We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent family run hotel”
Review of Creta Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Creta Blue Suites
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent family run hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

have been here twice and can say that we are saving to go back .Ideal location for the three villages and although there are slopes and stairs it just adds to the fact that you are in a beautiful part of the world , Crete. The rooms are very adequate for your needs ,clean and tidied every day, and the food is home cooked by Giorgios mother and wow what a cook, we found that although there are good resteraunts and tavernas around , we still end up eating here, A five star service with a smile.Its not near the beach, but the views are worth the climb.there are local taxis that Giorgio can arrange for trips and such so don't be put off .The pool is also worth a dip, not olyimpic but very welcoming on the hot days.Staff very warm and friendly and helpful too.

Room Tip: ground floor for the not so fit ,gives you access to everything , but you lack a bit of privacy.but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    97
    23
    14
    4
See reviews for
115
352
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This stylish hotel is located on a hill with good seaview but very far from beach. Arriving with night flight it was VERY difficult to find it in dark streets. Very friendly greek family runs this place.
We got suite room which was located in one of the highest buildings. In the morning we heard people talking while having breakfast and swimming in pool. Bathroom was rather small and I didn't feel it was cleaned good.
Breakfast was always same and limited: what I liked was yogurt with honey and fruit but if you don't ask they will bring one plate for two persons, they also serve eggs, fresh bread, local jams, butter, and 2 pcs of cheese and 2 pcs. of ham.
We didn't have dinners in hotel, just prefered to walk a bit to the village where we found some good places for evening meal.
I enjoy walking a lot but just an advice for those who don't - be aware you will have to make a lot of climbing-walking if you chose this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VerAmZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From checking in to checking out everything at the Creta Blue was first class.George and his staff could not do enough for you.The room was spacious,cleaned every day and even pleasant surprises left on your bed for you.Fantastic views from balcony and infinity pool.The village of Koutouloufari has wonderful restaurants and lovely tavernas.We have already talked about going back and would look no further than the Creta Blue as we had such a fantastic time.

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lance c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have just returned from a lovely stay at Creta Blue. The staff are fantastic, so accommodating and make you feel really welcome. The small size of the hotel allows for a personal touch to the service as well; they spend time getting to know you and making you feel valued.

The food is outstanding: definitely eat at the hotel restaurant!

I will certainly be coming to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maldives
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancée have just returned from a two week stay at creta blue and had a lovely time. There are lots of positive and a few negative reviews about this lovely hotel and I have to on the most agree with the positive ones. I will attempt to give an honest unbiased opinion on the hotel and surrounding area.
Hotel: beautiful views and lovely gardens, pool and grounds are always clean and the infinity aspect is amazing, there is a steep slope up to a lot of the rooms but even from the road to the pool there is still a slope.
We had room 526 and although the rooms are spacious and clean and quaintly decorated (Think Greek shabby chic) this room is far too close to the pool/bar area! You can hear music and talking from the bar until midnight and also at breakfast, the patio is overlooked by everyone walking past (we like to have the odd night in with a bottle of wine and chill on the balcony etc and couldn't here) and has no railings to dry your towel/swimwear on as the higher rooms have. Some garden rooms have a bush or wall for privacy but not this one so if you get this one and can change it the do so.
The beds on a firmness rating of 1-10, 1 being very soft and 10 being very hard the beds have to be a 9.5, I like a firmish mattress but this was physically uncomfortable(I got achey shoulders and my fiancée had sore hips from sleeping in it)
Like I said I'll be fair these things weren't that bad but better to give an honest review.
The food here is ok for lunch and breakfast, we never stayed for dinner but that was because it was slightly too expensive for us.(breakfast would be better if there was a choice, it's is same every day( basket of bread, butter and a small pot of jam and marmalade, 2 slices of wafer ham and 2 slices of cheese then eggs of your choice(scrambled, boiled or fried) and a plate of yoghurt and fresh fruit plus coffee and orange juice) this is €9 each!(our breakfast wasn't included) Can get much cheaper breakfast out.
It a short walk to koutouloufari village and we averaged €30-35 a night for a dinner(normally a starter and main and a soft drink each) in the village there is a nice Chinese and a couple of nice restaurants. But we preffered to go down to hersonnissos at the coast where there is more choice and better restaurants. The best we ate at by far ( comparable to a good restaurant in the uk) was kyato (I think this is how its spelt) its a seafood/sushi restaurant near the pandora shop. There were quite a few kids under 10 there when we were here but the pool wasn't always full of them but if your expecting it to be predominantly couples/adults it's not.
Like most others have said the staff here are great, very helpful and will do anything for you. They seemed a little understaffed at breakfast times so sometimes there are long waits between courses.(not all the breakfast comes at once) hersonnissos has a lot more to offer in terms of shopping/ supermarkets/restaurants so
I would recommend hiring a scooter or quad bike or even a car if you can afford it as it is a loooong walk down/up hill to the beach/main strip. The places we visited, starbeach, aqua park and Heraklion City were all great! Heraklion is definitely worth a visit!
In all tho this is a great little hotel with great staff, if the beds were a little comfier and the food/drink prices a little lower it would be perfect!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Graham,
I would like to thank you for your time to leave a comment about your stay in our hotel. I am happy that you did enjoy your holiday and you had a pleasant fortnight with your lovely wife.
It is true that the room that you have been placed is not the most private room we had however having only two garden view rooms (cheapest category) out of the 28 we have in total the other garden room which was at the top of our complex was not available.
We have already planned to start changing our mattress in our hotel with comfier ones and already 19 rooms have new mattresses and next year the will all have new mattresses for our guest comfort although i have to say that we had other guests who have used the same mattress and they actually loved it. I guess it really depends what everyone likes more.
Our breakfast indeed has everything that you mentioned and it is a shame that you opt for breakfast as it would have been much cheaper for you when you made the original booking and honestly having traveled myself in many hotels for a continental breakfast is very rich. Also you have not mentioned everything about the quality as you do get what you pay for and for sure there are cheaper places but you need to take under consideration many factors when you are talking about prices.
Regarding dinner prices we cannot be more proud about our cuisine and the ingredients and the way we prefer it. We have a passion about food which it always taste better when it is fresh and prepared at the time that the guest asks for it. Obviously the easiest thing for a restaurant is to get frozen food from many companies that they do sell it for nothing (who knows what they put inside) and sell it cheaper then us and honestly i believe they make more money then we do but with us is a little bit different. I personally prefer to buy the freshest of the ingredients the ones that we use at home and cook food at the time that the guests asks for it instead for the sake of some euros to serve frozen stuff and have 100 different things on our menu. But of course human beings are different from each other however having a grandmother who was a fantastic cook and a mother who is cooking meals for our guests every night in front of our guests and not hidden inside a kitchen i would never offer meals which are prepared in the microwaves. Even our cheeseburgers the meat is produced by us and we do not buy it frozen, as we need to be proud of it as well as keeping our guests satisfied.
Creta Blue Boutique Hotel is not just a hotel. When we come everyday at work me personally along with our staff we do not feel that we work in a hotel but we feel that we work in a big house full with guests that somehow are invited and we need to give our soul in order to make them happy and see them leaving with a big smile in their faces when they are checking them out.
We love our work and they way we do it and we will continue to work harder trying to correct any mistakes that we make as nobody is perfect and with the help of our guests and the recommendations we will be better and better every year.
Once again i would like to personally thank you for choosing us for your well deserved holiday this summer and i wish you a very good remaining of the summer and of course a mild winter.

Regards
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited Creta Blue in June for our daughters birthday. Couldn't believe how fantastic a holiday we had. George and his staff are brilliant. George organised a birthday cake for us and made the day special with a lovely meal at the hotel. We loved everything about Creta Blue. My daughter didn't want to go home and as soon as we arrived home started to look for availability later in the summer. Great place,great people, great food, great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallnotsmallpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you personally for choosing us for your summer holiday this season. Personally me and all the staff who work in our hotel do everything we can so our guests enjoy a peaceful and relaxing holiday and i am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back and offer you an even better stay next time.

Regards
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

It was an absolutely awesome holiday. What can I say? Our room was clean, the interior of the room was with romantic twist and from our terrace everyone is able to get an overview over whole pool, entire town and the port. The breakfast was very good, but I am not generally a big fan of the breakfast. P.S. Since I had a birthday during our stay there, the host, who had a birthday on the same day as me, she did for me the most romantic, outstanding and lovely surprise in our room. I am so thankful for the attitude and the gesture of all their family.
Summary: If you choose this destination for your vacation everything will be wonderful, only don't forget depends only on you to create your unforgettable moments from it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,039 reviews
1.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
317 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Blue Suites

Property: Creta Blue Suites
Address: Ipsilantou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travellers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.Welcome to Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Creta Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Blue Hotel Koutouloufari
Hotel Creta Blue
Creta Blue Suites Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing