We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, flexible and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cositel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cositel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Friendly, flexible and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've stayed here for 5 years each August en route from the ferry at Cherbourg to staying in Brittany. They have a family room for 5 of us and are really helpful about booking each year.

We generally arrive rather late, just as the kitchen's about to close, but they've been great each year about us phoning through our order or making sandwiches for us when we were very (very!) delayed on the incoming ferry.

Breakfast is great value, and half-price for kids.

The rooms are clean, spacious and probably a little better than the 3* rating would suggest.

The garden and terrace are nice and there is an impressive pond filled with carp that's 'underneath' the walkway. A hit with the kids.

Room Tip: There are adjoining rooms and also a 5-person family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    109
    46
    19
    6
See reviews for
28
125
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I guess this is a chain hotel, but the parrot in the lobby, and the terrace / deck / fish pond out the back, with its great views of the cathedral in Coutances, give it a bit of charm. The staff are extremely warm and welcoming. We took the quadruple room which was perfect - an extra cot for the baby was offered free of charge. No air conditioning though. Has a great location if you're driving.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very attractive motel in pleasant grounds and with a fish pond and terrace. The room however is no more than 2-star basic. They need to modernise and improve the rooms. Restaurant was okay and the meal fine and good value for money.

Breakfast was very much self-service and hardly saw anyone.

Receptionists were welcoming and friendly.

There is not much in the town except for the truly outstanding cathedral. It is a drive away as the Cositel is outside the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned after visiting family in Normandy. The hotel was included as part of a package with Brittany ferries. The room was smart and very clean on arrival. Whilst the only English tv was CNN and BBC News this did not bother us. We were tired and slept in on the first day but a call to reception and they were quick in delivering breakfast to our room with all the usual continental fayre (we utilised this service for the rest of our stay). The staff were friendly and despite having quite a broad Yorkshire accent they were attentive and understanding especially when my wife dropped a full cup of cafe au lait on the bed!!. Ample parking and our room was overlooking the pond we could not ask for more. The view of Coutances Cathedral from the car park is quite special, especiall on a misty morning. The hotel is also within 20 minutes walk of the town centre but it is quite a clime but the gardens at the top are also special. I would definitely use them again as it is ideal considering the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Great location. Loved the fish in the pond! Plenty of free parking. Comfortable bed and good bathroom. Excellent dinner - 24 Euro for 3 courses. Good breakfast. Pleasant staff. No lift but not a problem. Would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel outside town is fine for an overnight. It did not seem as updated as other chains, but has spacious rooms with very large bathrooms. The receptionist was pleasant and spoke some English so that was a help. The grounds are vey nice and the outside seating would be lovely in warm weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I was tired and needed an early night after a long drive, the rain was poring, I'd had enough. The Kyrid the night before was lovely, this alas was tired. The heating didn't work, the heated towel rail wasn't , there was no fluffy duvet just blankets. No flat screen tv but the old set did work fine, there was no shower gel just soap, the bed was average, the curtain didn't fit the window. However the staff were polite dispute my bad French, the water was hot, it was clean, the food was good, the beer was cold... Would I stay again, maybe, but you can get a lot better for the same money. I suspect a good refit would go along way. Free wifi worked well

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coutances
6.2 mi away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Coutances
Ibis Budget Coutances
#2 of 3 in Coutances
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Pocatiere
Hotel La Pocatiere
#3 of 3 in Coutances
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large
5.7 mi away
Le Mascaret
Le Mascaret
#1 of 1 in Blainville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Granville
Ibis Budget Granville
#5 of 7 in Granville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cositel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cositel

Property: Cositel
Address: 29 rue de Saint Malo, 50200 Coutances, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Coutances
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coutances
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cositel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Cositel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cositel Hotel Coutances
Cositel Coutances, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing