We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - used after ferry arrival in Cherbourg”
Review of Cositel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cositel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Perfect hotel for arriving on a late ferry and wanting to get a bit of driving done before bed. Also would be good for a longer stay too.

Took just over an hour from Cherbourg and due to a late ferry we arrived about 22:00 but all was well - very friendly welcome and they were happy to speak English or go along with my school girl French. Room was just what we booked - a double bed with a single next to it for our 6 year old. Space for the bags, ensuite, and a window that opened. Breakfast was good - choice of pastries, fruit, meat, cereal, toast and "boil your own" eggs, with juice, tea and coffee.

Lovely garden and fish pond out the back were ideal for something to explore with the six year old before a long car trip. Would also be lovely to sit and relax in, but no chance of that with our hectic holiday schedule!

Recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple overlooking the car park and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickens90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

good accoms in Coutances. Walking distance to town, good breakfast, excellent food in restaurant & very helpful staff. Rooms dated but ok

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsmithSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel when visiting with a coach trip.We found the staff very friendly and helpful.The restaurant served excellent food at good value.This hotel should be rated at 3 star.We enjoyed our 3 night stay in May 2012 very much.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank J700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

luckily we had a room overlooking the pond. many rooms appear to be dark as windows are on the small size and look out on tall laurel hedges and trees. the site would benefit from pruning these. the room was clean and comfortable, would prefer duvets rather than blankets and counterpanes that are used for all guests. bathroom had modern shower and basin. garden could do with a few relaxing chairs. was not impressed with food in restauarant hence only had one meal. staff were polite and helpful.on the whole a nice hotel well worth the two star award.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gagamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The Cositel in Coutances is really an extremely nice hotel. We used it to visit the Normandy D Day beaches and it is extremely easy to find your way around. It is quiet, charming and the restaurant in the hotel is certainly to be recommended! Can't believe this is only 2 stars only.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartineNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed here in May 2010. The hotel was fine, clean and spacious rooms with brand new bathrooms. the communal areas are a little dated but still clean. The restaurant however, was terrible! Vegetables boiled to within an inch of their lives, over-cooked pasta, bland sauces, tough - overcooked duck. We decided not to have dessert as we didn't know how much more bad food we could stomach!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NjyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillesCositel, Gérant at Cositel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2010

Dear cutomer,
We are sorry to learn about your stay in our hotel. We don't undersatnd why you didn't complain to our restaurant staff. You didn't tell us that your duck was overcooked for example, we could give us an other one or you could choose an other dish.
We are surprised by your comment, most of our guests are really satisfied of our restaurant.
Hope for welcoming you once again.
Best Regards
Cositel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We stayed here for a weekend whilst attending a wedding in the town. The hotel is quite modern and is spacious and laid out in nice gardens. It is set a little out of the centre of town and would be a 20 minute uphill walk if thats were you need to be. The room was a reasonable size and whilst it could do with redecoration had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and when we arrived early in the morning after getting the overnight ferry they let us have our room early and let us have breakfast. The bar and food were also friendly and good value. Large free car parking was also a bonus. I wouldn't stay here for a whole holiday but for one or two nights when touring or driving to the ferry its ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coutances
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Coutances
Ibis Budget Coutances
#1 of 3 in Coutances
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pocatiere
Hotel La Pocatiere
#3 of 3 in Coutances
70 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
5.9 mi away
Le Mascaret
Le Mascaret
#1 of 1 in Blainville-sur-Mer
97 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel ibis Granville Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cositel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cositel

Address: 29 rue de Saint Malo, 50200 Coutances, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Coutances
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cositel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cositel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cositel Hotel Coutances
Cositel Coutances, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing