We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ionian Emerald Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We travelled as a family and were on half board terms. We had a deluxe room for us and normal room for children. Both were very good and so so clean. I have not seen such a clean hotel in a very long time in any country. As others have said the staff at this hotel are quite superb. Friendly, efficient and so kind. The pool area is a delight and we all enjoyed the large lounger beds particularly my daughter. Sami is close by and the walk easy. Do visit the bakery close to the hotel which is another delight with wonderful ice cream. We also had 3 treatments in the Spa all of which were good. I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms above the main restaurant and bar area are extra large with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is nice, I had a room overlooking the sea. The room was spacious and clean so was the bathroom with nice Apivita amenities. Breakfast was good, but basic and identical every day. This should be improved. The staff was polite, helpful and friendly. I did not use the pool but my impression is it was clean and not crowded. There's a pathway by the coast line, going to Sami, it's an easy and picturesque route, I've seen marvellous sunsets walking that way. Don't expect hi-speed internet if you need it, it works though but downloading might take some time.
I did not rent a car to go to Antisamos beach, Agia Paraskevi, the acropolis in Sami and Myrtos beach, hiring a taxi was an efficient method to travel for me. Not all taxi drivers speak English, unfortunately, but one of them, Nikos, speaks English very well and he was very helpful. Melissani cave is half a kilometer away from this hotel and it's a place worth visiting.

Room Tip: A sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerDanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this Hotel which is very nice, with exceptionally helpful staff, but not quite 5 star.
Good Points
Staff - Nothing is too much trouble, always polite, attentive, with a smile -
Breakfast - Plenty of choice, including a few freshly cooked options
Location - 15 minutes stroll into Sami along an unspoilt coastline on a flat path, very nice
Rooms - Clean and spacious - and nearly all have Balconies directly overlooking the pool and the sea beyond, with Ithaca in teh background. Kettle and tea/coffee.
Pool - Lovely area, with good seating and pool bar BUT spoilt on some days by influx of guests from hotel next door

Not so good points
As mentioned, guests from the Athina Beach Hotel next door are allowed to use the pool area. Whilst we were there, on a few days, the lovely peace and quiet of the the pool was ruined by teenagers shouting and screaming in the pool and racing up and down on lilos on one occasion, to the extent that guests of the Ionian Emerald were not comfortable to go in the pool. I have my own children, so recognise that this is not unusual, BUT it's not what you expect, or pay for, in a 5 star hotel. To the management's credit, the balls and lilos were subsequently banned.

Gym - 2 running machines, and a broken multi gym do not constitute a gym in a 5 star hotel.

So would I return - quite possibly - but only if the pool policy was changed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank richmar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful resort in a quaint area. The room was clean, with a beautiful view of the pool and mountains. Not quite the seaview that we paid for but the beaches arent the nicest here. You see a glimpse of the sea and more of the mountains in the distance. Walking distance to Melissani Cave, and about 20 mins from Myrtos Beach which is absoloutely beautiful with the most clear blue waters. Everyone is very nice and the breakfast served was delish. We went to the seafood restaurant that is in the main town of Sami which is about a 15 min walk from the resort called Restaurant Whetapia Grill (I think since it was in greek) which has the most delicious seafood you will ever try. Went there every night. Night time is quiet near the resort, not much to do as Sami isnt so big with tourists as Argostoli is. A good family resort. And very beautiful. Love the pool with all the cabanas. Would stay again if we come back to kephalonia

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JFord83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having paid a lot of money for a 5 star hotel holiday in July, I must say I was very disappointed, albeit the hotel was very clean and the staff excellent. The breakfast was average the hot food warm and exactly the same menus every day. The bedrooms were very clean but nothing to shout about, the pool area was very pleasant but not over large so when the residents from the next door 3 star hotel converge on the pool area it gets very busy. This should only be rated as a 3 star no more. When I wrote to the travel agents to complain they just hid behind there terms and conditions. I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world including the Tivoli in Villamora the Zoo Palace in Berlin and many more I do not mind paying for quality but was very disappointed with this hotel it's rating should really be looked at, the one thing that was 5star at this hotel was the drinks prices €1.50 for small bottle water €3.00 for small beer €8.00 for spirits. A lovely area will go back again but not to this hotel

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Athina Beach hotel next door booked through Cosmos Holidays. I would like to make it clear that the use of the Ionian Emerald facilities were NOT `free' as mentioned by previous reviewers. We did infact pay quite a lot for our holiday and the Cosmos brochure clearly states that the price of the holiday included the use of the pool at the sister hotel. This is the case in many hotels abroad. To say people came in their droves is an unbelievable over exaggeration as at many times we noticed how quiet the pool area was and how many beds were free throughout the day. If you don't like children playing in the pool I would recommend an adults only resort. We brought valuable and much needed custom to the hotel , buying food and drink on a daily basis - I'm hoping the hotel owners do not pay much attention to the negative comments below because withdrawing the use of the facilities would really hurt their business. It's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting and I would really recommend this hotel for 5 star rooms AND the Athina Beach next door, however the rooms are quite basic. Considering it is height of the season, the hotel appeared to be very quiet and the pool area very tranquil. Please don't be put off by previous comments. I would like to note that at our 5 star hotel last year, a daily ferry brought in hundreds of people, many of whom would come in and use the hotel's pool, beds, restaurant etc.. - what right minded business man would turn this away? If you want exclusive, rent a private villa!

Room Tip: All looked good with balconies and sea view. Probably request a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank dhrtdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We visited ionian emerald for our honeymoon, therefore we wanted it to be special. Treating ourselves to a FIVE star hotel. The hotel was lovely, food wonderful and all the staff were exceptional. We were however extremely disappointed to have to share the facilities with the neighbouring b&b. We were staying for bed and breakfast, but wanted it extra special so paid for a 5 * holiday. However guests from the b&b came in in there droves. At one point our towels were removed from our sunbeds-by non residents. If you have paid for a 5* holiday, sharing loveliness with people who have not paid the premiums we did is not acceptable. Had we have been aware of this sharing we would have gone elsewhere. It is simply not fair that a 3* b&b gets to use all the facilities for free when we paid to use them at a 5* price!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank ouyhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sami
294 reviews
0 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 6 in Sami
214 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
523 reviews
3.9 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
13.5 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionian Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Emerald Resort

Address: Karavomilos | Sami, Sami 280 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sami
Price Range: £115 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ionian Emerald Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ionian Emerald Hotel is a beautiful hotel in Karavomylos Sami in Kefalonia, offering a high standard of hospitality, in an environment where warmth and fine taste surround the guest from the moment they enter the hotel. This luxurious 5 star hotel in Kefalonia has panoramic views of the sea and the port of Sami. The exemplary service of Ionian Emerald Hotel & Resort will offer you moments, with exclusive amenities and facilities. The luxurious accommodation, with views over the Ionian Sea, the direct access to Agia Eythimia, lake Melissani, cave Drogkarati and other beautiful beaches, make it the ideal combination for magnificent holidays. Ionian Emerald Hotel & Resort is the ideal choice for a luxurious stay, whether you're on the island for business or pleasure. With its impeccable services and facilities, in this family-run hotel you will experience the ultimate relaxation and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ionian Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Emerald Hotel Sami
Ionian Emerald Resort Sami, Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing