We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astonishing find!”
Review of Lazy Lagoon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bagamoyo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Lagoon
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bagamoyo
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Astonishing find!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing retreat on a small island in the middle of a marine reserve and a short easy drive from Dar Es Salaam - made magical with a 20 min boat trip to the Lodge.
High standards and very well run. Good bar and wine cellar.
All the rooms are natural chalets open onto the beach, with excellent bathrooms, beds and walk-in mosquito nets.
This was an unexpected haven of tranquility and style. Lots of snorkelling and board sports with guided paddle excursions but maintaining calmness and privacy.
The sort of place you don't want too many people knowing about... or at least visiting!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LeapingCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    25
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

And come to this place. This place is nothing for people who need 5 star anonimity or who need aa hair dryer:-).

This place is for people who are looking for their private Island, with white beaches, green mangroves and peaceful co- living with the nature. The 12 bandas ( swahili traditional houses) with 2- stories face all the sea, where you can stay the whole day in the outsite matress, which moves slowly with the wind and watch the village fishermen pass by in their beautiful old fashioned dhaws.
Observe the funny crabs on the beach who franticaly digg holes in the sand at low tide, then vanishing in the water during high tide. Fall asleep in the night with the gentle sound of the sea, receiding back and forward. Go for a stroll on the beach, maybe Mino the friendly island dog accompanies you.
Hungry or thirsty? Go through the mangroves jungle and arrive to the main and spacious Restaurant banda, with its very friendly tanzanian staff. Cold drinks are served all day, the lunch at 1 pm and at 8 pm the dinner. Inbetween you can order all what you fancy at good prices. The food is very very good, a good mix of european and tanzanian food. A creative mind makes it look beautiful everyday.
If you feel like a refreshment you can also take a plunge in the swimming pool, and talk to the very welcoming host- luc. A belgian man who has huge knowledge about africa and the culture. Ask him about safaris! Or meet his beautiful birds he keeps.
Fancy some sport? How about doing some stand up paddeling or Kajak through the mangroves? Stand up paddeling is the ideal sport to do there, it calms you even more, the water is not to deep and the waves are very small. Like this you can easily take a tour around the island, and do something for your abdomens:-)
In the evening if you are lucky, they serve you the food at the beach, and you sit in awe underneath the natural ceiling of the sky with its millions nor billions of stars, you never knew existed.
And then you leave one day and you look back and are so happy that you found such a place, because it really made you slow down, rethink things and you realized what is important to you. It is worth every Penny! But not everybody has the ability to see that;-) or is ready to slow down.
Asante sana @ luc and the team! ( elke )

Room Tip: For real seclution take banda 8- 12...for closeness to pool and restaurant take 1-6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having read all the negative reviews on tripadvisor we were very pleasantly surprised with the resort. Muddy walk to the boat is short and most people who live in Dar es Salaam will know the tide sometimes goes out much further. The huts were very nice with lovely hanging daybeds on the verandah. Power is off most of the time, but you really don't need it. Rooms can become quite hot as there is no AC or fans but this is part of the adventure. Food was really lovely, especially the homemade muesli. All drinks where cold with a great variety of wines. Great place for swimming, you can even swim infront of your own house. All in all fantastic place and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Number 4/5 would probably be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryannejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I visited this place two years back with my two adult children. I have been working in Tanzania and lived in DSM some years with my family. Now made two weeks journey to give my children the feeling of Tanzania today. We stayed on the island two nights. Accommondation was expected, not high quality, but good enough. Food was not the quality expected in this kind of place. You may get same quality even along the Morogoro Road in Chalinze restaurants on the way to the north and West.
On the cost - there is Bagamoyo and its histirical surraundings worth visiting.
Lazy Lagoon is worth visiting and especially walk on seaside - you can easily have Indian Ocean 'feeling', but you also see all the dirties (plastics etc...) coming from the see. This is alarming us...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Forwarned about muddy waters when entering the boat, the short crossing on beuatiful, emerald waters was actually lovely, and so was the whole place - although you could get bored if you were not happy with just the company of yourself, books and sun.Our banda was very airy with nicley cool breezes through mosquito nets and curtains. For us as a couple it was of course unnecessarily big while I still wonder how more than 2 people could have shared the one bath-room behind main bedroom - often without both light and water. It would also have been disproportionately expensive!Tthe food was very ordinary, plain and a real disappointment that management felt they should defend the fact that there was no seafood and very little - and tasteless- fish (fishfingers with a Rhode Island sauce was best).

Room Tip: The banda furthest away from the main reception area was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place! Perfect for a family trip- Robinson Crusoe beach huts, perfect beach for evening strolls, perfect sea for swimming in, rock pools for the kids, and a safe pool when the beach gets too hot! Friendly staff, great service and very cold drinks!! Nothing was too much trouble- we were travelling with 3 children under 6 years one of 6 months- the staff made it easy. Luke, Peter, Sarah-thank you!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location is very nice though to get there you have to first go by boat which on low tide means walking out through the scum mud of the fishing port beach, still that memory fades away as you approach the resort. The main lounge-dining banda is well kept but the room bandas are a bit run down even if nice and roomy, I didn't even mind not having windows as there was always a nice breeze (sometimes more than a breeze!). The bandas should be further apart as there is often quite a few people in one banda which if you're trying to enjoy peace and quiet can be a problem, but being low season it was fairly quiet except over the weekend. No power during the day was a bit of nuisance as we were staying almost a week and the beach in front of the banda is just covered in trash brought in with the tides which I understand is difficult to clean but the beach obviously hadn't been cleaned in eons, not that you can actually swim there as its all rocks and coral so you have to go to the other side of the "island". The food was tasty but they rotate the meals every 2 days or so ended up eating the same thing regularly and for my friend, a vegetarian, he was limited to pasta with vegetables for the whole stay. The only point though were we got slightly annoyed was on the boat, we took it 3 times total and each and every time it broke down, leaving us stranded with no shade while the driver tried to start the engine up, the worst time we drifted for almost 2 hours (timed it) before they sent the second boat to drag us back. On the right tide you can get some nice clear water for swimming but beware of the current. Managed to relax so this place had it possibilities and loved walking through the tropical hedged tunnel path. So conclusively, its not bad but it could be better!

Room Tip: I liked being further away from the main building but the last bandas are quite a walk away so speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagamoyo
0.0 mi away
Millennium Old Post Office Hotel La Renaissance
20.6 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
23.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
5.0 mi away
Firefly
Firefly
#1 of 16 in Bagamoyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.6 mi away
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
#8 of 16 in Bagamoyo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lagoon

Property: Lazy Lagoon
Address: 2km from the mainland on a private island, Bagamoyo, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Bagamoyo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bagamoyo
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Lazy Lagoon Bagamoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing