We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back from a 2nd visit”
Review of Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Back from a 2nd visit”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Me and a girlfriend discovered Sunrise last year when our hubby's went of to Las Vegas for a lads trip. We had an amazingly fantastic time in these lovely apartments so, when I needed a chill out week, asked said friend to join me. I have travelled a lot as it's a big wide world out there but the service and experience of this place was the only place I wanted to return to. We were not let down. We asked for a sea view and got room 103 so we overlooked the pool and got beautiful views of the sea. We shopped for lunch at the bakery and supermarket and ate out at the many fabulous restaurants in Koutoulafari, Piskapiano and Old Hersonissos for Monday Greek night. Not a bad meal to be had but loved The Alchemist and Davids', Mojito's at Vinnie's Garden and carafes of wine and people watching at Mythos served by the lovely Joanna. The rooms at a Sunrise are great as is the staff and their Sunday night BBQ is a great get together to meet other people. We had a wonderful week and still so many restaurants unexplored so maybe a 3rd visit is required;-) Jackie

Room Tip: Sea views 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    34
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
109
171
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

recently returned from Sunrise after staying for 11 nights, this was our visit and had read the excellent reviews, I have agree with everyone else, the apartments are well kept and in a lovely tranquil setting, the villages of Koutouloufari Piskopiano and Hersonnosis old village are really pretty with lots of bars and Restaurants and little shops & supermarkets, we had some lovely meals at Emmanuel Tavern, staff were friendly & welcoming.
Our 1 bedroom apartment was on the front of the complex with a lovely sea view, had a lounge/kitchen & a bedroom upstairs, it was cleaned every day and gardener/maintenance man worked so hard looking after the grounds.
The pool area was very nice and we always found sunbeds spare whatever time of day, bar staff/owners were really friendly .
Walked to Hersonissos twice which is a big bustling resort on a main road takes around 20 mins, it is quite a steep walk back ! Hired a scooter for a couple of days to visit some lovely beaches,
Would recommend Sunrise for a relaxing tranquil holiday.

Room Tip: liked the rooms at the front, handy for the Sunset supermarket probably higher floors would have goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank millie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from our third visit to Sunrise, and we had an absolutely brilliant time. Words can't just describe how hard Aris and Yiannis and all the other staff worked to make our stay such an enjoyable one. Book early to avoid disappointment as the word is getting round about how wonderful it is to stay here, I just can't recommend it highly enough!

"Ding" :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CreteCheesepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our second visit to the Sunrise and it was even better than the first time.

The family who run these apartments are genuinely friendly and are always on hand if you have any issues or want some advice on the local area.

They also listen to feedback as we had seen previous comments that the cleaners should visit every day and this has been taken on board as they cleaned every day except Sunday during our stay with sheets and towels changed during the week.

We have never repeated any holiday (and wondered why so many return here year after year) but this place is so good we will for sure return next year as the whole experience is so relaxed and everything you need is on hand for a very reasonable price.

The bar serves good value breakfasts, snacks and reasonably priced drinks. They also have free WiFi, a book exchange and several TV's showing the World Cup games when we visited.

The entire complex is spotlessly clean and well maintained with the gardener/maintenance man constantly on the go keeping everything in tip top order.

The village is only a 5 minute walk with enough good quality bars and restaurants to keep you going for weeks even if you visited a different one every evening.

Looking forward to next years visit already.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank TandSLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we stayed at these apartments for the first time for 2 weeks from 12th june to 28th june 2014. we had never been there before, and found it absolutely wonderful!! ari met us at the door, carried our suitcases to our "house" we had booked a 1 bedroom apartment, bed and breakfast. yannis met us the following morning and introduced both sam, the girl who works there and yanni, who does everything from the pool to the gardens to the maintenance. the sunrise is at the bottom of the mountains, approx 40 mins walk away from the main star beach (which is pools, waterslides, lazy long swim circles all free!!), 15 mins away from old and new hersonnisos, and 20 mins away from the "strip" and the harbour where you can book your sea excursions, we walked down and got a taxi back up the hill. we were in 51 right at the front, next to the supermarket and the bakery, the supermarket opens at 7am until 12 midnight, the bakery from 8am to 8pm - go early, there are queues outside waiting for her to open the shop!
lager at the sunrise is 3euro a pint, breakfast is just enough; full english, juice, coffee & toast - they also do several other breakfast choices such as omelettes and bacon and egg baps and pizza's, burgers etc
we walked or took a trip every other day and sat by the pool every other day - plenty of sunbeds so dont worry. had bbq twice on both sundays, lots of food and good greek dancing. went on happy train into krisi - went on cruise to spinalonga, went on cruise to sissi - all very good value, and very well planned. bbq at spinalonga very very good. the staff are very friendly, rooms cleaned 6 days per week, towels and sheets changed 6 days per week. all the team are wonderful, even to first timers like us, and always ready to tell you where to go and what to do in northern crete. i would definately return to these apartments again 150%

Room Tip: they offer studio apartments and 1 bed apartments - just take either you will be very happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our sixth stay at the Sunrise, beautiful place, lovely pool area. Comfortable rooms most with a sea view. Great place for a relaxing holiday. Aris and Yiannis are very helpful and welcoming as are all the staff. There is another addition to the bar this year 'Sam' is a lovely girl and a good laugh.
The village has some lovely restaurants our favourates being Mezes (Alex and Christine are great hosts and great food ), Pithari and Sergiani, and some nice cosy bars at night, no loud bars or lager louts/gangs in Koutoulafari ! Just peace and quiet. Lovely apartments in a beautiful village.
See you next year !

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Samchris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our 4th time back to this fantastic place, first time at sunrise but im sure it wont be our last. Thanks to all the staff who do a fantastic job, and work so hard to make everyone feel welcome. 10 out of 10 sunrise. YAMMAS !!

Room Tip: High Floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Apartments

Property: Sunrise Apartments
Address: 6, Georgiou Seferi Street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Sunrise Apartments Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing