We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hub of Kenya's beuty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitale Museum

Kitale Museum
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Kitale
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hub of Kenya's beuty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

It's was during this visit that I discovered the former western museums of kenya is a hub of fascinating attractions being away from Nairobi it a place with soothing atmosphere a house to over hundred tree species and not forgetting the good grounds for research and more tu that is the resourceful information for those on research. It was fascinating to have a nature walk on the well Maintained lawns of tree and picnic site it was surely a good place to be though no well experience guide that took us around

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rithoones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    10
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitcat22
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great nature walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The museum itself didn't inspire me much, though it had some interesting traditional musical instruments. The snakes and crocs made me kinda sad--cages not very nice. But the nature walk is a lovely find! Hard to believe it's so accessible in town. Price: 500 Kenyan shillings for a foreign visitor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museum is nice and we had a brilliant guide to take us round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We were taken by a guide through the museum and he really made our day! There is the museum itself with information on evolution of men, artefacts from local communities and stuffed animals. The homesteads outside of the different communities are also interesting. Unfortunately it started raining so we werent able to enjoy much of the nature walk. We had a nice time, which was especially due to the very helpfull guide.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hanneke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An oasis in the cultural desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

An old fashioned but interesting museum of agricultural and cultural interest with varied displays including livestock

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibrahim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went there mainly for the nature trails. It's an excellent opportunity to see wildlife (exotic trees, monkeys and birds) . The museum has a decent collection of artifacts from local communities.

Visit the park mid-week or on Saturdays when it is not too crowded. Sundays are a really slow day and there are no guides to take you around the nature trails (although you van go solo)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Winki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitale Museum also viewed

Kitale, Rift Valley Province
Kitale, Rift Valley Province
 
Kitale, Rift Valley Province

Been to Kitale Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing