We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best holiday ive ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Asterias Village Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best holiday ive ever had.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful views. Immaculately clean. Fabulous food . An amazing service. The staff in the hotel made my holiday. The nicest people u would ever meet. Ive been back 2 weeks an have just booked again for September. Now I would not go anywhere else. Asterias village is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    192
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
149
276
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was how true to the online photos the hotel and the grounds were. It was immaculate and beautiful. The staff were very welcoming and informative, even when we arrived in the middle of the night.

One of the highlights of the hotel was the amazing hotel restaraunt called Oliva. We went half-board so every evening we had the option of a four course meal from a varied menu. The food had a variety of traditional greek dishes and other European dishes, suited for everyone but all at a very high quality. The waiters were friendly and professional, and obviously cared about their job and the service they provided. They even allowed us to swap our dinner voucher for a lunch voucher.

Overall we loved the hotel and would recommend it to couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were made very welcome on arrival at the hotel. Dropped our cases off which were taken by van to reception.The hotel is built on a hill with 64 steps going down to the pool and reception. On arrival at reception we were given a cool drink to welcome us. The cases were brought to us at the door. After we were allocated our room the cases were then taken to our room. The room we had was a studio, which was quite small with no balcony. We were unlucky to arrive when the hotel was busy and this room was all that was available, some of the other studio rooms were larger with balconies. The room had all the basics, kitchen fully equipped, shower etc, two single beds.
The restaurant food was good but service very slow (not enough staff) although the staff were all very friendly. The poolside bar had a good atmosphere and very friendly barman.

Room Tip: Rooms above the pool have good balconies. All rooms have A/C at a cost per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllanandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Enjoyed our 11 nights here. The place was very clean and our studio was quite spacious though could be a bit stuffy as no window in the bedroom area. Also the beds were quite lumpy. We were located on the ground floor half way up the slope. I had requested a high room so this was a bit disappointing. Location wise the room was ideal in that we didn't need to tackle the steps and only had a short way to walk to the main road. However other guests encouraged the local cats, feeding them on plates from the accommodation, not hygienic. This resulted in the cats trying to enter our room which I was not happy about.
There was also an issue in the pool restaurant at breakfast where guests gave the cats food off the buffet! The staff turned a blind eye to this and I think this needs to be addressed.
Breakfast was varied and could have been warmer but good value. Service at lunchtime and evening in the bar could be slow even though they weren't busy.
The guests were mainly older couples and families with younger children. It was very relaxing during the day by the pool and there were plenty of sun beds.
I would stay here again if they could guarantee a room on a higher floor and would book an apartment.

Room Tip: Book an apartment on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJKYorkshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Koutouloufari and The Asterias Village. The whole place was very nice, the staff were extremely helpful and it was a great holiday overall.
It is quite hilly and some of the apartment locations may be a problem for some people, but the whole place was spotlessly clean and the pool area had plenty sun beds and plenty of room for everybody.
We had a late departure and we were able to stay in our room until 1830, which was great.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here, and Costas and Giannis in reception, and the manager Antonis, deserve a special mention.
Also Daniel,in the pool bar in the evenings, was great company and many an hour passed as he kept the drinks coming. Cheers

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We arrived on a Tuesday for 1 week, and by the Friday we used the internet in reception to book another visit to Asterias Village, in September, for 11 nights. It is a wonderful complex in a wonderful location, between two very pretty villages. The whole complex is outstanding, with a beautiful pool and two restaurants. The staff are excellent, very friendly, helpful and efficient. We had a one bedroomed apartment near the top of the complex, which was extremely large, with a huge balcony, and a view to die for, overlooking Hersonissis and the sea. The sunrise was beautiful.(There are other types of rooms available) The ladies who cleaned the rooms were lovely, and kept everything spotless. The bathroom was large compared to others we have had in Greek islands. There was always plentiful hot water, and towels changed as often as you wanted. There are loads of restaurants and bars,( thankfully no English or Irish) in the villages, where the food is excellent. The food is also very good in Asterias, particularly the Oliva restaurant which is at the top of the complex on the main street. There is a shuttle bus three times a day to the town, which is free. Taxis are also reasonable. I would highly recommend Asterias Village for a holiday, and can't wait for September.

Room Tip: If you are of the elderly brigade like us, I would recommend a room near the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BESmith525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location here is very good, just between the two villags of Koutouloufari and Piskopiano (which merge into one another). Lots of good tavernas in both villages which we used every night as we were staying on a Self Catering basis. We had breakfast on some days at the hotel which was nice with different things offered on differnt days. The restaurant at the hotel was very good.

The town of Hersonissos was a fairly easy walk down the hill - but we took a taxi back up as it was so steep (6 euros). From the town you can catch buses to Iraklion or the other way to Malia and Agios Nikolaos.

We were on the top floor of the hotel so the view was spectacular. It was very convenient for the village. However as it was up another flight of steps from the steps everyone mentioned it may not be very convenient if you have a small child in a buggy and want to spend most days by the pool (down at the bottom). There is an interesting rock formation behind the hotel which makes a great backdrop

The room (a studio) was spacious, but the bathroom was a bit cramped. The staff were friendly and helpful.

It was a shame that the Greek night wasn't on because it was early in the season, and neither was the jacuzzi.

Room Tip: A room at the top is handy if you want to spend a lot of time out and about the villages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelythG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#8 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asterias Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asterias Village Resort

Property: Asterias Village Resort
Address: 59 Evropis, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Asterias Village Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asterias Village Resort is located on a prime crossroad of the Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutouloufari settlements, offering a unique panoramic view of Hersonissos and the Cretan Sea. That location gives one the opportunity to choose between the dynamic modern developments of the cosmopolitan settlement of Hersonissos, and the traditional culture and architecture of the two beautiful old villages: Koutouloufari and Piskopiano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asterias Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Village Hotel Chersonisos
Asterias Village Resort Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing