We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mermaid

Mermaid
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Family Restaurant like the old happy times. Since 1989, the mother of the family, Mama Toula, is cooking every day many different traditional recipes to match any taste.The restaurant is on the sea front and all the guests are welcome to enjoy the greek hospitality and have an enjoyable dinner.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The service is really good and the staff very friendly and nice.
The food as well is delicious, with a great variety and good quality.
among the restaurants in Sami's promenad, we highly recommend this vs others, which are just average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valentotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    74
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Food In Sami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

A 1 week stay in Sami and 2 of our meals were here.
Can recommend Swordfish, Kefalonian Meat Pie, a good variety of the starters!!!
The staff are friendly, efficient, love kids.
The atmosphere is one of a busy, family life with homely food and great drinks.
Would highly recommend a visit if you find yourself in Sami.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolisticMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Been there twice during our four day stay in karavomilos (5-8 minute drive) from sami. The food was excellent both the fish dishes during our first visit and the meat dishes during our second.

I would highly recommend it if you find yourself in Sami!

Helpful?
Thank Stelios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greek home made food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Home made Greek food that only mama can make!! The best kalamari, grilled fish, yiouvetsi, kreatopita that we ever had!! At mermaid we felt that we really tasted the best of home Greek cuisine at great prices and we kept going back for more. (3 visits in 5 day). People at the restaurant were very friendly, nice location near the harbor, excellent food. All around a vacation experience that we will remember fondly. Fans from Cyprus!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed in over ten years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great view, very nice and warm people, a great variety of traditional well executed Greek cuisine. After over ten years in the island and many many dinners here we can say we have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank g_italy_543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mermaid also viewed

 
Sami, Cephalonia
 

Been to Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing