room was also very very clean and we had a lot of equipment to play.
Room was clean and with view on the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2010

I have been going to Bayview Wildwood for 20 years now and love the time that I spend there with friends each year. This resort is perfect for a getaway with family or friends, and offers a great location for relaxing or you can enjoy the many activities the resort has to offer. The staff is amazing and always eager to please. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is excellent, it is well prepared and presented, there is something for everyone on the menu. A great place for a summer or winter getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed Feb. 19 ,20 .The room was clean, comfortable,and warm.we used the pool and spa area it was clean and tidy.The food was great and the chef came to talk to us to make sure we enjoyed our meals.The staff treated us like royalty.Parking is plentiful and there was plenty of space for a large vehicle like my Hummer .I travel North America and Europe with my job and if the Europeans find out about this place it will be booked solid.You get great bang for the buck

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RushOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

The rooms were very nice, lots of room. Lots of different things to do right on site, no reason to leave the resort. There was a room open all night with coffee, a computer, TV, games and books. Very nice. Loved the pool and hot tub and the games room with a pool table, ping pong and lots of other games. The food was Fine Dining. Very Delicious! Service was Impeccable, everyone was so nice. Lots of Buffets which I really enjoyed. Lots of outside activities and Children's organized activities. I enjoyed the Entertainment that night, Jamie.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinebelisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

I stayed at the resort with my family at the beginning of February and we had an amazing time.....a winter wonderland of outdoor activities..(tobaganning, snowmobile rides, ice fishing, skating and cross country skiing.....the room was cozy, clean and spacious with an amazing view and little fireplace for ambiance....the location was beautiful and picturesue.....the service outstanding.....the food was exceptional.....the chef even came to greet us and see how our meal was......the place reminded us of "Dirty Dancing in the winter!" I am not saying this the Four Seasons...but if you want a beautiful locale with rustic charm..this is your place....great, friendly service...they staff made us feel like home......and to top it all off great value!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, Owner/Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your winter experience at our resort. We are certainly very happy that you enjoyed your family getaway with us.

It sounds like you took part in many of the winter activities we have to offer and had fun in the process! Thank you for mentioning our staff as they will be pleased to be recognized. We are glad you felt "at home" while you were here.

We hope that you and your family can visit us again soon!

Your hosts,

The Stanton family and Bayview Wildwood staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We just returned from a one night stay and the only good thing we can say is that we only HAD to stay one night.

When we arrived we were suprised to find that the resort is not secluded at all. It is located on a lake that is surrounded by cottages (both personally owned and time shared). We spoke to one lady that explained that all of the facilities of the Bayview Wildwood are open for all of the time share cottages. We stayed in a two story building about 20 feet from the train tracks and yes - you can hear the trains (although they sound more like a jumbo jet landing beside your bed when you are trying to sleep).

After check in (the lady at the front desk was quite nice) we trotted off to our room. We carried our luggage up the single flight of stairs (no big deal) and attempted to get to our room. Once we moved the vaccuum, bags of towels and swiffer that were all directly in front of (or leaning on) our door we were able to gain entry to our room.

Our room was a good size but dated cannot begin to describe the decor. Oh well, we thought, only a place to lay your head. As we walked in fromt he frozen outdoors we quickly realized that they did not turn on the heat in our room. It was absolutely freezing!! We cranked up the heat and grabbed some blankets to snuggle under while we waited for some warmth. We decided that as they offered free movies that we would check out the movie channel. We soon learned that the movie channel is simply a VCR in the main building that plays movies on all the tv's in the resort. One movie at a time is offered. Oh well we thought, again - it is still a free movie and that's nice. We turned on the tv but the humming on the movie channel was so loud you could barely hear the tv. We called the front desk where the gentleman quickly advised that "there's probably nothing we can do about it but we will send maintenance anyway". Maintenance came about 10 minutes later and didn't even enter the room. He indicated if it's the movie channel the only thing they can do is check the vcr in the main building. Apparently this was done but the humming continued. Oh well we thought, how much tv would we really be watching?

Once we finally had sufficient heating we grabbed out bathing suits and headed for the pool. You will have to get towels at the front desk but it is practically on the way and no big deal. They did give you as many towels as you wanted which was very nice.

All I can say about the pool area is look at the pictures and judge it for yourself. Filthy is all that can be said. The change rooms are old but would suffice if they had a good cleaning and replaced the broken (or missing soap dispensers). The sinks are dirty and rusted.

The pool are is disgusting. The pool itself is fairy clean but the tiles on the inside of the pool could definately use some scrubbing and there was some black debris on the bottom of the pool.

The tiles around the pool were gross. The drain in the picture is the drain directly in front of the chairs in the pool area. The entire floor had stuff all over it and had obviously not been cleaned in some time

We got into the hot tub (extremely hot). We noticed that it appeared not to have been kept very clean as there was a ring around the tub (see pics). Once in, we realized that not only was there a disgusting ring but there was tons of "things" floating in the tub as well. I would be suprised if I was told that this hot tub had been cleaned in the last 6 months. Needless to say - we were out of there!

There are set times for eating and dinner was only served from 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. Hopefully you had planned to eat at that exact time or you would have to leave the resort to get food. We went down for dinner at 6:00 p.m. and found our way to the dining room where we were promptly ignored. We stood there for quite some time with several people looking at us and continueing on their way. Finally a waitress with someone's soup order yelled over to us from across the room and asked who we were. We told her and she yelled back to follow her to our table. We had been lead to believe that the resort had fine dining - but that is simply not the case. Just because you throw a cherry tomato on the bowl of sour cream for the table does not make it fine dining. We ordered the prime rib and were asked how we would like it. I have no idea why they would ask if they are just going to bring you what they have anyway. We ordered medium well and got rare. Not only was the food not made to order - it was ice cold. The butter just sat on the broccoli and would not melt. We had to ask for rolls for the table and had ordered a birthday cake ($24.00) in advance which they completely forgot and we had to ask for. There were very few people staying at the resort when we were there - it appeared to be 5 other tables of 2 - 4 people and a larger group in the other room. We were not pleased with the dinner dining experience at all and did not feel that we received any "personal" attention.

We stopped by the front desk to check out a game or two for the kids to play back in the room and when we asked if they had games the lady said they did and just stood there. We asked if they had a list or if she could tell us and she simply tossed a list at the kids. We picked two games and asked if it was ok if we returned them in the morning and she allowed this as they were not busy.

We asked what time breakfast was served and were suprised to find out that they do not serve breakfast on Sundays. They only serve Brunch and it runs from 9:30 - 10: 30 a.m. Not great when you have children that get up early and are used to eating first thing in the morning.

We went to the games room which definately needs a rehaul. It is cold, damp and dreary. And - suprise - dirty. We attempted to play shuffleboard but there was no sand for the board. We played a couple of games of ping pong and then attempted to play air hockey. The table is lopsided and broken around the edges so the "puck" keeps getting stuck. Not to mention that there was smeared and dried (what appeared to be) ketchup on the table.

We stayed the night - the beds are uncomfortable but have extra blankets and pillows in the rooms.

Brunch was bland and limited . Fine dining? Definately not. Food was cold tasteless.

As we only stayed one night (and couldn't wait to leave the next morning) we did not get a chance to experience the outdoor activities. There seemed to be quite a few (skating, horse sleigh rides, curling, showshoeing, etc) and everyone seemed to be enjoying these activities. If we could have gotten past the rest of the issues we might have tried them and found them to be fun.

All in all I would not even give this resort a 1* if I had the choice. We wouldn't go back if they paid us.

There are plenty of other resorts in the north that have outdoor activities and I would suggest that you try those.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Milandralove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, Owner/Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to outline your disappointment with your stay at our resort. We take negative comments to heart and we do our utmost to correct issues that are brought forward by our valued guests. When a guest is dissatisfied with their stay, I can only hope that they will let us know while they are here so that we can try to make a difference in their experience and create a good memory instead of a bad one.

Unfortunately, we can’t do anything about the trains. The reason our resort exists and is still here after 5 generations of Stanton family ownership is because my great-grandfather gave CN Rail the land to build the tracks and have a station so that tourism would come to Port Stanton.

I can assure you that we do clean our indoor recreation building, pool and hot tub on a daily basis and during busy periods at least twice per day; however, the tile staining from the heavy iron in our water is cleaned during scheduled maintenance periods as we have to shut down and drain the pool and hot tub. We will ensure this cleaning is done as soon as possible. Unfortunately, the indoor shuffleboard sand continues to be used by children for everything except the shuffleboard. We will devise a way to keep the sand stocked and out of the children's reach.

We apologize that your room was cold upon arrival. We do arrival checks to ensure this doesn’t happen and obviously this was missed.

The Free TV movie channel is offered throughout the resort. We apologize that it was not working as it should in your room and this matter is being addressed.

Our resort has a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We do not state that we are “fine dining” as this does not fit with the atmosphere and family packages that we provide. However, we have a very good reputation for our food quality and service. We are addressing your experience to ensure we don’t lose our hard earned reputation. We offer dining in the evening during specified hours as we do not have many “drop in” guests for meals. Guests can be seated anytime between 6:00 and 7:00 on Saturdays for their dinner, they don’t have to arrive at 6pm and be out the door at 7pm. On Sundays, most of our guests have enjoyed a later breakfast/brunch. We offer a continental breakfast in our Crusader Lounge prior to brunch so that children and early risers can have something light to tide them over.

Our family of management and staff take pride in our resort and its’ friendly, casual atmosphere. We will certainly address the concerns you have brought forward to ensure our guests depart with happy memories of their stay with us.

Your hosts,

The Stanton family and Bayview Wildwood staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Our group included 4 adults, 1 teenager, and 2 toddlers, and we all had a good time. We enjoyed a short hike, pontoon boat rental, indoor swimming, and the Build-A-Bear Workshop. The hotel restaurant had a great breakfast, although the dinner was pricey and not suited to children/teenagers. The restaurant does have a fantastic view over the lake. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Severn Bridge
8.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
11.8 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
589 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
222 reviews
13.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Orillia
236 reviews
8.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Wildwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Wildwood Resort

Address: 1500 Port Stanton Pky, Severn Bridge, Ontario P0E 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Severn Bridge
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Severn Bridge
Price Range: £96 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayview Wildwood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanton family has provided six generations of friendly hospitality, fabulous dining, extensive recreation and beautiful vistas along the shores of Sparrow Lake since the late 1880's at this four-season resort village. Enjoy supervised children’s programs, indoor and outdoor pools, sandy beach, exercise gym, water sports, spa services, tennis, biking, hiking, and golf nearby. Experience Ontario winter activities; snow shoeing, cross-country skiing, skating, sleigh rides and snowmobile tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Wildwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wildwood Hotel Severn Bridge
Bayview Wildwood Resort Severn Bridge, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing