We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greece at its best”
Review of Pericles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sami
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pericles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Greece at its best”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for a week at the end of July, myself, husband, 21 year old daughter, 12 year old son and my mother. We had a lovely relaxing time, the hotel is in a lovely quiet position with a lovely big pool and lots of space for sunbathing - like others have said the umbrellas and sunbeds could do with replacing but they did us good for the week. Its a 15 minute stroll into Sami where there are lots of lovely tavernas at very reasonable prices. My son loved looking the yachts which kept coming in. Sami is a lovely place. This is our 3rd visit to Kefalonia and we have stayed in different parts each time - Kefalonia is a lovely island one of our favourites and we have been to many of the islands. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely quiet relaxing holiday, its very clean and in a superb position.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking car park and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    164
    75
    32
    9
See reviews for
75
279
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SKALA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is our 5th time to the Pericles and even though it is 2 years since our last visit we were welcomed back like family. A welcome bottle of wine greeted us when we arrived. The hotel and its surroundings is a peaceful oasis to fully relax in. So clean, well maintained. Nina is lovely on reception. and Stelios keeps everything running smoothly in his own quiet manner.We have already booked for next year something to look forward to very much.Welcomed back to our favourite taverna the DOLPHIN just like good friends.

Room Tip: rooms on the side facing the sea and harbour are our favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDALOVESTOTRAVEL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel Pericles is a very good place to be based for a holiday: quiet, exceptionally clean, rooms are good size, linen changed twice a week, hot water, balconies etc. Stelios, Nina, Michael and the two staff on the pool bar were always helpful and kind - they work their socks off, were always around if we needed anything and were very caring and friendly with our two boys. They even put up with my rubbish attempts at Greek but it improved a little as a result of a bit of friendly coaching!

Have nothing to add to other comments re breakfast: there was always plenty and if you want fruit, get some from the supermarkets in Sami and take it with you ( nectarines as they should be, not the hard bullets we get!). The only problem was when too many people were hovering round the toaster!!
Best restaurants in our opinion were the Mermaid in Sami (Effie very welcoming and helpful: recommend the Kefalonian meat pie, whitebait and lamb kleftiko), Spiros in Agia Efimia (delicious Soutzoukakia and beef ragout) and the cafe by entrance to castle of Agios Georgious (delicious baguettes and marinated fruit to die for -just right after hot walk around castle!)

We did all inclusive for first time last year - not for us. This much more like it and worked out cheaper! All in all Pericles is a very good place to be based.

Room Tip: We had 2 connecting rooms in the 'basement' - great for us as a family of 4 as had a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoniaStaffs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the heading you will se we have stayed at the Pericles before, once again it did not disappoint. Stayed early June very clean and tidy bedding and towels changed twice per week, staff very jolly and my mate Stellios and Anna good company and helpful as always
Ideal location for base to venture out from few nice beaches not overly busy, and various restaurants on the marina and along the front some very good some good great value and service.
Would recommend this without hesitation.

Roy Rita Jill and Bob Essex

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Basic hotel but clean and tidy rooms, breakfast is very basic, toast, jam, honey etc with cheese and ham, plus yoghurt but for the cost of the holiday, great value.
Lovely pool but not enough sun beds and the ones supplied are long past their best.
Hotel is approximately 15 mins walk away from the beautiful port and it's many restaurants
We had a lovely relaxing holiday at a fraction of the cat we would normally pay and would recommend this hotel and area to all

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I were here for a last minute break in July 2014. I was sceptical but that was unfounded. The room was basic but clean. We had room 211 which has a bath which I understand most of the others didn't - this allows the bathroom to remain relatively dry after a shower. Unfortunately, this room had a view of the car park! Nina on reception was very friendly. The pool was again very clean but very cold. The sunbeds are possibly the most uncomfortable ever and you need to take your own pool towels. There is a snack bar at the pool which sells drinks and relatively expensive snacks which were ok but better available in the town. We walked into the harbour every night and there is a large selection of restaurants to choose from. We favoured the mermaid and my favourite was dolphins. The fresh sardines were delicious.
I would recommend hiring a fridge but when we arrived, they were all taken so may be a good idea to try to pre-book one if that's possible? We also rented a safety deposit box which was a right pain in the back side. It was close to reception. Basically, reception had a 'master key' and each box had its own key so every time you wanted to use your box you had to get the key from reception. It would be much preferable to have a box in each room. There is free wifi but it was somewhat unreliable. Good 3G connection on my phone most places though.
The hotel was very quiet for the first five days of our holiday but that all changed after the school holidays began and many families arrived. The breakfast was dire which I understand is fairly standard for a Greek breakfast but when it became busy, it really wasn't worth queueing for! If you want any fruit with your toast - buy your own from the local super market.
On the whole, we didn't pay a fortune and we got what I was expecting for the price and the reviews on here were pretty accurate apart from the comments about the owner - he was polite to us every time we saw him. The air con is perhaps worth mentioning - it was on a timer from 5pm until midnight so if you were asleep before midnight, you would wake up sweating with the noise of the a/c unit churning around the now warm air.
Sami was a lovely area and very picturesque and we would happily come back to this resort and possibly this hotel too.

Room Tip: 211 had a bath which meant the room didn't flood after a shower. Rent a fridge if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimsandNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Terrific views. No entertainment apart from holiday rep's quiz night. Found breakfast very basic. Only downside for us was breakfast - offered bread (toast), cake (plain), cold boiled egg, ham & cheese slices, plain Greek yoghurt & honey. No variation for two weeks! No fruit. Anything cooked was extra cost. Music played during breakfast was a little depressing too! Pool area sun umbrellas need replacing, but pool area best part of hotel. Pool extremely clean as was rest of hotel.

Room Tip: Think all rooms are twin. Can push together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
0.8 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Green Bay Hotel
Green Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavomylos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
9.1 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
11.6 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pericles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pericles Hotel

Property: Pericles Hotel
Address: Samis - Agias Effimias, Sami 280 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Hotel Class:3 star — Pericles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Pericles Hotel Sami, Ionian Islands, Greece
Hotel Pericles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing