We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
401
239
46
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
239
46
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoliva restaurantkids clubhalf boardself cateringpool barair conhomemade lemonadeshuttle buscourse mealyour luggagebuffet styleplenty of sunbedslovely locationreception staffgreat holidaysteep sloperestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Excellent venue.Staff very helpful.Restaurant food probably among the best in the village,but slightly lacks Greek atmosphere.Very clean and well laid out,except for the many steps.Minus point,if you have a ground floor studio,it's a job to keep the(very attractive)kittens out,resulting in closed door and window,and can get a bit airless.

Room Tip: Don't have a ground floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We usually go for higher star ratings for our holidays, especially in Greece, but were recommended to the Asterias by the travel agent as reviews are excellent. It is a very pretty site and the staff are helpful and friendly. Our one bedroomed apartment was fairly spacious and clean but quite dated, especially the shower room with a leaking toilet which only showed towards the end of our holiday so we didn't complain. Towels were thin and a bit tatty. Good job I had taken my own bath sheet. Lots of steps which the travel agent had not told us about. I managed but not easily. Good views towards the sea but not a place for beach lovers. Good free shuttle bus down towards the main town. Very good points were the lovely villages of Koutouloufari, Piskipiano and Old Hersonissos with typically Greek restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room midway between Reception and main road. Only approx 36 steps to manage mostly then!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggierose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just returned from 10nts at the Asterias. We were greeted at reception with a welcome drink, which was a nice start. We had booked a 1-bed apt but were advised on arrival that the hotel was full and only a studio was available for the first night and we would change over on day 2. This was very disappointing but with no alternative we agreed an acceptable compensation for the inconvenience with the hotel.

The hotel staff were very friendly throughout our stay and special mention to Alex at the pool bar (really made our stay enjoyable) and Maria in the kitchen who worked tirelessly 7 days a week from breakfast until 6pm.

The 1-bed apartments were of a good standard for Greece. We had a kitchen area (had 2-hob cooker, kettle, but would have been helpful to have a toaster), 2 sofa beds in the lounge area, table & chairs. Bathroom with shower & bath tub & hairdryer. Bedroom with small double bed, TV & air-con unit (7 euros extra per day). Safe deposit box was also available at 2 euros per day. Balcony had partial pool & sea views. The rooms were cleaned & towels changed 6 days per week (cleaners don't work on Sunday).

Pool area was nice and of a good size, plenty of sunbeds and umbrella's to go around. Separate children's pool & play area. The hotel is set on a sloping cliff side so the pool area has great views of the island, sea & Hersonnisos bay. Pool bar also has pool table & air hockey. You can rent pool towels for 1 euro, plus a refundable 20 euro deposit.

The slight downside of the hotel being set on a cliff side for certain travellers is that on one side of the hotel there is either a steep 86 step climb down from road to pool or a fairly steep slope and less steep steps on the other side. Neither would be ideal if you have walking difficulties.

Breakfast is served 7:30-10am. Its fairly basic but good, and includes the usual juices, cereals, tea, coffee, fruit, cheese & meat, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, beans & mushrooms, toast. Sometimes french toast, sometimes pancakes. We often had lunch at the pool bar and it was probably the best lunch fayre & value for money we had in the village. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, Olivia, so cannot comment.

The hotel is in an excellent location and you step out onto the quiet road between the lovely traditional villages of Piskopiano and Koutouloufari where there are plenty of very good restaurants/taverna's to choose from. They remain unspoilt and without an english or irish bar in site! The main town of Hersonissos is only a 20min walk downhill and is alot more commercialised and touristy. (Its 7 euros back in a taxi if you don't fancy the uphill walk!). Old Hersonissos town is also about 15/20mins walk if you turn right from the hotel and is another lovely little traditional village and is a must visit on a Monday night when they have greek night with dancing and plate smashing, great fun.

Restaurants to recommend in Koutouloufari:

The Alchemist - must visit, run by 2 brothers with mum in the kitchen, beautiful food and very friendly service.

Rahati - Dutch patisserie serving breakfast to evening meals and a homemade cake or 2 inbetween!

Patriko - Lovely traditional setting with Maria greeting you at the entrance, she was very friendly every day and never once mithered us to eat there.

Esperos - Must visit, again beautiful food, extensive menu and very friendly welcoming staff.

Ariadni - Tables on the upstairs terrace, man making fresh pizza dough and probably the best starters we had anywhere

Cafe Greco - lovely setting to stop for a drink/coffee

Vinny’s Bar - great atmosphere, trendy bar to have a drink/cocktail

Restaurants to recommend in Piskopiano:

Gevsi - small but traditional, run by family, very friendly and very good food.

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel for his good standard of accommodation, very friendly staff and excellent location. The nearby villages are full of excellent restaurants and the local people are so very friendly. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank C_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

You open the door and the window and you get a midsummer breeze that saves you 7 euro per day - cost of the a/c.
Spent a weekend there at a great discount in August 2013. The staff is wonderful, attentive and friendly. Lovely.
Breakfast is really good, not fancy. but good. They do charge extra for the mediocre espresso (why pay, why mediocre?) but all else is good.
Not easy for some folks, it is on a steep slope. nice pool, though. They even had a singer perform one evening.
Bonus: 5 minutes walk from David Veggera - a restaurant to remember. Quick service, fresh food, always packed (bring abook while u wait). 7 euro at most for lamb in wine sauce, 3 euro for delicious dolmas or rice-stuffed zukkini flowers. Huke plates. 6 euro for 24 (!) fresh sardines.
Nive shops nearby, ideal for economy vacation.
So peaceful, I was able to almost finish writing a book..
Question: COuld you please legislate hotel TVs will not be less than 37"?
Other than that - look for spanacopita, greek for spinach pie.
Amnonymous970
Israel

Room Tip: ask to see a few before selecting. Open doors and windows brfore deciding.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amnon M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is a typically Greek offering with fantastic staff who would do anything for you and give you a big smile to go with it. We arrived at Asterias Village late in the evening to the sight of a lot of stairs (you have probably seen the photos), with our luggage it looked a huge task. However we were soon told not to worry and leave our cases at the top they will be shipped down to us in a few minutes. Sure enough we headed downstairs to check in, which was done very efficiently with an obligatory Greek smile, and our cases were ready and waiting for us as if by magic!

We stayed half board in a maisonette and as such got tickets for breakfast and dinner which we exchanged each day at the pool bar for breakfast and the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was the usual suspects, in my opinion was ok the food was nice but not much variety, however dinner is a totally different story. Dinner is in the Oliva restaurant which is open to the public as well as guests which gives it more of a feel that you are going out to eat which I really enjoyed, instead of the usual buffet style restaurants. We were provided with a four course menu with plenty of choice and for your voucher you could choose a starter, salad, main course and dessert with Greek cuisine, chicken and fish dishes on the menu there really is something for everyone. I would recommend the Gyros! Koutouloufari has lots of lovely tavernas and bars you can sample if you are going self catering or B&B, as we did eat out a few times also.

Our room was traditional Greek simplicity with whitewashed walls and wooden furniture, as the hotel offers self catering, etc each room has a kettle, fridge, hot plate, and cutlery which came in handy for drinks and snacks. The only thing that lets the rooms down is the bathroom which is tiny and I prone to flooding sometimes, and the lack of a full length mirror (which I find is always an afterthought in hotels).

All in all it is a great hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in coming back again, however I would do self catering next time as there are so many gorgeous little restaurants to try it is a shame not to. If you are looking to stay here I don't think you can go far wrong, all the staff are like your best friends and the hotel is very clean and well looked after. Just don't let the stairs put you off they are a pain but nothing a beer at the bar at the top wont cure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winniethepoohtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews