We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under renovation and noisy”
Review of New Mwanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Mwanza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mwanza
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Centrally located comfortable rooms but finishes after renovation poor Current renovations during the day and outside revelry at night make this very noisy at all hours. Try get a room away from the night club and casino nearby. Staff are very friendly but poorly trained as service is very slow and the eventual outcome of meal and drinks order may take along time or sometimes not at all. Roof top dinning and bar area potentially has a stunning sundowner view over Lake Victoria but view is blocked by stairs and main view is of large new hotel across the road

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator and nightclub end of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbovaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest

Your comments are very valuable for us on continuously improving our hotel and services.Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our hotel.Yes we were renovating our hotel to match with modern facilities and luxuries. Our hotel is completely renovated and we assure you that you will not face any inconvenience.The Team at New Mwanza Hotel is committed to provide the best experience to all our guests.We are looking forward to welcome you back and assuring of our best services at all times.

Thanks & Best Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

my first night stay I could not go to bed until after three am as there was an extremely loud Wedding on to roof. I was woken up early next morning at seven am by loud construction next door followed by an extremely loud sermon in the conference room.
The restaurant was nice to sit in the evening with a pleasent breeze from the lake. Wait staff was really nice, even though they tried to charge me for an extra beer.
Breakfast at the coffee shop was very basic, mostly Swahili foods. Did not like that they had only instant coffee.
I was trying to relax in the lobby to wait for my cab to the airport and it was so loud and crowded I had to go across the street to the Gold Crest hotel coffee shop to relax.
I would not stay at this hotel again even though it was good value for money simply because there was no peace and quite in there.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Psycochem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Your first impression of this hotel will not be good. It looks old, dilapidated, and in need of some serious refurbishment. It is, however, very rewarding to those who actually venture inside and book a night or two.

The reception staff are embarrassingly helpful and friendly and willing to accommodate any and all of your needs - so no worries there. The restaurant does not look great and the food is not amazing but you have a very good range to eat from. There's a casino and a pool which we looked at but didn't use which are popular with Asians and locals respectively.

The room was great. A standard double with A/C, card-activated doors and alarms (great security), huge flat screen TV with satellite connection, delightful glass bathroom (without walls, like a human fishtank in your room), and a very comfortable bed. You pay for what you get and it is probably the best deal in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The New Mwanza is our favorite place to stay in Mwanza. It's a good location when arriving on the ferry from Bukoba. It may not look like much from the outside, but the rooms are nice. It is in a busy part of town, but I've never noticed any noise problems as other reviewers have stated. The beds are a little firm for my liking, but I have always slept well. The breakfast is quite average and could be improved some. I have never felt it was overly fresh. The restaurant is very good, however. It's a little expensive, but has good quality food.

The staff are usually helpful and the manager is quite friendly. Once we didn't have hot water and they were quick to fix the issue. They have always been willing to keep our bags behind the desk if we have a late flight or trip on the ferry. Once they even kept our bags for the day when we were just traveling through Mwanza and waiting for our safari company. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schuaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New M, Guest Relations Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Schuua,

On behalf of the Hotel we would like to thank you for taking time and posting a review on the hotel.We enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you yet again in every visit to Mwanza .We are open to our clients proposals and suggestions.We again thank you for your review.



Regards
Light Elinami
Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I've stayed at the New Mwanza hotel a couple of times and can't really say that it is much more than average (by Tanzanian standards). It doesn't look like much from the outside but the rooms are relatively decent (although slightly overpriced) having been recently renovated. It is right in the city centre so noise is a big issue, plus there is a nightclub downstairs that can be extremely loud when open. The service is nothing special. Parking can be a problem if you have your own vehicle, the main parking area is quite small and shared by other businesses. The restaurant is pretty good and has a nice view out onto the street and there is a coffee shop on the first floor if you want a quick drink or snack. There is live music at the restaurant some nights. They say they have wi-fi but I could never get it to work. There are better places to stay in Mwanza but this place is worth a look if you want to be in the centre and don't mind dealing with a few problems. Just be sure to take a look at your room first before you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New M, Guest Relations Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear David H,

We thank you for your review and stay with us.Regarding the issues mentioned the management will sure take note of this and make sure the next time you stay with us we will make your stay as comfortable as possible.Pardon us for any discomfort or inconveniences we may have caused while staying with us.


Regards

Light Elinami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

New Mwanza Hotel is one of the oldest hotel in Mwanza. Rooms have been renovated recently and size of the rooms are decent. The rooms are okay for a couple. If you plan to stay with a kid, better book a suite.

Service is a big question mark in this hotel. Specially room service; there may be times when your order is forgotten and you may have to remind them again.

Once they forgot to serve me dinner!! Reason, "oh! the person who took the order forgot"

I have stayed in this hotel several times since 2006 and have seen this hotel improving in terms of rooms but not in service.

WiFi services are complimentary and most of the time its down. They subscribe to decent TV channels and have two restaurants. The coffee shop is open 24x7 with a bar attached to it.

The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location, right at the heart of the city.

Room Tip: If you would like to have a good view of the lake, ask them for either the 3rd or 4th floor facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Light E, Guest Relations Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear Raj S
We that you for letting us stay with you,we appreciate you not only as a client but as a friend as well.We are sincerely apologetic for the breakdown of service that you experienced here.Action will be taken hence all the service employees will take note of what you have just explained and will surely work on it responding to all inquires as soon as possible.As per the WI-FI not to claim an excuse but the network system has been down throughout Mwanza for the last week the good news its up again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

this hotel is centrally located but ugly looking, just a concrete cubicle surrounded by "concrete jungle". It must have been good several years ago but then it was allowed to decay. Before you decide on a room you better try all the appliances first. Warm water comes mostly only if you insist on it. Breakfast is less than basic. Dinner is good if you choose indian cuisine. By the way, there is an "omni-presence" of Indians in Mwanza. They rule the town.
Service is rather poor. On weekends there is sometimes live music on the roof garden. you can't escape it. The bass makes walls and ceilings vibrate. for gamblers the positive aspect is the hotel's casino. There is a small and over crowded pool as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serengeti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mwanza hotels
5.3 mi away
Malaika Beach Resort
Malaika Beach Resort
#1 of 14 in Mwanza
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tilapia
Hotel Tilapia
#2 of 14 in Mwanza
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryan's Bay Hotel
Ryan's Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Mwanza
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmont Fairmount Hotel
Belmont Fairmount Hotel
#11 of 14 in Mwanza
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adden Palace Hotel
Adden Palace Hotel
#4 of 14 in Mwanza
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Kairo
Hotel La Kairo
#6 of 14 in Mwanza
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mwanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mwanza Hotel

Address: Posta Street | along Posta Road, Mwanza, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Mwanza Region > Mwanza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mwanza
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Mwanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW MWANZA HOTEL is in the heart of Mwanza city, 7 KM from the city’s airport and only 1 ½ km walk to the shores of Lake Victoria the biggest lake in Africa. It is the perfect base from which to discover some of the most impressive natural scenery and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your New Mwanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing