We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we were still there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wish we were still there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have recently come home from our first visit to the Sunrise Apartments.

Although the reviews on here were brilliant I was a little bit nervous about our holiday in view of the number of repeat holidaymakers to the apartments as I was concerned that people could be a bit “clicky”. I was also a little worried about taking our two children aged 12 and 8 as it seemed that most of the previous reviewers did not take children with them.

However, I have to say that my concerns were quashed in about 10 seconds flat!

Yes there are a great number of repeat holidaymakers at these apartments but that is testament to the excellent holiday that each and every person has and wants to repeat. There is certainly no clickiness whatsoever and we were welcomed not only by Yiannis, Aris and the whole Sunrise family but also by other holidaymakers, both regulars and newcomers like ourselves.

We arrived quite late at night after our flight had been delayed slightly. We received a warm welcome from Yiannis who provided us with a (much) welcome drink and then saw us to our apartment. He asked all four of us our names once at this initial meeting and remembered our names for the whole of our stay. Considering the number of people that come and go from the apartments throughout the season this is no mean feat but it meant a lot to us.

Nothing was too much trouble for either Yiannis or Aris. They were a font of local knowledge and were happy to provide us with recommendations of less touristy beaches or ordering taxis for us. We had a problem with our kettle blowing our electrics one morning but as soon as we reported this to Yiannis the problem was resolved within a matter of minutes. It is very clear that the enjoyment of your holiday is the primary concern of the Sunrise family and they will do anything to ensure that you enjoy your time with them.

On our first day our children were the only kids in the pool but within 2 days a lot more children arrived with their families. I have never known a large group of children with ages ranging from 2-14 to get on and play together so well. There was a brilliant atmosphere around the pool every day with diving tuition and our home made inflatable assault courses taking over the pool some afternoons! It made me feel better that some families without kids also joined in our fun. We met some lovely people here and made some really good friends.

Our first impression of our apartment was brilliant. Although by some standards the apartment may seem basic, for Greek accommodation it was far from it. The apartment had two single beds and a table and four chairs in the living area. The kitchenette had a kettle, sink, washing up bowl, a 2 ring hob, fridge freezer and plenty of cupboard space. There were a brilliant selection of cooking utensils, cutlery and crockery.

In the separate bedroom was a double bed, dressing table and wardrobe / cupboard.

We used the air conditioning which kept us more than comfortable at night and even had us grabbing the blankets at some points!

The bathroom was quite spacious with a sink, toilet and shower. Quite helpfully the bathroom had a separate drain in the floor turning the room into a wet room which was good when the shower curtain failed! There was also a mop and bowls stored in the bathroom which were useful for if the bathroom floor got a bit too wet or for many mishaps.

Most importantly the apartment was spotless and was kept so by the cleaners who came in every day except for a Sunday when they had a well deserved day off.

The pool and garden areas were kept spotless by the Gardener who was always cheerful even when he was still working late in the evening.

Although the pool is smaller, for the size of these apartments it is more than big enough and is very clean and is topped up most evenings. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and even if you cannot get one first thing in the morning there are always some coming free throughout the day.

Although we had drinks at the bar most evenings, we hardly used the snack bar but we did not feel that we were treated any differently for not doing so! Instead we prepared our own lunch back at our apartment each day. The Supermarket and the Bakers immediately over the road from the apartments are brilliant. The extra large croissants and rolls that we bought every morning from the bakery are amazing and the prices were a lot lower than the larger supermarkets in the resort.

The village of Koutouloufari is absolutely beautiful and is a typical Greek village with small winding single track roads. There are a load of amazing Restaurants and they are all really keen for your custom. Having said that they are not at all pushy! We did not have one single meal where we were not given anything free of charge, whether it be fruit, desert, starters or alcohol.

There are also an abundance of shops selling beautiful hand crafted gifts, jewellery and local produce, again at very reasonable prices.

If you are looking for a resort that has plenty of English pubs and food and has shops selling the usual tourist tat then this is not the place for you but this is the reason that I love it so much!

We really did not want to come home from our lovely holiday and will certainly be back again next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    32
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
160
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at sunrise for a week with my husband. It was the first holiday we'd had without our children & we weren't quite sure what to expect. The apartments are lovely, quite large for Greece with every facility you might need for your stay. They are spotlessly clean, cleaned everyday except Sundays & clean towels daily. We chose to pay for the air conditioning at 35 euroes a week & it did make the difference of being able to sleep at night. We also paid 10 euroes for the safe. The view from our balcony was amazing, watching the sunrise over the sea was breath taking. The brothers who run the place work so hard & remember everyone's name & make you feel welcome. I don't understand a previous review saying if you don't spend all your time in the bar you will be shunned by other holiday makers. Everyone speaks & talks to one another. This is a relaxing place not a drunks holiday. I am a light sleeper yet heard not one bit of noise on an evening. The village of koutouloufari is 3 minutes walk away & we found the alchemist to be the best restraunt there. The neighbouring village of piskopiano has the wonderful David vegera which is amazing, but get there early or you won't get in. The village of old hersonissos is defiantly worth the walk, with its traditional square with little tavernas. All in all a fantastic holiday. I'm definatly going back to sunrise again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Sorry it's been a long time writing this. We where there in June this year, and also June last year, on both occasions for two weeks. We are also going back in October this year, but only for 1 week. We where intruduced to Sunrise last year by my cousin and his wife, and where told to make our own minds about the place. I can honestly say Sunrise is the best place we have ever been, and we have travelled. The family are fanastic, every one that works there are fanastic. I have never been to such a pretty place. If you want you can take a 20 minute walk down hill to the front where there are loverly beaches, and also a loverly walk a long the front to the harbour. There you wil find plenty of restaurants. But up in the village is something else, you will not see so many restaurants and loverly one's as that in such a small village. And right along to the other villages. We went back this year and we did'nt feel as though we had been away, there where people there from last year, and it was great to see them. All I can say is what my cousin and his wife said, you have to go there. Can't wait for October to come.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable, and the balconies are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

just returned from the sunrise weve always wanted to visit crete and chose the sunrise due to the good reviews on tripadviser after holidaying in greece for 16 years we cant say how dissapointed we were the accomadation is very basic at best the pool is small and if you decide not to spend all your time in and around the pool bar you get cold shouldered from staff and guests and how this property is rated as no 1 in koutouloufari is beond me as there are better properties in resort iknow this property has many repeat guests we wont be one we will return to koutouloufari but book in to a better property that allows guest freedom to explore bars and restaurants with out being frowned upon because if you dont explore youll never find the mythos bar and the alchemist restauant which made this holiday worthwhile

Room Tip: chose ahigh floor although you may have to be a regular guest to get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I am sorry about the delay in writing this review but I did just want to let people know how special this place is. We visited in June for the second time in 2 years - this is the first time we have revisited anywhere in Greece. The family who run these apartments are amazing people with hearts of gold and the ability to make everyone feel welcome. Thoroughly recommend the BBQ night to guests as it was a lovely evening - great food, entertainment and hosts! We would recommend this place to anyone looking for excellent, clean accommodation located in a very picturesque village.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie_derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

when I got there I got the keys to the room and went to freshen up, great place, I am so glad I could be here, nice and fresh, the service was very old, the price per night is very low I was pleasantly surprised, everything ok

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

just back from sunrise after our fourth visit and it is still as good as the first time .so great to be looked after by all the family ,they as so kind and welcoming and make your stay a pleasure ,great to meet old and new friends cant wait to go back next year love everything about it,The village is so lovely tradition greek great choice of resturants ,I highly recommend a visit to this wonderful place .

Room Tip: we have been in several rooms and they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Apartments

Property: Sunrise Apartments
Address: 6, Georgiou Seferi Street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Sunrise Apartments Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing