We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prima”

Eye Travel - Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.24*
and up
Wine Tasting and Culture Minibus Tour
More Info
US$70.59*
and up
Jeep Safari to the South of Crete from Hersonissos
More Info
US$64.71*
and up
Aposelemis Gorge Walk in Crete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Excursies en tours op Kreta. Bezoek ons excursiekantoor in Koutouloufari bij Chersonissos. Jeepsafari, Quad tours, Prive excursies, Minibus Tours, Vliegtickets, Boottickets. Wij organiseren zelf excursies.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Prima”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Good arranged excursions. We did the authentic jeep safari and also signed up for the samaria gorge. Due to bad weather it was canceled but they informed us by delivering a written letter the evening before we should travel to the samaria gorge. They refunded the money without any problem.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    21
    6
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from Hersonissos, Crete, where we went on a jeep safari with Eye Tours, a Dutch company. This is the second time we've been on this excursion, first time last August, and were delighted to see Roger and Sandra again, who remembered us - it must have been our English sense of humour! We were picked up from our apartments 08.20 and taken to the meeting point where we meet up with around 40 other people, English, French, German and Dutch. Luckily the guides speak all those languages really well. We were allocated our jeeps and set off for a very bumpy day up in the Dikti Mountains above Hersonissos.

The jeeps are easy to drive even if you're not used to left hand drive, although they do seem to be showing their age, definitely due to everything they are put through! This trip is a very bumpy, hair raising ride from start to finnish, with tight corners, death defying drop offs and huge potholes, but that all adds to the fun! The guides make this trip, as Roger films everything, hanging out of the lead jeep, and Sandra is so warm and friendly that you feel like she's your sister!

A great day out with tasty pork chop and salad bbq, very hot and dusty, but a real adventure for anyone with a taste for exploring and taking a bit of a risk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent organization, impressive tours”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was in Hersonissos at the end of October, 2013. I was 70 people group leader. Before trip to Crete I found contacts of Eye Travel in internet. I am wery happy with my solution apply to this agency. We booked tours: Jeepsafari, Aposelimis gorge, Spinalonga, Santorini. All excursions was organized very professionally and interestingly. I would like to thank a lot to all Eye Travel team for excellent organization. Our group was very satisfied with all these impressive tours. Personally I would recommend to everybody who want to know authentic Crete to take Jeepsafari and Aposelimis gorge tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laisve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After a long awaited return to Crete, we again met up with the Eye Travel Team.

For the 11th September we had booked our places for the Chersonissos Jeep Safari.

Team member Taina picked us up near to our accommodation, and due to the number of people in the mini-bus, I had to endure an intimate trip to the "Safari departure point" (my wife sat on my lap). But, as Taina explained, that "luxury" was caused by safari guide Sandra!.
Good job that the roads are relatively smooth in town!!!. ;-)

Having reached the departure point, we were met by the tour guides Roger (Rambo) and Sandra (San) who explained in several languages, the do's and don'ts about driving the jeeps, and what the tour entailed.
After checking the shopping list, we all piled into our allotted jeeps and set off.
This tour consisted of 8 jeeps with a mix of Dutch, English, French and German participants.

It should be mentioned, that Roger (Rambo) also filmed the tour, and added to the sound effects. Universal Studios, eat your heart out!!!

Starting off with a short trip along the motorway, we soon turned off-road.
For those wishing to see Crete as it is without mass-tourism, this is a unique experience!.

Passing through several small villages, some locals sit on the edge of the road, just to see and greet the safari participants as they pass by. Their highlight of the day!.
Stopping in a small village for a coffee-break, and meeting some of the locals.
Unless you can speak the local language, it's down to sign language. But, both Sandra and Roger were there to assist, if necessary.
The open hospitality of the locals is truely something else. And when you take the time to look at how they (have) to live. Compare that to how we are, and what we all have at home!.

Time to move on in the tour. Again off-road. Stopping every now and again for a chance to take photo's or receive explanations about particular points of interest.

Just after midday, lunch time. While San and Rambo got the BBQ going, some members of the tour got to grips with the salad and bread, while fighting off some of the local wasps, who also wanted a little look-in. The bar was also catered for!

During the lunch, Rambo was filmed with his new glasses along with the Long Haired Lover from Limburg, which caused a bit of laughter!.

BBQ over. Thanks to the cooks and others who took part in the preparation. A most successful Barbie. We moved back to the jeeps and set off again.

More off-road experience, and for the participants several doses of "Cretan Massage". Not to forget the games of "Stand-up" and "kiss the Driver" along the way.

Then it's time to visit the "Skotino Cave". Going down into the cave was relatively easy. Coming back up, something else. But, well worth the effort.

Towards the end of the afternoon, we stopped at the last "watering Hole". A Taverna in the village where "Rambo" lives, where we were able to sample the local Raki.

After a few last words from our guides, the chance to order a DVD of the days events, we departed to the departure point, to be transferred back to the various accommodations.

A day full of laughter, fantastic views, even more fantastic locals.

Our heart felt thanks to Gijs and Taina for the organisation. And a special word of thanks to Sandra and Roger for making this another unforgetable day.

For all who wish for a well filled, informative and enjoyable day out. This has to be a "Must do" in your agenda for your trip to Crete.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbugLimburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jeep Safari”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just returned from crete, where we used eye travel to book a jeep safari .
We chose them due to being close to us in Koutouloufari, also being given the choice of driving myself , which I did.
The day was very enjoyable , well guided , with plenty of "off road" driving .
A good mix of nationalities from holland ,Belgium & uk with all languages catered for.
I would consider this full day excursion , with a vehicle , BBQ lunch & the ease of following someone who knows the best off road routes , a bargain at €55.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eye Travel - Private Day Tours also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Eye Travel - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing