We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another first class holiday at Sami Beach”
Review of Sami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sami Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another first class holiday at Sami Beach”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been upgraded over the winter months, new bathrooms with walk in showers, new mattresses and soft furnishing throughout. We had a lovely fortnight there and, as always, had a great time. The friendliness of all the staff and the lengths they go to to ensure you have a great holiday is second to none. No wonder people return time and time again. Many of the guests have been going for over 20 years. This was our 6th time in Kefalonia. Great island and great people. A new bike rental shop has opened this year and we hired bikes for three days. They rental electric bikes as well as normal ones. They were great fun. Highly recommended hotel and resort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kidstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
132
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel sits right on the water, with a pool and bar where you can sit and look out over the bay.
The owners, 2 elderly Greek brothers, and all the staff made me feel so welcome. Their hospitality made my stay all the nicer.
Sami main town is only a short walk along the riverfront to for dinner, and there's lots of choices.
I met many of the other guests at the bar in the evening, they were all friendly and it was a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Many have been going here for many years.
A point to note, this is not a party resort, I'm in my mid-30's and I think I was the youngest guest!
I would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in May 2014, our latest trip of many. It's friendly, with a 'you are family!' air, sociable (we already knew, or got to know, many of the guests), and supportive (someone needed a doctor and Iannis drove him nearly an hour each way to an appointment). Nothing is too much trouble for the owner/managers. Many returnees, like us. Clean, comfortable, but don't expect the trappings of luxury. Nice pool, very clean. Superb location, Bay of Sami looking over Ithaca in front, green valley behind, beach (stony) in front, no public road hence no traffic, restaurants 200m and 1km away, walking along the beach track. Hotel does a reasonable breakfast. We know most of the shop and restaurant people in Sami now too. Good people, good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to this wonderful hotel. Maryann, Iannis and Pericles had remembered small details about us from our first visit four years ago - I don't know how they do it! The hotel is in a beautiful beach location , has excellent facilities and is spotlessly clean, but it is the warmth and friendliness of the hosts and staff which set it above the others. We can fully endorse all the positive comments of other reviewers and could give our own examples. However to encourage you to visit and enjoy this beautiful island, the resort of Sami and the Sami Beach Hotel, we would like to share tips from our experiences.
This was our fourth trip to Kefalonia and first not in the height of summer. It was quieter and not so hot, which we preferred, although another time we would probably choose the end rather than the beginning of May. The days were warm pleasant and relaxing but the water a little cold for swimming. The evenings are cooler but still fine for eating alfresco if you dress appropriately (long sleeves, long trousers / dresses, layers etc).
Having already experienced most of Kefalonia's attractions this was a holiday for rest and relaxation. Apart from revisting Fiskardo and Argostoli, we relaxed around the pool enjoying the friendly atmosphere and spectacular scenery, or at the beach. In our, view, the nearby Antisamos beach (location for Captain Correli) is the best on the island (unless you want to build sandcastles). Set in a beautiful sheltered bay,It now has landscaped gardens and two excellent (and reasonably priced) beach bars which provide free sunbeds.
After using Trip Advisor to research car hire we chose a Ford Fiesta, from Pefanis, which we picked up from the airport. The difference between the cost of return airport transfer and our seven days car hire was 16 euro! So its worth hiring even if you are not intending to tour the island.
The water front tavernas at Sami are very pleasant and reasonably priced and easy walking distance from the hotel. However it is well worth the short drive to Agia Effimia where the waterside restaurants offer far greater choice on the menu.
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the pool and the sea and the back ones the tennis courts and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank essexlady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you're looking for a friendly staffed, peaceful and child friendly hotel then this is the place! All staff were so friendly throughout our stay. Pool was v clean and bar was lovely. We have since recommended to a few friends

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank albear997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When my wife and I arrived in early Oct we were enthusiastically greeted by Yannis who took our bags and quickly offered us full glasses of ouzo while Marianne got our keys. And that was the beginning of our delightful stay at this lovely hotel. It was the friendly greetings in the morning at breakfast and the helpful suggestions and directions to restaurants, beaches and other sites on the island that make this place special. This was the end of the season so relatively quiet but others that we met seem to be regulars. The pool is very nice which is good since the water at the gravel beach is quite cool due to the underground current. But Sami's central location makes It a good spot from which to explore the rest of this beautiful island. There are several nice restaurants nearby and you can walk into town along the beach. We did have trouble finding it the first time so go west/north when coming from Argostoli then you can follow the signs (and turn right when you get go the beach). Our room had a lovely view of the pool and beach but we had to close our balcony doors at night due to the chatter at the pool bar. We highly recommend this hotel and its gracious owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank REOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had a lovely time here in September this year. The owners (family run) marianne and yannis couldn't do more to make you feel welcome, really love and friendly all the time. Most of the visitors here come back year after year which says it all really! Nice rooms, good breakfast, pool and pool side bar and its right next to the beach. Only a short walk along the sea front into Sami and a whole range of tavernas.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank chloe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
0.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
11.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
87 reviews
4.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
313 reviews
13.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Beach Hotel

Property: Sami Beach Hotel
Address: Argostoliou - Samis, Sami 280 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sami Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacuzzi, Library(wide selection of books), Ping pong, Tennis court, Children's playground, Safe and sufficient parking, TV Lounge(satellite television), Air-condition, Elevator, Sun-beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sami Beach Hotel Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing