We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic apartments in a fab village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astra Village Apartments
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

just returned from a fab bargain holiday at the astra village apartments. first time in crete chosen mainly because of a good dialysis centre. Apartments located approximately 40mins from airport trsvelled with thomson no problems the apartments will be with thomas cook as of next year apparently.

apartments clean and nicely decorated with ample storage kettle, toaster and 2 ring hob. cleaned every day towels and bed linen changed 2-3 times weekly. 2 pools with ample sunbeds avaliable no rushing for sunbeds at 6am. nice staff in bar serving food until 5pm.

koutoulafari is a lovely village located close to hersonissos, ample restaurants serving lovely food try Galini for a fab dining experience and olivia for 4 course 15 euro dinner both very nice. had breakfast at restaurant opposite apartments next to supermarket great for dinner to. fabrica for the best crepes and milkshakes

walked to star beach taxi approx 7 euros nice pools and watersports avaliable

lovely restaurants, bars and clubs at harbour

anyone looking for accomadation near to dialysis centre the centre picks up and drops off to the apartments. dialysis centre superb

feel free to message with any questions etc

will definately be returning !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

The apartment was clean and well maintained - good maid service - enough equipment to cook basic meals - fantastic view of the sea and very quiet. We would go again. koutouloufari is a pretty villiage - if you like Malia you would hate it, Fantastic restaurants within walking distance - the best turn right past the wishing well and its a hundred metres on the right PATRIKOS is the place to eat. Maria, Zac and Manos will give you a great welcome.

Overall we picked a bargain break - specifically we wanted Koutoulouri as we had been before. We ended up being very impressed with the apartments and the service - main problem a late flight home and we needed to be out of the apartment by 10am or pay a hefty extra fee. Not to much of a problem as good showers and toilets are there to enable a shower to freshen up before going on the coach. We went for this holiday to relax and take it easy. object achieved. The apartments have steps all over the place to reach them - it would not be wheelchair friendly.Dont be put of - will be Thomas Cook for 2011 - lots of people had been back to Astra several times - we would also go back had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The best thing about Astra Village is that it is in Koutouloufari a really charming village out of the busy nightlife on the coast with loads of places to eat and drink, many in old style buildings.

The rooms are typically basic Greek! Wooden beds, no frills, small showers etc. There are two small pools and an excellent bar area that serves breakfast and daytime snacks / light meals. The staff there are fantastic and it's a truly great place to sit and watch the world go by!

All in all it's a no frills complex, very friendly and a good base for a stay in Crete.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DicknDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed here 5th - 12th August and had a great time. The apartment was a good size. The kitchen was well equipped with kettle, toaster and cofee maker. We had enough cutlery, crockery and pans etc for 3 people. Small balcony with sea view. The shower was a bit of a challenge though, plenty of hot water but couldn't get it right. either too hot or too cold. Hair dryer in bedroom as well. Very clean. Lovely gardens. The bar was good with great, fun service.
The village itself is absolutely gorgeous. Small picturesque roads with plenty of tavernas, restaurants and bars. You can eat as cheaply as you want - or push the boat out - great choice. We went down into the town a couple of nights, but in the end much preferred to stay in Koutouloufari. Some very nice shops too and the prices seemed to be the same as in the town.
We hired a car and didn't stay round the pool but went to various beaches. Everyone round the pool seemed to having a great time though and as other reviews have mentioned, plenty of sun beds to go round.
I would definately stay here again. The only downside I can see is that there are quite a few steps from the bar to reception and again to the pool and again to the rooms so if anyone has walking difficulties it could be a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cass2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have been to Astra Village four times over the years and have always found it very clean, friendly and a absolute pleasure to stay there. Those of you who want the nice relaxed holiday but now and again like something a bit livley its ideal. The village itself is a very traditional place and you have taverns and restuarants and the people are mega friendly and remembered us everytime we went, even in the local supermarket. Just a 10 min walk or 5 min taxi ride down the hill and you are in the main resort of Hersonissoss and this is where you will find things such as nightclubs and the more noisey bars. But even then theres three roads all parralell to each other and one has bars, shops and restaurants and the next road is the same bit a little more upbeat and the third is the beach front and this is where alot of the young teenagers tended to go. If you stay in Koutalafari you have the best of both worlds its beautiful. The Astra Village, nothing wrong with it at all, its in my eyes perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nottingham241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Booked 3 weeks before departure and due to the price was an absolute bargain (flights alone cost more).Expect basic accomodation but probably the only essential missing is a ceiling fan in the apatment.A/c is desirable in July and is good value at 7 Euro per night (bedroom only).The grounds are well maintained and the site kept clean.Astras bar offers basic food but ideal for a dinner time snack and all the staff are friendly.Located in the hills above the concrete/traffic hell of seedy Hersonisos, Koutouloufari has a charm and walking in the evening though the streets is pleasant. Be aware that the rule of no traffic between 7 and 11 pm is not enforced.Car hire obviously essential to explore "real" Crete and get to the best beaches further away also it's a good location to explore the North East of the island which we did.Fabricas in the village has the best quality Mezdes ( 40 euros for 4 people with 14 courses!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrier57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

apartment & complex were ok, the onl;y thing was not happy about was the 7 euros a day for aircon, as back home would'nt pay that much a day for electric, this would put me off going back, it's cheaper in turkey, village was lovely. the only reason would not recomend to friends is I know there is no way they would pay for aircon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.4 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundance Apartments & Suites
Sundance Apartments & Suites
#9 of 13 in Koutouloufari
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Village Apartments

Address: 75, Europe street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#6 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: £19 - £886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astra Village Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astra Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Astra Village Apartments Crete/Koutouloufari
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing