We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT 4 Star Accommodation”
Review of Galaxy Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galaxy Villas
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My boyfriend and stayed at the villas from 13th - 20th September, to say that we were disappointed with the accommodation is an understatement. We were in villa no 6, it was like being in a cave for a week. There was a constant stale smell, especially in the bedroom where there was a wardrobe which I refused to hang my clothes as it smelt like a cats litter tray. There are a lot of stray cats, on the first day one just walked into our villa, which I did not appreciate but it accounted for the smell. In a week they cleaned the villa once, on the 2nd time we expected it to be cleaned they just changed the towels, we guessed that as we were leaving the next day, they wouldn't bother. This again is not what we expected of 4star accommodation. The kitchen was rotten and damp with stained work tops, not fit for cooking food. There were pockets of mould throughout most of the villa. We asked to be moved on the first day but they were just not interested so we gave up as we didn't want to ruin our holiday anymore than it had already. We also asked for a new fan as ours wouldn't blow out a candle, they said they would look at it but they didn't. We didn't find the staff helpful at all, the accommodation was such a let down and certainly not what we paid for, or what is advertised on there website, there are much better cleaner places to stay. In terms of the village itself this was great, full of great restaurants and bars, we would recommend the Alchemist. There is a bakery across the round which was great for breakfast. It is only about 15-20 minute walk to star beach which is great with lots of entertainment. Great place but absolutely terrible accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't bother but if want to stay there then ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis E, Owner at Galaxy Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Ms. Suzanne M,
Thank you for choosing the Galaxy Villas for your recent vacation and for your valuable review.
We are very disappointed that it seemed that you did not enjoy your stay and your overall experience with us. We sincerely apologize and we can't help but feel sorry and concerned as your experience is totally uncharacteristic of our hotel.
We wish that we could get the chance of hosting you in the future to prove that your unfortunate experience and feedback is not the standard of our hotel (as can be attested to by so many of our guests). Regarding stray cats, we are sorry if you found them a nuisance and we do not invite them to the hotel. They are to be found everywhere in Greece and are usually seen as part of the local charm. Occasionally the area around the hotel will be frequented by no more than a couple of cats that our (and other hotels') guests find very charming and they feed / pet. We do now understand that for some they may be undesirable but their presence, in a village resort, would be beyond our control.
Once again, thank you for your choice and feedback.
Sincerely,
Yiannis Economou - Owner Galaxy Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here August/September 2012. The Villa was very spacious and clean ( cleaned ever 2nd day) The staff were great and the Manager George was very helpful - he arranged our car hire and Santorini Trip. Straight over the road is a Supermarket and Bakery where you can get everything you need for a great holiday. I would recommend getting a plug in Mosquito repellant for the room. Koutouloufari has numerous restaurants and bars so you do not even have to visit Hersonissos which is only a 15 minute walk ( down hill so dont recommend walking back up in the heat - get a taxi for 7 Euros)

Room Tip: We were happy with our Villa but they are happy to change with no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for three nights in September. We were given a two bed villa in error which was very spacious, ideal for a family or group of friends! About a 15min walk from beach and a short stroll from restaurants and bars. A great escape from the hustle and bustle if Hersonissos!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belledev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

If you're tall you may have an issue with the staircase going up to the main bedroom and bathroom. Overall clean but was surprised they only have housekeeping every 2nd day. Pool area/bar cozy. right next door is a cool sports bar and across the street a little store where You can basically find everything you may need while on holidays. People are extremely friendly in this area. Many restaurants to choose from and lots of little shops. Be sure to eat at Galini. The atmosphere and amount of food served it amazing. Was there with our 16 yr old son and we all found Star Beach had something for everyone.

Room Tip: If older please make sure to ask for assistance with bags. To het into the hotel you need to decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wabbit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We went 3 adults and 2 children (6 and 9). Galaxy Villas = great location friendly staff and very clean. Very nice and spacious apartment (#41) with two bedrooms and two bathrooms and a great view. Supermarket and bakery just across the street from the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorte73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have had 9 wonderful nights at this lovely place in Crete. People working at the hotel is wonderful and nice. Our villa was very confortable and the gardens and the pool, reception, everything lovely. We can recommend the place for everyone who wants to travel to Crete for relax or/and explore the wonderful island.

Olga & Pedro
Bilbao - Spain

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here in June with my boyfriend, sister and my sister's friend, (all aged between 18 and 21) and it was absoultely pefect.

Most importantly, the service here was second to none - the small staff all knew us and the other guests by name. George knows everything about the area and can sort anything out for you - he arranged our taxis, tickets to the local water park, rental of quad bikes, advice on trips, etc.

During our stay, there was a poolside BBQ one night, and on other nights George brought the TV out to the bar so guests could watch the football. We often had drinks after dinner at the pool bar, and cocktails with fresh mint and herbs from the hotel.

The pool was exceptionally clean and well maintained, and there was a good number of sun loungers. Food at the villas was all lovely and freshly prepared and great if you're just having a day by the pool.

The rooms were more than spacious, really clean and fitted with everything you could need. We had a living room, dining area, kitchenette, bathroom/wetroom and double bedroom. The kitchenette was fully stocked with all you could need to cook a meal, although the local restaurants were so good we barely used it! Similarly, for breakfast, we never spent more than about 5 euro - the bakery/supermarket directly opposite had everything you could need.

A 5-minute walk from the villas take you to the main village, which is full of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Each night we ate somewhere different and the quality, hospitality and prices were very good.

A little further away is the beach. Getting there is no problem, as the 10-15 minute walk is downhill. But getting back after a long day in the sun is a different matter! My sister and her friend usually walked, but my boyfriend and I hired a quad bike to get to the beach and to places like the bank and the high street which are a little further away.

Just down the road is Star Beach, which we spent a lot of time at. A sort of beach complex, there was a number of beaches, pools, water slides, bars and restaurants all together. Also, at night, they host parties. We even caught a foam party on the way to the pool one day. Full of young people and families. Also, Malia is only a 10-minute cab ride away for nights out.

We could not fault Galaxy Villas - absolutely wonderful villas and location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.2 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 173 in Hersonissos
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Villas

Address: Ag. Konstantinou Street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#7 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: £20 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxy Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2017 Winner! The Galaxy Villas, located in quaint Koutouloufari, is ideal for authentic Cretan holidays. Our 53 Villas are spacious and elegant, with beautiful gardens and views of the bay or the mountains. They are all outfitted with A/C, TV, fully equipped kitchen, safe boxes, iron etc. The Resort also features a swimming pool and children's pool, all-day bar/restaurant with traditional snacks and meals, complimentary sunbeds, fireplace, pool table, WiFi, free parking, concierge, access to the 18-hole Crete Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Villas Hotel Koutouloufari
Galaxy Hotel Koutouloufari
Galaxy Villas Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing