We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Speke Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mwanza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Speke Bay Lodge
London
1 review
“Nightmare”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Coming on the tail end of my daughter's and my two week adventure in TZ where we ascended Kili during the first week and took in the amazing flora and fauna of three of the country's national parks during the second, we could not have asked for a more beautiful, serene, and inviting place. Our safari was a 10/10. Our driver made our safaris. We could not have asked for a better tour driver. He would make suggestions for the day but he was completely open to our desires. He was so knowledgeable about the animals, the culture, the land and the people. He also had a great sense of humor. We had a great time learning, sharing and laughing .It was him who recommended Speke Bay Lodge to us. Unfortunately Speke Bay Lodge was a nightmare for us and especially for our children. A croc on the beach, speeding cobras at night, Wi-Fi not working!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    37
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May 2014 after a 10 day safari which started in Tarangire.
The whole safari experience was fantastic and to also spend a few days relaxing here before the flight out was welcome.
The cottages are clean and comfortable without being over the top, the food was excellent, as was the service.
What made the place special were the birds and crocodiles on the beach.
We did go on a canoe trip on the lake and visit the local fishing village, both fun and different from the daily wildlife viewing.
I would definately suggest a visit to this lodge as it provides a different view of the normal safari trip.
We stayed here after a great safari with East African Safari and Touring Company in May 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had to stay in this lodge because there were no vacancies elsewhere. This is a small place and checking in is rather awkward as noone was around the "lodge" area and you must literally chase around the restaurant and adjacent rooms and bar to get anyone to attend you.


Almost every day there is a crocodile at the beach Speeding cobras might be coming during evenings. BEWARE!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCoventgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
812 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are not birders, but were delighted by the variety of the feathered friends. This lodge is on a huge area--about 150 acres. The bungalows are spacious, attractive, and clean--quite nice in every respect. There are not many, but they area in the process of expanding.
You do need insect repellent. Gorgeous sunset. Don't step on the crocodile! Wifi for our Apple did not work there.
Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were really impressed with all the facilities here. Service was excellent, as was the food and cleanliness of our room. Lovely views of the lake and a friendly? croc who came and laid on the beach every day. We chose to have a canoe trip to the local village. We were a little worried that it would be "very pushy" as in they wanted us to buy all their wares. It couldn't have been further from the truth. The children all ran up to us wanting to hold our hands, with their happy little faces. We saw the fish that had been caught that morning and was now on sale to the villagers. There was a small shop with locally made goods for sale, all at reasonable prices and no hard sell. It was a pleasure to buy from them. On the trip back the rowers sang their song which had
us all joining in. We also decided to go on the bird walk which was also very interesting, seeing many varieties of bird life and plants.

Room Tip: Any room. We used three as we were a family and they were all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baqueret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have stayed seven times at the delightful birder's oasis of Speke Bay Lodge. This beach-side lodge on Lake Nyanza-Victoria is set in extensive private grounds, just off the Mwanza - Kisumu road, if you're ever passing that way. At Lamadhi, (otherwise plonounced Ramadi), the lodge is no more than 17km from the Serengeti's "Western Corridor" at Ndabaka gate. It offers Great Walking Birding, which I find a necessary tonic, after several dusty days bouncing around in those metal boxes - I mean Tanzania's very own customised Toyota Land Cruisers or, even worse, in these scarabid old Land Rovers ! It's also the only place I've scoped Spot-necked Otter in the daylight and recorded one hundred species without leaving the breakfast table!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWolstencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were picked up from Mwanza airport by Felix of Swala Safaris and delivered to Speke Bay lodge for 2 nights of relaxation before beginning our Serengeti safari.

It's quiet, clean, picturesque, and a massive contrast from chaotic Mwanza. Rooms are nice. Food is very good. Service is great.

Lake Victoria is absolutely vast & sunsets over the lake are lovely.

Make sure you go on the optional fishing village tour. The fishing village is natural and un-spoilt by tourists.

I am very pleased that we started our serengeti safari here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mwanza
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#2 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
203 reviews
62.7 mi away
Malaika Beach Resort
Malaika Beach Resort
#1 of 14 in Mwanza
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kudu Lodge & Camp
Kudu Lodge & Camp
#14 of 48 in Karatu
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
133.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,150 reviews
448.5 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 46 in Nungwi
529 reviews
218.5 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#12 of 166 in Arusha
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Bay Lodge

Property: Speke Bay Lodge
Address: Spekes Bay, Mwanza, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Mwanza Region > Mwanza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Mwanza
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing