We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ionian Emerald Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Holiday”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After reading reviews prior to our holiday and being quite impressed with what was written I am pleased to say that it lived up to expectations. The staff everywhere in the hotel are the most helpful we have come across anywhere and could not do enough for you from the reception on arrival to restaurant and poolside bar staff, nothing was too much trouble. It is somewhere that we could definitely go back to again. Added to this the meals in both restaurant and pool bar are both great. A great weeks holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joplo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    58
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
166
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancs UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We are two seniors who stayed here for a week 21-28 Sep 2013. It is a modern 3yr old hotel, only 38 rooms. All the staff were excellent. We had a 'superior' room on the 1st floor- large and with a balcony overlooking the pool and shore. The furnishings are very modern and there is lots of glass. The hotel is right on the Karavamalos beach (pebbles). Plenty choice at breakfast- with 'on demand' omelettes and eggs. We ate in the restaurant every night and found the food to be tasty and fresh. There is one menu for those on half board and an extended menu for a la carte diners. Portions are large. If we had a starter we shared it. The bar tender was a good Mixicologist - best Mojitos we have had since Havana. We frequently ate a snack at the pool bar at lunchtime. Again, the portions are big and one meal between two is ample. The pool water was freezing cold- but this was mid September. The pool area is attractive, plenty sun loungers and shades. The hotel provides beach/pool towels and white bathrobes with complimentary slippers for the bedroom. It's an easy walk into Sami and also the nearby Messalina cave pool. My husband hired a mountain bike in Sami for a couple of afternoons . He also hiked in the hills behind the bay. We took a taxi to Agia Effinia one day -a small port with lots of holiday sailing flotillas around. We got the local bus back to the hotel. Don't rely on local buses - only 2/3 a day . We had a full day cruise from Agia Effinia to Lefkas and Skorpios islands(onasis's island). This was the Makadonia Palace Cruise Friday Trip. Don't confuse it with the daily trips to Ithaca. The full day cruise is 8 hrs. We loved the hotel, liked Karavamalos as a base, and could not find any faults . It is Greek 5*, not the same as 5* in Spain or uk. The Spa was closed early Sept but our tour operator never told me this when I booked , and the hotel still had adverts and a brochure in the bedroom as if it was still open. Contact the hotel if you are relying on the Spa being open -ask if it is open! I would say it is not a suitable hotel for children, there is nothing for them really. All beaches are pebbly. We found plenty to do for a week. A longer holiday and you might want to hire a car, especially if you fancy going to small coves for a swim.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank TarletonTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is quite new and is kept very clean, the bedrooms are comfortable and have enough room in them. We had a very pleasant stay but to advertise it as a 5 star hotel is very wrong. In the bathrooms they only have hand held showers which has a long head instead of being round, they do not have complementary tissues and there is no turn down service at the end of the day. The staff seem polite and try very hard. The pool area is very comfortable and pleasant on the eye, with their double sun beds the most comfortable I have ever been on. In general a good hotel but it is lacking the quality of a 5 star.

Room Tip: choose a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for two weeks in August and September. Our superior room overlooked the pool and the sea. Breakfast was varied although for some strange reason peaches disappeared from the menu. Our room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable and very large. We dined in a few times and the food was of good quality but the servings were just too large for us to eat. It is an easy 25 minute walk into Sami for a wide range of restaurants along the water front. Melissani lake is 800 metres away. To make the most of seeing the island a car is really required. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. We could recommend the hotel as a smart international establishment. The poolside beds are extremely comfortable and there is a pool towel service for residents.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWanderers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel. We stayed in room 103, it was spacious, modern and very comfortable. We spent the most wonderful week exploring this stunning island (which we did by car, arranged with reception) and then relaxing on the day beds/loungers by the pool/beach in the afternoons. The staff are fantastic, in particular Georgella on reception who was most helpful on several occasions. The breakfast is superb. This Hotel is the real deal, everything is of high quality and we felt so welcome. Sami is the perfect distance for a stroll by the beach with an array of restaurants and bars. Would I go back again? ........ Yes, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are searching through hotel reviews to find a holiday in Greece for 2013/14 and reading this - STOP NOW - you have found the perfect destination at the Ionian Emerald Resort at Karavomylos on the beautiful island of Kephalonia.
We have holidayed many times on this magical island and for the last two years at the Ionian Emerald Resort. This is a superb hotel - it is perfectly located at the end of Sami Bay with breathtaking views of the bay and Ithica from all rooms and balconies. It offers excellent accommodation, in the rooms and public areas. It is a relaxing place to stay, tastefully decorated but not ostentatious. The food is also excellent. We took the bed and breakfast option - the breakfast offered is extensive and varied to suit all palates, beautifully presented and served by Maria and Nikos. We also ate at lunch time at the pool bar and every other night on the terrace balcony for dinner. We hadn't intended to eat there so often - we love walking to and exploring the many local tavernas in Sami and Karavomylos - but our evening meals at the Emerald were of a very high standard, in a relaxing and very comfortable location with outstanding views and … Nikos is a superb head waiter. The hotel is very efficiently and extremely well run by the owner Elena, who is always very friendly and welcoming and does everything she can to make sure you have a splendid holiday. She has assembled a delightful staff - professional, eager to help, friendly and a delight to spend time with. We can't speak more highly of - her front desk staff Aggeliki, Georgelos & Robert always friendly and ready to help, Poppy, Constantina and Eleftheria who ensure your rooms are always spotless, Katrina in the hotel spa, Giannis and Giannis who make time spent around the beautiful and very well situated pool a pleasure and Maria and Nikos - endlessly patient with my attempts at Greek, helpful, friendly, very, very efficient and everything always done with a smile and a genuine desire to make your holiday highly enjoyable.
We love the island of Kephalonia and the Kephalonian people - always welcoming, warm and friendly. The island has a multitude of hidden gems and every year we discover more. We hired a Suzuki Jimny through the hotel for the duration of our holiday. We spent some time each day around the pool or on the beach directly outside the hotel as we love to swim but also spent time everyday exploring the island. There is so much beauty to enjoy there. Every tourist visiting Kepahalonia should go to the standard, famous tourist sights but once you've done them try and explore further afield. We can highly recommend the beach and restaurant at Trapezaki, Platananos restaurant at Assos, walking (early in the morning) to the castle above Assos town and exploring the land behind, watching the ferries come in at Sami, icecream at Acqua Marina and eating at Il Familia in Sami, Paradise Beach Restaurant at Agia Efimia, Petani Bay for lunch, walking to the top of Aenos on a clear day - the views are magnificent, Sunset Taverna on the hill overlooking Poros, Foki Bay, a trip on the ferry from Argostoli to Lixouri, homemade ice cream in Lixouri piazza, a visit to the Italian memorial on the hill above Argostoli etc. Just go, enjoy and relax! As I write this review we are busy booking for next year- we are not 'boring' - we love exploring new places BUT we have found 'Paradise' at the Ionian Emerald Resort so why for two weeks a year would we go anywhere else?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MoBrown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Overall very good. A few minor points such as responding tot complaint and upkeeping/maintenance. Not a lott tot do if your out to party or with small children. Good food but more expensive. Not for elderly and people who have mobility problems. Would i go there a second time? I not sure tot be honest. Staff al very kind and overall i think worth the money. You really need a car to get around and see the beautifull island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
14.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
288 reviews
13.1 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
15.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionian Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Emerald Resort

Property: Ionian Emerald Resort
Address: Karavomilos | Sami, Sami 280 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ionian Emerald Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ionian Emerald Hotel is a beautiful hotel in Karavomylos Sami in Kefalonia, offering a high standard of hospitality, in an environment where warmth and fine taste surround the guest from the moment they enter the hotel. This luxurious 5 star hotel in Kefalonia has panoramic views of the sea and the port of Sami. The exemplary service of Ionian Emerald Hotel & Resort will offer you moments, with exclusive amenities and facilities. The luxurious accommodation, with views over the Ionian Sea, the direct access to Agia Eythimia, lake Melissani, cave Drogkarati and other beautiful beaches, make it the ideal combination for magnificent holidays. Ionian Emerald Hotel & Resort is the ideal choice for a luxurious stay, whether you're on the island for business or pleasure. With its impeccable services and facilities, in this family-run hotel you will experience the ultimate relaxation and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ionian Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Emerald Hotel Sami
Ionian Emerald Resort Sami, Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing