We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel was recommended by a colleague so I was a little unsure of what to expect but this was a fantastic surprise. Set in countryside it is an old white painted farmhouse with lovely rooms, lounge and dining room. The pool is a good size (I love swimming) and great outdoor space. Denise does the cooking (better than most of the restaurants we have tried in Murcia) and Martin is front of house. They were very efficient and eager to please and very knowledgeable about their food and wine and the local touristy stuff.
I would highly recommend this to all.

Room Tip: The almendro suite has a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn57, Owner at Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed here for one night during the Fiesta of the Wine Horses in Caravaca. This was May 2013 and the hotel is now run by a lovely Spanish Lady, Mercedes.
The hotel is unique and has been beautifully and tastefully renovated. I was stunned by the location, breathtaking.
Despite being a few miles from the city of Caravaca, it's in a very rural location. The hotel is clearly signed from the main Caravaca to Lorca road but I suggest, rather than just relying on Sat Nav, get clear instructions before setting out.
I was delighted with this hotel and I'm determined to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn57, Owner at Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
The owners of the hotel have returned and we hope that you will visit again and enjoy our hospitality and the fun of the Fiestas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I had a fantastic week here. I was instantly able to switch off from everything back home and enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing week. It's a beautiful hotel, we had fantastic service (absolutely nothing was too much trouble), the food and wine were superb and it is in a really lovely part of Spain. There's great surrounding scenery for walks or an early morning jog, a very picturesque village (Almudena) walking distance from the hotel (with a restaurant that serves a mean steak!!) and it is not far from Caravaca which is certainly worth a visit.
It was exactly what the doctor ordered and I would certainly go again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Charmingly renovated cortijo. The house certainly lived up to (and went beyond) our expectations. Denise is a fabulous cook - great meals every evening - menus perfectly balanced - desserts to die for. Martyn also cooks an excellent paella! As hosts, Denise and Martyn (and Natalie) couldn't have been more hospitable and accommodating. This is a very relaxing house, no noise to disturb anyone who, like us, just wants to get away from modern day stresses. Having no TV was definitely a plus - we didn't miss it one bit!! There are three little villages (Almudena, Los Pinellas and Encarnacion), each within about a half hour's walking distance, if you feel like walking, and you might even meet the shepherds with their flocks along the way!. Each of the villages has a local tapas bar/cafe if you want to meet the locals and partake of the Spanish way of life. We simply can't praise this cortijo enough - anyone who goes there won't be disappointed. We spent 9 nights here and would definitely like to return for more of the same - surely that says it all!

Room Tip: We had the Almudena suite, which has a private garden area - great for sitting out and reading. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We spent a night here in October this year with another couple,what a beautiful place! WIth only 5 bedrooms it was quiet,and relaxing,with a lovely pool area and the owners were very attentive providing afternoon tea by the pool. The food in the evening was excellent and freshly cooked and we all had a great time.We were reccommended by some other friends and have no hesitation in recommending this B & B. we are already planning a trip there next year.

Room Tip: The downstairs room with it´s own private garden is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandma1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is a delightful hotel run by a very welcoming English couple. Denise cooked all the food
herself and it was delicious. Martin is a very good host where nothing is too much trouble.
We sat by the pool and were brought tea or coffee with freshly baked lemon drizzle cake, yummy!
We are hoping to go back next year with the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

A beautiful, peaceful setting amongst almond groves, this family run hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short stay. Martyn and Denise made us very welcome and could not have been more attentive and helpful. Denise is an excellent cook and we had varied and delicious meals throughout our stay. The rooms are large and comfortable with excellent en-suite facilities. There is a delightful garden shaded by pine trees and a lovely large swimming pool with outside kitchen area. There are many places of interest to visit nearby and the whole area is steeped in history. I have no hesitation in recommending Casa Pedro Barrera and we intend to return next year and will take the whole family!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are a bit cooler in the height of summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caravaca de la Cruz
7.7 mi away
Hotel Hospederia Almunia
Hotel Hospederia Almunia
#2 of 5 in Caravaca de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Nuestra Senora del Carmen
Hotel Nuestra Senora del Carmen
#1 of 5 in Caravaca de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Malena
#4 of 5 in Caravaca de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
#1 of 1 in Alhama de Murcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Central Caravaca
Hotel Central Caravaca
#5 of 5 in Caravaca de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel Argos
Hotel Argos
#1 of 1 in Calasparra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera

Property: Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera
Address: Calle Pilar 1 | Caravaca de la Cruz, 30400 Caravaca de la Cruz, Spain
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > Caravaca de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Caravaca de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique 300 year old 'cortijo' (farmhouse), set in 20,000m² of almond groves, was once owned by the famous bullfighter Pedro Barrera Elbal. Lovingly renovated, the property offers four luxury suites, lounge, dining room and library. Set in comfortable grounds away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the hotel has a swimming pool and outdoor kitchen. A restful place offering seclusion and tranquillity for all. This lovely boutique hotel is only 15 minutes from Caravaca de la Cruz, the 5th holiest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Pedro Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing