We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for island exploration.”
Review of Pericles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sami
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pericles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location for island exploration.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

For the price you pay the Pericles is a 4 star hotel.
Clean, breakfast food acceptable, pool amenities fine, change of linen mid week. Friendly, helpful staff.
It is a great base for exploring the island.
Only criticism is the cost of soft drinks €2.25 for a coke out of a plastic litre bottle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    164
    75
    32
    9
See reviews for
75
279
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When you return to somewhere you've been before you get a feeling of comfort and safety in the knowledge of what to expect. We were not disappointed. Well, Richard Clayderman playing me through my breakfast was at times replaced by top Western themes. 'Fine', I thought. A bit of a sideways move but give them a break. I'd rather that than Radio 1!!
The cleanliness is still up to scratch with the whiff of washed and ironed linen hanging in the air. The owner bent the TV rules for the later World Cup matches but his heart clearly sank on nights where extra time was played!
As I mentioned in a previous review, as lovely as the people are and the reasonable price for the holiday, we go for the island. And on this occasion Ithaka as well!! With the car and four people for the day less than fifty quid.
For those of you who want porters to take your luggage to your rooms, you'll be disappointed. For those of you who want herding around by a rep, that's fine.
But if you want a clean, comfortable hotel with kind people running it as a base to explore one of the most beautiful places in Europe at a very reasonable price, then this is for you!!
If you want to go to Tavernas like the Dolphin and Mermaid, all is good with that. Alternatively the Gyros shop at the end of the row of eateries is delicious and very cheap.
I hope Thomas Cook don't abandon this hotel as alluded to by a previous reviewer. There are a lot of more elderly visitors who may not go back to their favourite place, and that would be a shame.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dixi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I see a lot of people moaning about this hotel but what do you expect for the price? You want 5 star then pay the price for it! This hotel is clean, in a lovely rural location just outside the town, friendly staff....what more do you want?? The only problem we found was the pool, if you weren't there by 9am you miss out on any chance of getting some decent shade or anything but a hard plastic bed! We took a walk every morning down to Karavomilos pool and snack bar, it's lovely!! I don't think we had one bad meal in the harbour, we tried pretty much every restaurant there (Dolphins definitely wasn't the best though)
The Pericles was lovely I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazlenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just got home form Greece and had a brilliant time there. Hotel is really clean, no TV in the room, but a TV in the lounge area. This gets turned off at 12 midnight, and they stop serving at the bar (Alcohol Drinks) at 00:30, so it means the hotel is also quiet. Not that we go on holiday to sit in a room watching TV anyway, so it was not a big deal for us.
Continental breakfast, but for €3 you can get a couple of fried eggs and some bacon, or Sausages. The Hotel has an AC system, this comes on at 5pm but goes off at midnight, you can leave the fan running, but after that the room tends to get very warm, so we just slept with the balcony doors open and that worked just as good. The hotel has WIFI, you have to ask for a code to join the wifi, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't, but this seems to be the norm, as it was the same in the Taverna's
Pool area is nice and clean, with lots of sun beds, we did not have any food there, so cant comment on that. The surrounding views are really nice, lots of mountains and greenery.
Hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the harbour, there are two ways you can go, out of the hotel and turn left and walk down the main street, or turn right and walk around the back of the hotel, either way, take a torch!!
Walking distance to Melissani Lake and Drogati Cave, which are worth a visit, The lake was €7 per person and the cave was €3 per person for entrance. At the cave, they have a pool side shop / cafe, so take a towel when you go.
Lots of places to eat down by the Harbour. We tried a couple of places, but our favorite one was Faros Tavern. Lots to choose from and all cooked on a Charcoal BBQ. Lamb Chops are beautiful, and the Kelftiko had to be the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandYv0nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here. Having read previous reviews, I knew what I was expecting. There was a lot of us booking in at the same time so we thought we would be forever, but they just gave us the key and hung onto one of our passports.. The rep on the coach said that would happen. We retrieved it the next day, no problem.
The room was CLEAN..I have been to Greece many times and I can honestly say , this was the cleanest place we'd stayed. No ants crawling around, inside or on the balcony.
The pool area was clean and plenty of sunbeds... yes, some had seen better days, as had some of the parasols, but the wind does get under them and whip them about..and it did get windy one day.
The breakfast was basic, as others had said, as was the food at the pool bar, but if you didn't want to leave the hotel, it served a purpose.
Stelios was great.. a great character... he runs the hotel like a tight ship.. but he obviously thinks of all of his guests and tries to keep it quiet at night, after midnight, which is only fair for those trying to sleep.
The WiFi was not the best, as often you couldn't get connected, but... we were in Greece.
It is an old fashioned Greek hotel, run to a great standard.
For those wanting an old fashioned, relaxing Greek getaway..Go. Would we go back? Definately.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuzzyduckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Sami was such a lovely resort with great restaurants and friendly people however unfortunately we couldn't say the same about Hotel Pericles. The hotel was very dated; like something from the 70s in its decor, handwritten 'rules' and general feel.
To begin with we were 'greeted' with a rather unwelcoming 'we need to see passports' and then I was told they had to keep mine for a while, which felt quite uncomfortable doing. There was no mention of would we like help carrying our bags up the stairs!!
Our room was very minimal but the bed was comfortable enough, shower worked but the air conditioning was on only from 5pm until 12am. This proved a problem as the nights got hotter! The breakfast consisted of white bread/toast, cornflakes, ham & cheese, orange juice and metallic flavoured tea. Guests obviously wanted more as we had to smuggle fruit in just to get something fresh into our bodies.
With air conditioning, and hairdryers on during the evening we also had the odd powercut! This would have been very dangerous if one had been in the shower as there was no natural light in the bathroom and a very slippy floor.
The pool area was very minimal with odd sun loungers and broken sun umbrellas but the lady at the pool bar was polite and served lovely greek salads etc. Unfortunately we found that there were sometimes ants in the room which had been attracted to shoes that had been outdoors which was unpleasant to find in the morning and difficult to deal with. The bathroom lights were bare bulbs and got extremely hot when on. Wifi was available but kept cutting out and this can only be reached in the bar area not in your room. Strict rules hand written and dotted around the hotel mean that the TV channel cannot be changed, there is a curfew of the lounge area and opening times for the pool area are non negotiable!!
Overall the hotel was not great but Kefalonia was a lovely place to visit: my tip would be to stay somewhere nearer the sandy beaches in the south of the island and then explore in the car, to secluded beaches and affordable yet amazing seafood restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked an industrial barn but was very quiet and not facing the sun all day which was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent a wonderful June week at the Pericles. The hotel is set in countryside on the road into Sami, with beautiful views to mountains and sea. Lots of wildlife and good walking in the area if you are into that sort of thing - which we are. Little owls hunted outside our balcony each night and we awoke to the sound of goat bells in the morning. Lots of storage space in good sized rooms.
The hotel is well run with friendly staff who keep the place spotless. The design of the building includes lots of small seating areas where people gathered to chat, enjoy the view and catch or avoid the sun. This encouraged people to mix and share stories - I've never talked to so many different people on holiday before. The pleasant bar was well used by guest on their way into town or on their way back before bed. Prices much the same as in Sami.
The pool is set slightly away from the building, surrounded by fields, with a nice pool bar. Plenty of space for lots of guests.
Sami is an attractive port set in a wide bay where the Mainland and Italian ferries arrive on the Island. Hence there is a good mix of tourists and locals - not just Brits. The taverners are excellent and good value. We went to the Dolfin, Mermaid, Faros plus a very attractive taverna at the other end of the bay next to the lake. All were fantastic.
If you are into a relaxed Greek holiday, this is the place for you. We will definitly be back.

Room Tip: All have good view, but upper facing sea is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyhawking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
0.8 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Green Bay Hotel
Green Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavomylos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
9.1 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
11.6 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pericles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pericles Hotel

Property: Pericles Hotel
Address: Samis - Agias Effimias, Sami 280 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Hotel Class:3 star — Pericles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Pericles Hotel Sami, Ionian Islands, Greece
Hotel Pericles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing