We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Faros Taverna

Faros Taverna
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The oldest and the best tavern in Sami since 1942 !!
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant, very warm welcome, friendly service and great food! I wanted to back but the other half insisted on trying them all whilst there!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazlenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This had to be the best place we had anything to eat at. The food is so tasty and plentiful. Lamb chops cooked on a Charcoal BBQ, the Kefelonain Meat pie is very tasty, and the value for money is amazing. We would have a starter and bread between the two of us, 1L wine, a small beer and two very satisfying meals and it would be around €32. Had to be the best place we went to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandYv0nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went here on the first night, and it was by this standard everything else was judged. By far the best we went to.. returned every other night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FuzzyduckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you visit Sami you must visit Faros”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We love this place. We stayed in Scale but always visit Sami for lunch. After nine years. The restaurant still gives us that taste of Greece. Love the pasticco..it's macaroni with a lasagne sauce and mince. Beautiful. Lots to choose from and nice views of the harbour. Will be back. Thanks Faros

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m1nt1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“only place to go”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The best place to eat in sami wide choice of Greek food always cooked right great value we have been going 10years now and made good friends with Stavros and his brother who is the chef you are made to feel welcome and the view of the harbour on the doorstep once you give it a go you'll love it

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Faros Taverna also viewed

Sami, Cephalonia
Sami, Cephalonia
 
Sami, Cephalonia
 

Been to Faros Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing