We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better but am not surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astra Village Apartments
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better but am not surprised!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked a last minute, 10 day stay at the Astra for 2 through Travel Republic and have just returned.

I fully expected to be disappointed in my request for a good sea view room it being such a late booking but was overjoyed that we had 'bagged' the famous room 55!!!

What joy! This room has 2 balconies AND a HUGE sun terrace attached and the views from it are truly amazing. The whole bay is a spectacular sight and BTW the sunrise is well worth getting up to see.

I did this a few mornings.....with a breakfast cuppa in hand. Fantastic to see the changing colours as the sun rises.

I had been to the hotel some 12 years earlier and there is now some changes including a new accommodation block, a bar/cafe with great staff, low prices for snacks and enormous portions.
Across the road is a mini golf facility and play area..........VERY popular with visiting children and their parents who can have a quiet drink whilst their kiddies are occupied.

What hasn't changed is the lovely family who run it and their obvious dedication to looking after their guests in the best way possible.

I have read some of the previous recent reviews and cannot understand some of the comments as both myself and my other half agreed that we have never stayed in any place where towels and sheets are changes so often and the cleaning staff are so thorough..... Those ladies never stop from cleaning both the pools ( yes, there are two) mopping down all the tile walkways and steps before moving on to the rooms.

Worth their weight in gold.....in my opinion!

All the staff were great though and I cannot fault the customer service in any area of the hotel.

All in all, it was a great stay and couldn't be faulted in any way.

Well done to all the Astra people, you made two people in dire need of a restful holiday very happy indeed.

Room Tip: If you need balcony shade then be aware that room 55 is very exposed and doesn't get much until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Creteaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    113
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
72
139
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself, my boyfriend, my brother in-law and his daughter (3 years of age) have recently returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at Astra Village and loved every minute of it!
***IDEAL FOR KIDS***, families, couples and friend groups as well!

Our room was located at the front of the complex, with the street in front and pool behind. The maid cleaned the room top to bottom each day, but we were directly above the kitchen and our patio doors were always targeted by the sun, therefore the room was constantly boiling without aircon! We had some late night noise from the street/bar and the kitchen underneath so sometimes it was hard to sleep. The rooms were very clean and fairly big, and all appliances in the kitchen were safe and in full working order. Overall the room quality was good! Air con is priced at 7EURO a night and the safe is 2euro a night.

There are 2 decent sized pools with both deep and shallow ends with plenty of sun loungers surrounding. There are several pool tables and a small children's play park located by the second pool at the back of the complex which was nice but not the most appealing. There is a brilliant mini golf course located across the street from the hotel (but is still part of it) where the staff can still serve you drinks at tables there.

The staff in the cafe/bar located on the second floor of the apartment block were very friendly, funny and polite when serving and preparing drinks. Kostas and Chris (two men currently working as night staff in the bar) provided amazing service every single night. The bar staff were all fantastic. However the eldest woman who works behind reception was incredibly rude and short at times! When we arrived on the 15th there were no hotel towels provided in mine and my boyfriend's room. This didn't bother us as we had brought our own and thought nothing of it- however on around the 20th (mid-stay when the towels were due to be changed), the eldest woman burst into our room at around 11am demanding to see our white towels from the start of the week. We informed her we had arrived and there were no towels and she refused to believe us. She then went on to sharply tell us to 'look for the towels as it was impossible to have not had any left for us' and came across to be accusing us of trying to steal them.

The village of Koutouloufari is packed full of beautiful restaurants with a wide range of cuisine throughout. All restaurants are pretty much back to back and stretch for around half a mile from the front of the hotel. The seafront is a 10 minute walk away down a steep-ish hill with more restaurants, clubs, pubs and bars following the busy main street which is a paradise for shoppers! You can dine on the beach in many restaurants and all of the locals are very welcoming and friendly! We found dining out to be fairly inexpensive with one persons meal usually costing around 8/9Euro depending on what was chosen. The nightlife in the town was lively and friendly still, with lots of bars and clubs... I would recommend the club BIO BIO as drinks are well priced and the music is good.

I would recommend Aquaplus waterpark to anyone, it is a great day out and is 21euro entrance fee pp with a taxi costing around 15euro each way. I would recommend seeing star beach resort located right on the sea-front on the right hand side of the main town with lots of music, brilliant kids pools and adult pools with a relaxed and mellow atmosphere throughout. There is also a bungee jump and lots of water sports to be done here at fair prices!

I would recommend Astra Village to anyone, families, couples or friends!!

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back, noise from the front can keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at Astra Village. Booked it last minute & we couldn't have been happier. Rooms are ideal, basic but have stayed in far more basic rooms before in Greece. Maid service is first class, fresh towels everyday, always cleaning. Couldn't ask for a better location. Everything you need is at your fingertips. Fantastic cafe/bar on site. Wonderful service, so friendly & helpful. Especially Kris!! Can't wait to return. Highly recommended for Greece lovers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose astra village after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. If you read between the lines you'll get a fairly accurate review. The facilities are fairly basic, bring an extra pillow if you need comfort. The shower is very small, but works fine and the kitchen is perfectly good with a good sized fridge.

The maids cleaned every day, but towels are only changed once per week so look after them, the maids also left our door wide open on two occasions.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful, the bar staff were always helpful and politely told any guests that drinks had to be bought from the bar for tax reasons or the hotel may be fined.

Our room was next to experos terrace restaurant so we got free wifi, I'm sure lots of other rooms probably benefit as all surrounding restaurants have free wifi. The astra bar Is very friendly and they serve reasonable food at a good price.

We were there in July and there were never any problems getting sunbeds and the pools were very quiet.

We got a late check out for 25 euros although we had to move rooms. Safe was 2 euros per day and air conditioning 7 euros per day, although the unit was in the bedroom and didn't get through to the beds in the living room very well.

All in all great value for the money with only a few niggles, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have something to recommend them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koolk_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forfar
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nice and clean apartments.very friendly and helpful barmen.Towels changed daily with excellent maid service. Ideal location for whatever type of break you want. You choose nice and lazy stay or busy with plenty to do in the area. We loved the area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronbalneaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Astra Village. We have been to Crete many times but this is the first time we have stayed at these apartments. They were basic but clean.
We arrived on the ill fated Flight LS625 from East Midlands that had to make an emergency landing in Manchester and so did not arrive until 5.00 am. No reception staff but luckily there was a note on the door telling us our room number and that the key was in the door. We paid for air conditioning and a safe. When we enquired about keeping on the room as we had a late departure we were told there was nothing available. We checked the facilities at the pool and in reception but even though there were shower trays there were no shower fittings so it was impossible to use them. I told the Jet-2 rep about this and she said they would repair them - this never happened. In fact they must have been out of commission for a long time as one was used for storing lanterns.

On the morning of our departure we were told we had to vacate the room by 11.00 am so we took our cases to reception shortly after 9.00 am intending to use the room up until 11.00 am to get drinks and food from our fridge (you are not allowed to drink your own bottled water around the pool - we had been aggressively informed of this on one occasion). We were happily swimming in the pool at around 10.00 am when I noticed the cleaners coming out of our room with the remote control for the air con. I went to the room to find the cleaners in there had thrown away our magazines, toiletries, mosquito spray etc and also had half emptied our things out of the fridge. I managed to rescue 2 small bottles of water but everything else had been disposed of.

I went to complain to the reception and was told that as we had left our cases in reception they assumed we had checked out! This is nonsense as we still had our key. However, they did not stop the cleaners from emptying our room. At 10.50 am I returned to the room to have a freshen up and use the toilet but an irate receptionist told my partner that I could not use the room as it had been cleaned. He pointed out that it should not have been cleaned as we had paid for the room until 11.00 am. She said that the people in the next room were waiting to move into ours!!

When I came out of the room the receptionist was very cross with me and asked if I had finished and I said that I would finish at 11.00 am and hand in the key as we had the room until that time.

Immediately on us handing over the key the people from the next apartment moved in.

We were unable to have a shower or proper wash before dressing to come home and it left us feeling very cross.

I will return to Koutouloufari next year but certainly not to the Astra Village. The Ariadni, Marni Village or Asterias Village are far superior with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a room around the top pool which was very good as most children seemed to use the other pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this through jet2 and got a really good deal so, even after all the research reading every review, feared the worst given wot we paid! We didn't need to worry!! These apartments are right in the centre of village so perfectly located for bars and restaurants. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy with daily 'quick clean' by the maids n towels replaced after day 3. The apartments for wot we paid were amazing value and I'd highly recommend them. Nice pool area with plenty of beds. We always went to the lower pool as there's much more space.


There are a couple of reasons for not giving 5/5 - firstly we arrived tired and fed up after our journey to be told that we would be in a room for one night then would need to move - not the best at all but we got over it and it was fine. We went to the BBQ Greek night and we were disappointed. The entertainment was pretty good but average and the food was all cold and the only meat options were pork (which my wife doesn't like) for 18 euros. All the stuff had been pre-cooked and attempted to be heated up but failed! U can get a lovely meal out with wine in a restaurant with amazing ambience for cheaper - that's why you come to Koutoulafari!! So can't recommend u go for it - would be so much better if it was an actual BBQ (it was more like a served meal with a couple if elements BBQ'd) cooked fresh with a range of options such as the local burgers, chicken skewers etc which are awesome!

However saying that it was a good hotel which I'm sure u would enjoy if you decided to stay there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank honestnotpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.4 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Iokasti
Villa Iokasti
#7 of 13 in Koutouloufari
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Village Apartments

Property: Astra Village Apartments
Address: 75, Europe street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#6 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astra Village Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Astra Village Apartments Crete/Koutouloufari
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing