We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for a large group/family”
other travellers have booked this property
The Walnut Tree villa and pool - view from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Walnut Tree villa and pool - view from the garden
The Walnut Tree villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Walnut Tree villa and pool - view from the garden
The Walnut Tree villa
Long view of The Walnut Tree from the villa's private track
Pool terrace in early summer.
Pool terrace at The Walnut Tree villa
Downstairs living area
Downstairs sitting area
Downstairs twin bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom
Upstairs open plan living area
Upstairs kitchen area in open plan living room
First floor full bathroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Twin bedroom - first floor
Extra beds on first floor at The Walnut Tree villa
BBQ area
The Boule Court
Dining on the pool terrace
Assos village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Sami, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
juliebrau
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for a large group/family”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Thank you so much for this beautiful stay in Kefalonia!

We were a large group of 12, but the Walnut Tree House managed to accommodate us perfectly. I have never rented a house that well equipped! There is nothing missing: pots and pans to cook and feed 12 hungry mouths! The bbq area works great as well, and thanks to the beautiful seating area we spent cosy nights outside (mosquitos though, you want to bring some repellent).

The garden and the pool are simply beautiful and so peaceful. We even had some homegrown fruit and vegetables!

Celia was very helpful, communication was easy as no question remained unanswered. On site, Spyros was friendly, approachable and always happy to help.

I can only recommend the Walnut Tree House for a stay in Kefalonia, especially for a larger group of friends or family as there is enough room for everyone to do their own thing during the day, but equally it is possible to sit everyone around one table for dinner!

Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the house was perfect
Liked least: there is not much in walking distance to the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you from the team at The Walnut Tree - for choosing the villa for your holiday and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thear0x
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Greece at its best!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We have made regular visits to The Walnut Tree over the past few years, the most recent being September 2015, and can think of nowhere we would rather be for a wonderful autumn holiday when it's neither too hot nor too busy. The accommodation is all you could wish for, bright and comfortable throughout and the kitchen has every conceivable item of relevant paraphernalia! The pool and surrounding gardens are a delight, the barbecue, the boule court, the olive grove all add their own particular 'je ne sais quoi' to the picture book setting amidst the hills and pointy cypress trees. This is Greece at its best . . . the gentle aroma of indigenous herbs, a donkey braying, a cockerel crowing in the distance and that unmistakable sound of bells on the local goats, sheep and even the odd cow nearby!

We hope to make our next visit in the spring when the amazing (we hear) array of spring flowers and birds are in abundance. The sea might not be quite so warm but it should still be considerably warmer than we're used to elsewhere in the Med. I can't believe it's ever required, but there is a very inviting-looking log fire for those who might worry about cooler evenings, or indeed for those who want to be there when it's positively cold in the evenings!!

The Walnut Tree is a great place for young and old, though you will need transport if you fancy exploring the delights the island has to offer - and there are plenty of them, but that's another story!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Thank you for this review - it is lovely to hear that The Walnut Tree is so appreciated by our guests. Particularly good to hear that you love the autumn months there. Springtime must definitely be the next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a holiday”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We spent an amazing week at the Walnut Tree. The house itself is lovely - very clean and comfortable and extremely well equipped. There is lots of space so great dor a large family who dont want to get on top of each other. We played lots of ping pong, boules, swam loads, relaxed in the garden and in the sunshine. The local area is also lovely. The beaches are wonderful with warm clear water and the local food was great. We would recommend staying at the Walnut Tree without hesitation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
What a nice review! Good for the villa AND for the surrounding area of Kefalonia. Thank you - and please return to this island and The Walnut Tree soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superbly appointed property in a secluded and idyllic position”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We have been visiting Kefalonia for over 10 years but only discovered Walnut Tree three years ago, since when we have stayed there four times.

To us Walnut Tree is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. The house and grounds are superbly appointed and extremely comfortable. The owners have an eye for detail and everything you could wish for, not only in the house but also in the pool area and garden, is provided.

There are delightful areas in which to sit and relax on either hot or cooler days. The garden is a riot of colour and there is plenty to do when we are feeling more energetic including the swimming pool, boule court and table tennis.

Sami which is an easy walk, or a five minute drive away, has excellent shops, good value restaurants and friendly owners. There are superb beaches at Anti Samos and Myrtos, if we want to enjoy their beach tavernas, or local beaches which we often have to ourselves.

Some of our most memorable holidays have been at Walnut Tree and we hope other people will enjoy it as much as we do. We are sure to return again this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and having everything you need for a relaxing holiday provided.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our holiday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you for a lovely review - we would love you to visit The Walnut Tree again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing