We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ionian Emerald Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful small hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Have just spent a week at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and well presented. All the public rooms and the pool area were spotless The view over the bay was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful. A really great holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregofashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    51
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Probably the nicest hotel we have ever stopped in whilst visiting many Greek Islands. Lovely staff, Great food if not a little expensive, superb pool and never a problem to find a sun bed. All the reviews seem to capture our thoughts . This place comes HIGHLY recommended by my wife and I.
Great thanks to Yannis down at the pool Bar, Hard working, very friendly and helpful.
We may yet return.

Room Tip: Most rooms are well situated , top level gives a better view of the bay and fabulous scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaronYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a very well kept hotel with a super pool area and great breakfast. Everything is clean and well taken care of. I highly recommend this hotel and its sister hotel, the Athena, which is right next door. Also this hotel is very close--walking distance-- to the Melissani Caves.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had two weeks here in the middle of June, having been to the Sami area three times before we knew what to expect and it was as always lovely. Our last visit to Kefalonia was in 09 and the Hotel was just being built, we vowed at some point to give it a try. Big mistake! not going sooner that is!! I could write pages on the cleanliness,the food, the luxury fittings, the excellent pool area and sunbeds but most have been well described (as very good) in earlier posts. I will sum up the hotel with a simple "best we have been to in Greece" (we have been many times).
All of the staff are very hard working, helpful and very friendly (typical Greeks). Special mentions to Makis and Elena the owners who made us feel so very welcome.Nikos and Maria at breakfast we very attentive and always happy to serve you your needs as were "Laki" in the bar and Yannis in the pool area. Maybe it says alot about me but "top dog" was also Yannis at the pool bar, what a lovley chap! It seemed the bar was under used maybe people found it a little pricey. I feel we made many new friends.
Be Warned We Will Be Back !!
Graham & Penny

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamECrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Have recently returned from a wonderful holiday with my two daughters to The Ionian Emerald Hotel and Spa. We had a truly fabulous and relaxing week there and would love to return.

The hotel is very modern and spacious and spotlessly clean. Our room (304) was directly facing the swimming pool, sea and children's playground (not that we ever saw any children in the playground). The room was lovely with comfortable beds, but was a little small for three adults. In this respect we did feel a little cheated as the third bed was in fact an extended armchair (fortunately my daughter is only 5ft 2in), and the room only catered for two e.g. two coffee cups, two glasses, two bathrobes, two balcony chairs etc. Upon request, we were given a 'third' of everything, but as we had paid the rate for three adults, I feel it should have already have been provided. The bathroom was great in every way, except I didn't particularly like the glass door. Although it was frosted, together with the fact that it didn't actually close or lock (it wasn't broken, it just wasn't meant to) I felt it afforded little privacy. The room was very quiet and apart from the occasional sound of the shower next door, we heard nothing at all.

The hotel breakfast was lovely. The food was plentiful and very well presented. The two staff who served there worked very hard and were attentive to our needs. The food sometimes was a little luke-warm, but it was in many of the restaurants we visited. In fact, we were told by our rep. that the Greeks prefer their food to be warm and think we are a little strange for wanting it hot!!

We never tried the restaurant for an evening meal, so can't really comment, but it always looked busy, so presumably it was good too. We did use the pool-side bar, but it was really quite expensive and as the closest café and supermarket were only a few minutes walk way, we chose to go there instead.

The swimming pool was quiet, calm and relaxing. There were always plenty of beds available, and the men who worked in the bar appeared almost immediately each time we arrived with some towels.

On our final evening my daughters booked themselves into the spa for some treatments and were amazed at how good it was. They both had far longer than they should have had and said the girl (?Katerina, I think), was excellent.

The walk into Sami each evening was lovely, but sometimes, after a long day it did seem quite far, especially if we ate at one of the far restaurants. We ate in a different restaurant each night, and felt they were all good, but our favourite was The Dolphin. The food was similar to everywhere else; what made it better was the friendliness of the staff.

The only negative I have is the Thomas Cook rep. We didn't feel he was especially helpful, in fact, he was a little untruthful. He told us there was no point in going to Ithaca (a neighbouring island) as there was nothing to do near the harbour and we would need a car to see anything. I'm very glad we ignored him as we (and lots of other people) had a very nice and filled day there!! He also told us there was nothing at Antisamos beach - "only a small kiosk", so although we booked a return taxi journey there (30e), we planned to return early. However, when we got there, we found there were two full restaurants, serving a good range of snacks, meals, drinks and cocktails!!! Sun beds and parasols were plentiful and free of charge. We had such a lovely time there we went back two days later. We had booked the taxi at reception (5 minute wait) and both times had the same driver, who introduced himself as Nikos. He told us loads of interesting things about the island and seemed so proud of his heritage. We learned so much more from him than we did from our rep. who really was only interested in archaeology (his particular interest, he said) and selling us official Thomas Cook excursions.

To conclude, we had a lovely holiday and would highly recommend this hotel. If we do return, however, (and I hope we do), I shall research booking the flight and hotel separately, and not bother with a package tour as the services of the rep weren't really worth paying for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beverlyclark61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

After spending a wonderful week here in 2012, we have just returned from a 10 nights stay. I'm delighted to say that the exceptionally high standards have been maintained. The hotel is spotless, clean, modern, light airy, with an extremely high standard of fittings and furnishings. It is a small family run hotel, and only a few employees, but it feels like returning home. The welcome from all the staff (some of who remembered us from last year) was so warm and genuine. The staff at the pool bar are so pro-active - even if they see you move to get a drink or return your towels they walk to meet you - everything done with a smile. Nikos the restaurant waiter is charming, friendly, speaks great English and has a fantastic sense of humour. One thing I love about this hotel is that the staff are extremely attentive, but never in your face. They know when you want to be left alone. Food is outstanding (we had half-board, and I can recommend that). The location is superb - quiet, fantastic views towards Ithaca. The town of Sami with all its restaurants is only about 20mins walk up the beach. If you are a beach officianado, then you may be disappointed as the beach is very stony and small. However, the pool in the resort is delightful. We will definitely return in 2014 - I cannot rate it highly enough!

Room Tip: All rooms face towards the sea, except for a couple on level one. I recommend 3rd floor, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Algoz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We researched our holiday thoroughly and picked this hotel due to the reviews and we are very glad we did. It was the cleanest hotel we ever stayed in Greece!
The staff were friendly and helpful although one lady on reception did try charging us more for a hire car, just after we had heard her give a different price to the man in front of us!
The pool was lovely and clean too, with plenty of beds including the lovely double beds, so no need to go down early and put towels out.
You get given towels for the pool and towels in the room too, so you only need beach towels for your own trips.
We enjoyed the walk into Sami each evening and you don't need a torch as there are lights along the walk and it's nice to be able to walk off all the tasty food.
Ww would definitely recommend the Il Familia on the right as you get into Sami, tasty food and lovely service. There were many others that were right on the harbour too which were nice, but all very similar. Some better value than others. Their local white wine was good, which We have never been able to say about Greek wine before!
We walked to Antisamos Beach a couple of times. It's about 4/5k and a steep hill each side, so take water and comfy shoes.
We would also recommend a visit to Fiskardo and Assos, both beautiful little towns and lovely at sunset.
The room was spacious and cleaned every day. Nice balcony to watch the sea and the pool area too.
The airport is a total nightmare so as long as you know that, you can just chill out and accept that it will be at least 2 hours to get through it all.
Overall, I can't recommend this hotel and resort enough and the island of Kefalonia is lovely, like Cyprus was 20 years ago!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpktrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
0.0 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
13.1 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
15.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
14.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionian Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Emerald Resort

Property: Ionian Emerald Resort
Address: Karavomilos | Sami, Sami 280 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ionian Emerald Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ionian Emerald Hotel is a beautiful hotel in Karavomylos Sami in Kefalonia, offering a high standard of hospitality, in an environment where warmth and fine taste surround the guest from the moment they enter the hotel. This luxurious 5 star hotel in Kefalonia has panoramic views of the sea and the port of Sami. The exemplary service of Ionian Emerald Hotel & Resort will offer you moments, with exclusive amenities and facilities. The luxurious accommodation, with views over the Ionian Sea, the direct access to Agia Eythimia, lake Melissani, cave Drogkarati and other beautiful beaches, make it the ideal combination for magnificent holidays. Ionian Emerald Hotel & Resort is the ideal choice for a luxurious stay, whether you're on the island for business or pleasure. With its impeccable services and facilities, in this family-run hotel you will experience the ultimate relaxation and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ionian Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Emerald Hotel Sami
Ionian Emerald Resort Sami, Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing