We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and Unwind”
Review of Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Sunrise. It was our first time and we had a fabulous time. We both needed a total chill out and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in a studio which had a sea and pool view - the room was basic but spotless and was exactly what we needed. We got what it said on the tin - all the reviews on Tripadvisor were pretty much spot on. We were there when the stag party was there and i can honestly say they didnt bother us at all or spoil our holiday - they were a bit boistrous for the first day but calmed down over the following days - i think as the alcohol kicked in - by the final day they appeared simply hungover and tired out! The village was lovely, a short stroll to bars and restaurants - on the whole we had great food, some restaurants were better than others but the general standard was very good. The worst meal was at Orion - the food was fine but the service was terrible. The best was at Emanuel in the village square - the greek specialty dishes were lovely and the service was great. We did a trip to Spinalonga with the tour place in the village - it was expensive but worth it - we had a lovely day. Some people didnt like Hersonisos at night, but we went down for a meal one night and really enjoyed it - i think it is more lively the nearer the harbour you go, so we didnt go so far along - there was lots of choice and some great deals on food and drinks. The taxi back up the famous hill was 6 euro. All in all we had a fabulous holiday - we usually go more up market to catered hotels or cruises - we wanted a completely relaxing holiday where we didnt even have to dress for dinner if we didnt want to and that is exactly what we got at Sunrise. Yiannis and Aris were very helpful and organised. The food and drinks at Sunrise were good. The location was fantastic - close enough to things if you wanted it and far enough away if you wanted peace and quiet. The only problem we had was the dreaded Mossies but after the first two nights of bites we got a fan and closed the windows and doors at night, we applied deterent each evening and stopped getting bitten. We would definitely go back but tend to try new places - we would definitely recommend this place to couples who want to get away from it all.

Room Tip: we liked pool view but other guests said the other rooms were very good so i dont think you can go f...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princessfefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

have just returned from a two week stay at these apartments. it was our first visit to Crete and it wont be the last. These apartments are spotless, the staff never stop, they are always busy cleaning, tending the gardens which are beautifully laid out. The barbecue night is a really good night and the food is delicious. Thank you for helping to make our holiday a memorable one and hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ersinMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

What a lovely holiday place. So clean, bins and apartments cleaned every day except Sunday (girls have to have a day off). I don't know why the other person was complaining about 40 year olds having a stag do!! People go on holiday to enjoy their selves and the hospitality from Sunrise is second to none. They were only there a couple of days anyway and not cockney's. Oh! you scousers you sound so perfect and don't know your regions. Glad you are not from Southport? I will definitely be back to the most beautiful holiday place I know. Grandchildren going with us next year, I know we will be looked after. I hope my children get the 'bug' for Sunrise. This family will bend over backwards for anyone. In my opinion this is a 5 star place in a 5 star location. Need to go back soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kouniatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Arrived home yesterday after a fantastic 2 week stay at the sunrise, which was our 2nd visit after last year. Aris and Yiannis and the rest of the Sunrise family could not do enough for us, and we will definitely be visiting again next year. Big thanks to Yianni the handyman for rescuing my earplug from the pool filtration system!. The poolside meals were top drawer especially the omelettes and young Niamh was a big help and did a great job. The meals in the town were awesome, and I had lamb every night which was beautiful.....ten out of ten again.... Roll on 2014 :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreteCheesepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Four of us (2 couples) stayed here from 11-18 june 2013. It is a lovely place and the staff are very nice. Aris and Yiannis especially and the young woman who serves at the bar.(Sorry, I've forgotten her name.) We had a studio and it was quite adequate for our needs. Air con was five euros a day which is very reasonable in Greece and it was needed! The complex is well maintained and the gardener does a fine job. The pool was cleaned on a regular basis and there is a nice bar area with the drinks being reasonably priced. A large beer 3 euros. There is a small shop opposite the sunrise selling the essentials like beer and ouzo and also food if you feel you need it! Also a bakery selling bread and cakes (surprising as it may sound) is next door to the shop. All in all a very nice place to stay. Now the fly in the ointment and probably only a "one off". Someone took a booking for a stag party and about 15/20 men arrived whilst we were there. The minute they arrived they were a bit of a pest to say the least loud mouthed, shouting to each other from about a foot away. They were cockney geezers I think and they didn't care who knew it. Now I know scousers can be loud(I am one) but these guys could knock us into a cocked hat!! Or a cockney hat! Ha!Ha! see what I did there? Please yourselves.Anyway they were a bloody nuisance and a lot of the regular clients said that they might rethink about booking here again. I hope the sunrise sort themselves because they have a lovely place.Anyway I would come back here again if we come to Crete again. Koutouloufari is a lovely place. Plenty of restaurants and bars no louts just a good atmosphere. If you go into Hersonissos, the walk down is very nice and takes ten minutes. If you walk back up the hill it takes ten hours!! Slash out, get a taxi back. If you are young and fit, then don't be so lazy and walk! People say hersonissos is a bit tacky but it's a seaside town for goodness sake. What were people expecting, the leaning tower of Pisa,Sydney opera house or herds of vilderbeest? Go and enjoy yourselves. The geezeers have all gone home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayemcee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Fab location . As one previous reviewer stated the cleaning was appalling. Came on Friday and not had toilet paper bin emptied until Monday. They only left toilet roll once a week when changed beds. I had to buy four rolls during my stay. Think when they changed beds and toweld that this must also have been the only time they swept and mopped the place.

They personalised the stay by remembering people's names and I think this must the reason for the year on year returners as they make the effort to make friends with you.

I also was not impressed by the stag party. They remained in the same part of the bar for five days and made the other guests feel very intimidated. Therefore I won't be following suit with the people that re book year on year.
Stayed bed and breakfast and was very impressed with what we got as it was not expected.
Won't be returning to sunrise but probably to Crete. Lovely island worth exploring more .

Regarding trips etc. worth getting to spinalonga on the local buses. We saved loads and saw other places we wouldn't have on the trip. We got the bus from hersonisos to agios nik. Then to plaka. Then got small boat from harbour by taverna spinalonga for 8 euros. Although the return journey was a free for all! Also went to hersonisos harbour to get on the boat to sissi for 20 euro - a lovely day out.
Definitely loved Crete and its laid back attitude I fell right into holiday mode.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajjonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

What a jewel of a place lovely location run by wonderful people the rooms are spacious well serviced self catering apartments set in a wonderful village location a short walk to the local taverners and restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Garymartin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Apartments

Address: 6, Georgiou Seferi Street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: £21 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Sunrise Apartments Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing