We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic country house with gorgeous views”
other travellers have booked this property
The Walnut Tree villa and pool - view from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Walnut Tree villa and pool - view from the garden
The Walnut Tree villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Walnut Tree villa and pool - view from the garden
The Walnut Tree villa
Long view of The Walnut Tree from the villa's private track
Pool terrace in early summer.
Pool terrace at The Walnut Tree villa
Downstairs living area
Downstairs sitting area
Downstairs twin bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom
Upstairs open plan living area
Upstairs kitchen area in open plan living room
First floor full bathroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Twin bedroom - first floor
Extra beds on first floor at The Walnut Tree villa
BBQ area
The Boule Court
Dining on the pool terrace
Assos village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Sami, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LucyCuba
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic country house with gorgeous views”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We absolutely loved our week in the Walnut Tree. Unusually, everything - the island, the house, the beautiful surroundings, the crystal clear sea - exceeded our expectations! The house is well equipped and comfortable and genuinely feels like a family home rather than a holiday rental. Everything had been well thought out, worked well and was spotlessly clean so we had to force ourselves out every morning to explore Kefalonia. Sitting on the terrace at dusk watching bats and owls swoop down to drink from the pool was magical. I hope we'll be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Oh Lucy! What a great review. It certainly feels like you absolutely 'got' The Walnut Tree. So very glad you liked it ....and thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Villa in Perfect Location”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

For a large family group (in our case 2 Grandparents, 4 Parents and 5 Grandchildren) this Villa, combined with the location just outside Sami, was perfect. The Walnut Tree is located in a quiet area of countryside a 5 minute drive from Sami which is a small coastal town with harbour and a good selection of shops restaurants and bars.

The Walnut Tree is extremely well equipped and as the villa has two self contained apartments it allows a degree of space/separation for the large groups of friends or family who might be hiring this property.

The swimming pool and garden are a delight and the various games on offer provide endless entertainment for all the family.

The villa, pool and gardens are kept in very good condition being cleaned, maintained and serviced twice per week.

There is a good selection of attractions and activities available within close proximity to Sami. These include caves, lakes, horse riding, pony trekking and the beach at Addisamis Bay which has all the facilities needed, including water sports, in fact this beach was in our opinion the best we found. The famous Mirtos Beach was disappointing on our visit, there being building work taking place and no food, drink or umbrellas were available. At nearby Agia Effimia boats can be hired and a great day was had visiting isolated coves and swimming off the boats and picnicking on the beaches.

Fiskado and Assos are both places worth a visit being very picturesque coastal villages. Fiskado busy with yachts and large motor cruisers and enough shops and restaurants to cater for all. Assos a much smaller and quieter village but pretty and ideal for lunch and a stroll.

With The Walnut Tree as our base for our 2 weeks in Kefalonia this holiday was perfect. Many thanks to the owners who were helpful throughout with their advice and information. Can't wait to return!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Walnut Tree very soon.
We were interested in your comments about Myrtos Beach. Although as you may know there have been some issues with access and the construction of the road/bridge above (such a magnificent achievement), this beach is such a holiday 'draw', the island government really needs to get this sorted.
Thank you for all your thoughtful comments and best wishes from both of us. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennywren...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Blissful scenery”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Walnut Tree and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a slice of heaven. We started our days off with delicious breakfasts outside on the terrace as we gazed at the mountains around, watched the playful birds and the butterflies, enjoyed the local bread, honey, eggs and fruit from the garden's citrus trees and luxuriated in the wonder of it all. The beds are most comfortable and the kitchen is very well equipped. The lovely port of Sami is just five minutes drive away but we found biking down there through the scents of the wild flowers and herbs a delightful experience. The fabulous views in the film Captain Corelli's Mandolin are quite close at hand and are every bit as enchanting as the movie! There's something for everyone here, suits all ages, plenty to do but also very peaceful for those that just want to chill out and sit by the pool, located as it is in the beautiful garden setting with fabulous views all around and with its own luscious olive grove.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Fabulous review - we do appreciate our guests giving such positive feedback. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom71...
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Such a beautiful villa with an abundance of space for a large group. It is very well appointed with all modern equipment set in a most splendid location, looking up to the hills . The pool is generous surrounded by an enchanting garden with plenty of sun loungers for relaxing and ping pong and boule for the more energetic.

The beaches near by are just lovely as is the town of Sami, a must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
What a great review! Thank you so much - come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B
1 review
“Paradise on earth!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely well equiped house in a beautiful surrouding.
We stayed here with nine people and there was space enough for us all.
Flowers, wine, bread and fruit made us feel very welcome.
The nice and clean swimming poule was great.
There were bikes and a table tennis which was great fun.
If you want a special holiday: go to the Walnut Tree!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Music to our ears! We love to hear that our guests have had a good time at The Walnut Tree. Big thanks to the Bettink family - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebrau
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for a large group/family”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Thank you so much for this beautiful stay in Kefalonia!

We were a large group of 12, but the Walnut Tree House managed to accommodate us perfectly. I have never rented a house that well equipped! There is nothing missing: pots and pans to cook and feed 12 hungry mouths! The bbq area works great as well, and thanks to the beautiful seating area we spent cosy nights outside (mosquitos though, you want to bring some repellent).

The garden and the pool are simply beautiful and so peaceful. We even had some homegrown fruit and vegetables!

Celia was very helpful, communication was easy as no question remained unanswered. On site, Spyros was friendly, approachable and always happy to help.

I can only recommend the Walnut Tree House for a stay in Kefalonia, especially for a larger group of friends or family as there is enough room for everyone to do their own thing during the day, but equally it is possible to sit everyone around one table for dinner!

Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the house was perfect
Liked least: there is not much in walking distance to the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you from the team at The Walnut Tree - for choosing the villa for your holiday and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thear0x
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Greece at its best!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We have made regular visits to The Walnut Tree over the past few years, the most recent being September 2015, and can think of nowhere we would rather be for a wonderful autumn holiday when it's neither too hot nor too busy. The accommodation is all you could wish for, bright and comfortable throughout and the kitchen has every conceivable item of relevant paraphernalia! The pool and surrounding gardens are a delight, the barbecue, the boule court, the olive grove all add their own particular 'je ne sais quoi' to the picture book setting amidst the hills and pointy cypress trees. This is Greece at its best . . . the gentle aroma of indigenous herbs, a donkey braying, a cockerel crowing in the distance and that unmistakable sound of bells on the local goats, sheep and even the odd cow nearby!

We hope to make our next visit in the spring when the amazing (we hear) array of spring flowers and birds are in abundance. The sea might not be quite so warm but it should still be considerably warmer than we're used to elsewhere in the Med. I can't believe it's ever required, but there is a very inviting-looking log fire for those who might worry about cooler evenings, or indeed for those who want to be there when it's positively cold in the evenings!!

The Walnut Tree is a great place for young and old, though you will need transport if you fancy exploring the delights the island has to offer - and there are plenty of them, but that's another story!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Thank you for this review - it is lovely to hear that The Walnut Tree is so appreciated by our guests. Particularly good to hear that you love the autumn months there. Springtime must definitely be the next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing