We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Creta Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Creta Blue Suites
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had a great holiday at Creta Blue. All the staff were really helpful. Rooms were clean and good decor. The food at the hotel was a bit pricey compared to the restaurants in the village but was really nice. Glad we stayed at Koutouloufari and not in Hersionissos as its a nice quiet village.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formartine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you very much for for sharing your experiences with us. Our restaurant is using only the freshest ingredients and most of the time biological agriculture hence the difference on the price. Further than that every dish that we have on our menu is being cooked at the time of the order as we do not precook food as the chef believes that the taste will not be the same. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and i hope that you will give us the chance of welcoming you back in your next visit in our island.

Regards
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    99
    23
    14
    4
See reviews for
122
354
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Creta blue is a family hotel. Good rooms and very nice staff. Also lunch and dinner are very good. We have been here 3 times and hopefully next year again. The view is really amazing. THE pool is clean, they clean it every day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiemsa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Annet,
Thank you so much for posting your review on TA and of course for visiting us twice in 2013. I hope that the family is healthy and we are looking forward welcoming you back next time you will visit the island of Crete!

Regards
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north america
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Creta Blue offers peace and tranquility high above the busy noisy resort town below. The two story style of the accommodation is well designed and thought out and the views of the water from the pool and bar, and our room (Deluxe Double) were stunning. The restaurant where breakfast is served shares these views.

George and his family go out of their way to ensure you have a great vacation. They offer a personal touch to your vacation.

The small village of Koutouloufari is one of the nicest in Crete. We tried a couple restaurants there and highly recommend you do as well. Galini was our favourite, with it's ancient Greek motif and delicious well priced food.

My review mark is 4.5 out of 5 but that doesn't seem to be an option I can choose above. The are only 2 reasons it is not a full 5. The first is the bed. It has to be the hardest mattress I have ever slept on in my life and it caused me pain and poor sleep. It is in need of a 'topper' of some kind-perhaps memory foam or coco-mat, something that takes away the feeling of lying on concrete. I doubled up the 2 blankets under me and still it was way too hard and my arms kept falling asleep. The second reason, which really isn't a big one, is the orange juice at breakfast. It is not fresh squeezed as we were offered in all the other hotels we stayed at in Crete. This I can live with but the hard mattress was not fun. If you come and are sensitive to pain (ie you have fibromyalgia or any type of arthritis), be sure to bring something with you that will help with this.

The hotel is a long way from any beache so if this is important to you, be sure to hire a car.

Room Tip: The views from the rooms up high are well worth the steep climb. The balconies overlook the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear valuable Guests,
I would like to personally thank you for your comments and your good works. Through these comments and advices from our guests we will be better this year and i am sure that next time you will visit us we will pleasantly surprise you!

Regards
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

a lovely small, family run hotel with amazing staff. george is a good host, nothing is too much or him and he is happy to help. the breakfast is lovely but a choice of cereals would be welcome. the village is only a 5 minute walk away with a great choice of restaurants and bars with friendly staff who make you feel welcome. it is hilly here so do read the reviews, it would be difficult for people with health issues or wheelchair users. a wonderful holiday, with great weather, great service and would love to return, next time in the penthouse!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Julie,
Please allow me to sincerely thank you for your kind words and for sharing it with fellow travelers on Tripadvisor. We pledge to provide the most personalized and unique service for our guests, so it is a true delight to learn my team managed to make your stay special.
My team and I would be delighted to welcoming you back in our Penthouse Suite next time you visit our hotel.

Regards
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What a wonderful experience.Creta Blue is a family run business with George at the helm.We were fortunate to sample two of the rooms, one being the Penthouse and the other, a Grand Suite. Both extremely lavishly decorated with crystal chandliers and antique furniture.We had opted for half board so we sampled Helen's (George's mam) home cooking every night. We had some wonderful dishes. One which stands out is her Greek style chicken pie. It was to die for.
George was so helpful ,nothing was a bother. In fact all the staff were so friendly and spoke good English.The only criticism I have is that the breakfasts were fine for us, but I would imagine some people would find them very repetative.
Thank you George and your staff for making our stay so enjoyable and we will be certain to recommend your hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Joy,
It makes us very proud to know you had such an enjoyable holiday with us at the Creta Blue Suites. We have noted your comments about our breakfast and starting this year we will be able to offer something different so i hope that next time you visit us we will pleasantly surprise you! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked a last minute holiday to Creta Blue which looked lovely on the website.

We arrived and were not disappointed - it was so lovely - we were greeted when we arrived at midnight and shown to our room. Our room was a garden executive room which although didn't have a sea view (to be honest you see the view all day so we really didn't mind) it was very spacious and had it's own garden with sunloungers and also a terrace with dining table outside.

The rooms are more like a self caterinig room than a normal hotel room so if I was going again I would have taken tea bags (the 'normal' tea there is not like in GB) and you could make your own sandwiches etc too as there was a supermarket in the village.

Ours was on the highest section though so I would agree with the other reviews if you had a pram/pushchair or anyone with any walking difficulties do not stay at the top. We found the uphill walk to be quite good as it made us have a little exercise.

Breakfast - the breakfast was very nice - especially the greek yoghurt and fruit and honey. The scrambled eggs were a bit hit and miss and we often had to ask for things like milk or tea bags as they often forgot to bring us things. I agree with other guests the breakfast was a little repetitive but still deliciuos - I think for 1 week it's ok but any longer would have been a bit boring. It is very nice to have your breakfast served to your table rather than buffet style.

We stayed B&B and we loved wandering into Koutouloufari each evening to find a different restaurant to eat at - it is only 5 minutes walk away and plenty of choice of very pretty little restaurants. We did have dinner at the hotel twice - once for the greek BBQ which was amazing and one other time where we found it to be quite nice but more expensive than other places in the village.

We walked into Hersonnissos one day and were very pleased to be up in the hills away from all the hustle and bustle. Also the beach in Hersonnissos is not very nice either.

The family who run the hotel make the hotel. They are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. As it was the end of the season George allowed us to keep our room until 7pm on a departure day free of charge which was brilliant.

I nearly gave this hotel 5 out of 5 but there are a couple of things which I think could be improved on, the shower was definitely quite annoying - having to hold it the whole time and the bathroom was so small compared to the rest of the room. Also - a little bit of variation at breakfast would make it even better.

All in all though - a great hotel, feels quite exclusive as there are not so many rooms, would definitely stay here again if I wanted a week of relaxing in the sunshine. :)

Room Tip: Stay B&B and the Garden Executive room was very nice apart from the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annalou1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Classy hotel, great views from the hotel out onto the sea, family run, with great care taken to make sure your holiday is perfect. George and the team really succeeds in doing this. It should be noted that the Hotel is situated at the top of a steepish hill, so you should be mobile enough to climb the steps up. This hill top location does give you the best views in the area though. The room was spacious, and George very kindly upgraded our room from Garden view to sea view, free of charge. We had a really relaxing, enjoyable holiday staying at the Creta Blue. I would highly recommend the hotel to anybody looking for a great value hotel with great service, and a beautiful location. The breakfast is the same every day, but this was not an issue for us, as we felt it was a great value hotel, considering the location, the amenities, and the overall level of comfort in the rooms. We would happily visit again, should we be lucky enough to return to Crete...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oukrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
1.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#10 of 171 in Hersonissos
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Blue Suites

Property: Creta Blue Suites
Address: Ipsilantou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travellers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.Welcome to Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Creta Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Blue Hotel Koutouloufari
Hotel Creta Blue
Creta Blue Suites Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing