We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”
Review of Creta Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Creta Blue Suites
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Fantastic hotel in a great location looking over the sea above hersonnisus. Family run hotel where the emphasis is all on excellent service. Beautiful location with chic, modern and comfortable rooms which are of a very high standard. Although mainly couples staying while we were there (family with 9 & 11 year old children) we were made feel very welcome and George and his family could not have been more helpful. We did not want to leave and next time in Crete we know where we will be going.IF YOU ARE GOING TO CRETE GO TO CRETA BLUE.

Room Tip: Steep hill to top rooms but given the view its worth working those legs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 020272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and spent the last week in May at this awesome hotel. The owner George picked us up himself from the coach as the approach road to the hotel is too narrow for large vehicles but this has the advantage of preventing all traffic noise. We were welcomed like part of the family and installed in room 525 , a split level room which was hard to fault. We were about 40 metres up a slope from the bar/restaurant area thus never having to worry about getting back!
George's mother Helen was the main cook and prepared some wonderful meals, notably her "specials" which often seemed to coincide with other events such as the Champions League Final, for which a t.v. was erected.
During our time at the Creta Blue we met some lovely people, none more so than the staff who just could not do enough for us. If you made a mistake,and we all do on holiday, no-one told you off, unlike loads of other places we have stayed.Nicos behind the bar was amazingly friendly, even to the extent of taking an interest in my football team West Ham, even though he supports Olympiakos.He made sure that they never ran out of Campari, which my wife drinks by the gallon.There is a nice pool and plenty of sun beds and parasols, although I think that a few chairs would add to the amenities.The rooms are up a slope which could be tricky for the elderly or infirm. In fact one evening I saved a Dutch couple, who were a bit worse for wear, from staggering and falling backwards down into the road.
In the bathroom the plumbing was a bit rudimentary and the hot water tempremental. These however were small problems and did not detract at all from the holiday as a whole. The village of Koutouloufari is a ten minute walk away and has many fine restaurants but no cash machine!
the only annoying things there were all the people outside touting for business. Not going to get my custom!!
I say again, a wonderful hotel and we will be back next year, god willing.
Chris and Sue

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwood53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments on your stay at the Creta Blue Suites. We truly appreciate your kind words about our property, facilities, service, and attentive staff. They were thrilled to hear from you.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the Creta Blue 2nd week of June 2013 and it is a great place to stay. Very clean, great views, friendly staff. It is on a steep hill which we did know beforehand but it was ok for us.
The room we had was very spacious but we do believe that not all were like that, the bathrooms however were absolutely tiny. The breakfasts did let the place down. There was no choice. Literally three slices of bread, one piece of butter, one piece of cheese and ham, one egg, one variety of fruit (melon), only orange juice and they did not have english tea only fruit/herbal.
The village itself was charming with enough taverna's and bars and the main town was well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Be wary that there is no difference between pool rooms and gardens rooms, They are all in the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Rosa

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and views.
We take our guests’ feedback seriously as this is the only way we can truly measure and continuously improve the service we provide to our guests.
Let me take this opportunity to inform you that the breakfast that we offer to our guests is a continental breakfast and that is what you have also booked when you made your reservation with the third party agent that you used and it is clearly stated in your reservation. However It is only us with the feedback we get from our guests that we have enriched it with small Greek touches like fresh fruit and of course Greek yoghurt with honey. You also had the choice of three different kind of eggs which are only prepared when the guests ask for them so they are served fresh and believe me there are real eggs and not silly mixes of eggs that big hotel chains offer in their huge buffets. Also you were offered about 6 different kind of teas and i do apologize that we run out of stock of English tea on some certain days i hope that his did not ruin your holidays.

Again, thank you for your beautiful description of your stay with us. It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for week at Creta Blue with my Dad, Step Mum and Step sister. We had such a relaxing, chilled out time whilst we were there it truly was amazing! We ate breakfast there every morning and a handful of lunches, and were very impressed with the service and quality of the food every time, really was beautiful, and to top it off the view overlooking the town and the ocean was breath-taking! All of our rooms were really nicely decorated and cleaned, we also had an amazing view from our balcony with added to it even more! On top of everything George (Hotel Manager) and his lovely wife made us feel very welcome and helped us out each day on our travels, we would HIGHLY recommend staying here, we will certainly be back again next year! Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your stay here at Creta Blue Suites ! Reading comments like yours is the reason why we are in this business, and we are thrilled that you had “one of the most enjoyable and relaxing holidays ever.”
It was a pleasure to meet you, and we can’t wait to welcome you back for your second visit!

Kind Regards,

Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A top quality hotel recently refurbished in the boutique style. The standards of cleanliness hospitality management and customer service are of the highest order.
The manager George and his staff are incredibly attentive and supportive. The whole experience starts with George collecting you and your party from the nearby village from the coach drop off point and ends with the return. In between nothing and I reiterate nothing is too much trouble.
We took my elderly in laws and he made us all feel very welcome. We had upgraded their room direct with the hotel as our original room choice would not of been suitable for their age. The hotel answered our emails very quickly and sorted out my many requests very politely and quickly.
The rooms were beautifully presented and there are several types to consider. Just be aware that the hotel is built into the side of a high hill/mountain and whilst this gives incredible views to the sea means the accommodation is on several levels which are accessed by quite steep paths. So if you are taking any older persons ask for a ground floor room prior to going. It appears from some reviews that people do not do the basic research required to understand exactly what the accommodation comprises of. A basic internet search would provide all the knowledge that is required and save any problems later and unjustified poor reviews!!
This was our first visit to Crete and the location of the Hotel makes for an excellent base for those wishing to visit the surrounding area. We selected this Hotel based on previous reviews and we were not in the slightest disappointed with any aspect of it.

George Clark and Family

Room Tip: Ground or pool level for elderly guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear George,

We are glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Creta Blue Suites and that you found our service excellent. Your words of encouragement will certainly bring delight to all of our staff.
Again, thank you for your honest comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Creta Blue again soon.

Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel provides excellent and well serviced accommodation. The pool area is well maintained and has ample sunbeds. The older clientele might well struggle with the hill side location but it is well worth the effort given the quiet location of the hotel.

The owner George was very obliging and made our stay very pleasant. He is to be commended for his enthusiam and commitment to providing a quality product.

The service provided by the staff is very good and they are always willing to help.

I was however very disappointed with the standards in the clearly visible cooking area. The female owner regularly cooked in the afternoon and evening, and whilst doing so smoked cigarettes whilst actually preparing and standing over the food.

For this reason we only eat at the hotel on two occasions. This is not the level of professionalism we would expect from a declared 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Andrew
Your review was an absolute pleasure to read! Thank you so much for graciously allowing us the opportunity to learn about your experience at Creta Blue. I have shared your wonderful comments with our entire team and they were very happy to hear that their hospitality enhanced your stay. I have also addressed your concern with the kitchen area and i do apologize about this matter.
Again, thank you for your honest comments. It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Creta Blue Suites again soon.

Kind regards,
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Creta Blue provided the perfect Cretan holiday. My wife and I found this hotel after spending time researching potential Greek holiday destinations on Trip Advisor. The Creta Blue stood out and we feel it deserves its good reputation. The hotel is located at the top of the village of Koutouloufari and offers exceptional views over Hersonnisos and the Aegean Sea. The more commercialised centre of Hersonissos was around a 15 minute walk from the hotel (uphill on the way back), where there are a wide variety of shops and restaurants. However, we felt the best on offer were found in Koutouloufari itself. We particularly enjoyed the atmosphere and food in the nearby Alchemist bar / restaurant.

The hotel provided a good standard of accommodation, was tastefully decorated and provided everything which we had expected. The bed proved a little firm for our taste, but this was the only minor negative from a fantastic week. The hotel’s infinity pool is particularly picturesque whilst its bar/restaurant offered some of the best authentic Cretan cuisine which we experienced on the trip. Without question, the stand out feature of this hotel is its family run feel and the excellent hosting by its proprietor George and his staff who all proved warm and exceptionally helpful. We thoroughly recommend this hotel to others looking for a relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliotto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It is certainly wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our entire team.

It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
772 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Blue Suites

Address: Ipsilantou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: £55 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travellers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.Welcome to Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Blue Hotel Koutouloufari
Hotel Creta Blue
Creta Blue Suites Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing