We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK nothing special”

Dolphins Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“OK nothing special”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our Rep recommended us to go here and it was ok but nothing to write home about.
The view looking out to the harbour is pretty spectacular but then all of the harbour front restaurants have this view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    66
    32
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The food in this place is fantastic, ate there every night for two weeks. Try the rolled pork or beef, amazing taste, or try their version of spaghetti carbonara, different but great. The staff are very friendly and run off their feet sometimes, and Dimitri the owner is a charming Greek and his wife a fabulous cook.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frigiliana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go next door”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went on a recommendation, I can only hope they were having a bad night and that its not always like what we had to endure.
We were seated and given the menus, we ordered drinks which came eventually even though the wrong wine turned up. From us putting our food order in we waited over 2 hours for it to arrive.
My lamb dish was like some sort of slop full of fat and bones served with what I can only assume was tinned ocra. Possibly one of the worst meals I have ever been served.
It seems that there are far too many covers for the kitchen to cope with, consequently the quality suffers. Shame really.
The Mermaid next door was fabulous....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Campodogdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not great as expected”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We headed here on our first night in Sami, following all the great reviews. This restaurant was very busy consistently throughout our week here, however we did not return. Whilst the food was good I would not rate it as well as some other restaurants in Sami, such as Mermaids and Contessina. I was promised greek roast potatoes and i got chips, I complained and was told there were no more roast potatoes which I accepted as this happens, however the table next to me were then served roast potatoes 5 minutes after.

The staff were friendly and informed us about a bouzouki on Saturday night which we planned to go to but when we arrived this was far from a bouzouki. We are a greek family and this was just a man with a guitar (and the music was not very pleasing to the ear either)

Overall yes a good meal but did not deliver what was expected or promised.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bexyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Califon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honestly the best”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was summer of 2013...in a fabulous location maybe the best restaurant i've ever tried..Excellent and fast service, an open to people kitchen in order to check the quality of food bacause ''we are what we eat''. We were left speachless from the quantity of the meal...it's really huge!!!GO GO GO..!Meet you there in summer of 2014..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphins Restaurant also viewed

Sami, Cephalonia
Sami, Cephalonia
 

Been to Dolphins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing