We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay in its class”
Review of Cositel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cositel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very attractive motel in pleasant grounds and with a fish pond and terrace. The room however is no more than 2-star basic. They need to modernise and improve the rooms. Restaurant was okay and the meal fine and good value for money.

Breakfast was very much self-service and hardly saw anyone.

Receptionists were welcoming and friendly.

There is not much in the town except for the truly outstanding cathedral. It is a drive away as the Cositel is outside the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned after visiting family in Normandy. The hotel was included as part of a package with Brittany ferries. The room was smart and very clean on arrival. Whilst the only English tv was CNN and BBC News this did not bother us. We were tired and slept in on the first day but a call to reception and they were quick in delivering breakfast to our room with all the usual continental fayre (we utilised this service for the rest of our stay). The staff were friendly and despite having quite a broad Yorkshire accent they were attentive and understanding especially when my wife dropped a full cup of cafe au lait on the bed!!. Ample parking and our room was overlooking the pond we could not ask for more. The view of Coutances Cathedral from the car park is quite special, especiall on a misty morning. The hotel is also within 20 minutes walk of the town centre but it is quite a clime but the gardens at the top are also special. I would definitely use them again as it is ideal considering the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great location. Loved the fish in the pond! Plenty of free parking. Comfortable bed and good bathroom. Excellent dinner - 24 Euro for 3 courses. Good breakfast. Pleasant staff. No lift but not a problem. Would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel outside town is fine for an overnight. It did not seem as updated as other chains, but has spacious rooms with very large bathrooms. The receptionist was pleasant and spoke some English so that was a help. The grounds are vey nice and the outside seating would be lovely in warm weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I was tired and needed an early night after a long drive, the rain was poring, I'd had enough. The Kyrid the night before was lovely, this alas was tired. The heating didn't work, the heated towel rail wasn't , there was no fluffy duvet just blankets. No flat screen tv but the old set did work fine, there was no shower gel just soap, the bed was average, the curtain didn't fit the window. However the staff were polite dispute my bad French, the water was hot, it was clean, the food was good, the beer was cold... Would I stay again, maybe, but you can get a lot better for the same money. I suspect a good refit would go along way. Free wifi worked well

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Situated a couple of minutes outside town, hard by a Roman aqueduct and with nice views of the cathedral on its hilly perch, is the Cositel. Outside it is anything but cosy, it's harsh architectural heritage owes more to the M4 than to the comfy, simple clean establishment within.
Our room was clean, quiet and overlooked the smallish garden with its large Koi carp pond.
The food alas had ideas above its station. What we ate was a bit bland, a bit over ambitious and a bit under-achieving. If you want to spend time in this fine French provincial city to admire the cathedral which is well worth spending time on/with, then, by all means stay here - but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Attractive modern 2 floor hotel situated in spacious grounds with mature trees, water feature and ample external parking. Stands to the NW of the town close to the ancient aqueduct. Access to city centre by car takes 4 minutes. (Parking both near and in front of cathedral) Bedrooms on ground and 1st floors (no lift). Comfortable and clean room/bath with separate WC. Excellent supper menus at €23 and €34 can be mixed. Standard buffet breakfast.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coutances
2 mi away
Ibis Budget Coutances
Ibis Budget Coutances
#1 of 3 in Coutances
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pocatiere
Hotel La Pocatiere
#3 of 3 in Coutances
69 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
16.4 mi away
Hotel ibis Granville Port de Plaisance
5.9 mi away
Le Mascaret
Le Mascaret
#1 of 1 in Blainville-sur-Mer
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cositel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cositel

Address: 29 rue de Saint Malo, 50200 Coutances, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Coutances
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cositel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cositel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cositel Hotel Coutances
Cositel Coutances, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing