We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The views are worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sami Acropolis

Sami Acropolis
Ranked #6 of 21 things to do in Sami
Attraction details
Hull
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The views are worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We tried to find the path up to the Akropolis from Sami, as it apparently passes the cemetery and offers a quicker if more strenuous way up.

Instead, we took the Anti Samos road route up, and are glad we did as we say some great views and countryside along the way. Once you do get to the top — the road route is a good 5km so take plenty of water — you are rewarded with some spectacular views.

The archeological aspect is relatively minimal, with some explanation, but walk around the summit and you'll find some other remains. The views alone are worth the effort though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sqeaky_Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    50
    34
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ruins and great views over Sami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Didn't find this in the books but on our way to the Drogarati cave we saw a road mark with Ancient Akropolis of Sami. After our visit to the cave we drove up the mountain to the akropolis and were surprised by the beautiful remains of the old city walls. Also you can take a small walk over the mountain, which has great views over Sami and the sea. After visiting this site, don't forget to continue the paved road to the end. Over here you will find a church and more remains of an old castle. Really enjoyed this!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Marno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The drive up to the acropolis is not very well sign posted and involved navigating around numerous goats who were clearly not going to move for anyone! There is no parking as such, so we left the car off the track, under an olive tree. It was delightfully untouristy and felt as though we had stepped back in time.

The track is quite steep in places and very uneven, so best attempted in shoes rather then flip flops. The ruins are little more than various piles of stones, but still interesting to see and imagine what life was like here. The highlight was obviously the beautiful view down towards Sami and along the coast.

There are no facilities up there, so take plenty of water and sunscreen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybellydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

do take an hour or so to visit here the views are worth the climb
then take a wander down to the old church well worth your time
ideal to take photos of sami and it looks right out across the bay,
i do believe part of the film was shot at the old church

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A holy place, who speaks to imagination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

It is the very imposing ruin of what once was an acropolis. The wall's have resemblances with the Ica walls. The surrounding is magnificent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank august012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sami Acropolis also viewed

 
Assos, Cephalonia
 

Been to Sami Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing