We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant week with a gorgeous view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asterias Village Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because our other hotel was overbooked. At first we were disappointed because we were given a room without a nice view of the sea, but after we said something we were moved the next day to the Nautilos House, and had a perfect view and no neighbors (highly recommend room 86 because of these reasons). The staff at Asterias do a great job- carry your bags down the steep stairs for you, and just have great customer service. For example, our shower drain was kind of stopped up, and they came and fixed it despite the fact that we didn't report it. I guess one of the housekeepers reported it?

The rooms were tidied up (not thoroughly cleaned) every day. If air conditioning is important to you, then be aware you need to pay €7 per day. We made it through the first four days without air conditioning and then finally I had a semi-meltdown and my husband ordered the AC. They give you a remote at the front desk, and then charge you per day (which apparently begins at noon). The outside temp was close to 90 degrees and with full humidity, so I would plan on allocating the extra money for it.

Even though the restaurant there, Oliva, had good reviews, I wouldn't book the all inclusive package with this hotel. There are so many amazing restaurants within a couple minutes' walk (Elisavet, Aposperidas, The Alchemist, etc.) that it would really be a shame to eat at the Olivas buffet every night. I'm sure it's good, but I'd recommend to eat out at night. We did get our breakfast included, which was nice. It wasn't a full array of what I'd expect from a 4-star hotel, but was still good. They had fried eggs, English style bacon and baked beans, Greek bread, cheese and cold cuts, tomatoes, feta, and cucumbers, and a few puff pastry treats. They also had coffee and juice. This may sound like a lot, but it was just okay. You have to remember to bring your breakfast voucher coupons with you as well.

The hotel had a great pool area with plenty of lounge chairs. The kids and teens while we were there were well-behaved. This really seemed like a good mix of families and couples. There were five or six very take stray cats roaming the property, as an FYI. The wifi worked in our room, as well as in the hotel lobby and at the pool. I couldn't get it to work with some iPhone apps, but it was enough for most tasks like checking email. If you plan on having a skype meeting or something, that might not be so easy because there were a lot of interruptions in service throughout each day.

The best parts of this hotel were undoubtedly its view of the sea, the location of the hotel in relation to restaurants and the beach, and the large size of the rooms. I saw some smaller rooms, but ours was quite large with a separate balcony, bedroom, area for a small twin bed, and kitchenette. The furnishings are no frills, but nicely decorated all the same.

Like other reviewers said, this place has a few things to watch out for. If you have limited mobility, beware because this place has tons of stairs. The hotel is built into a steep seaside hill, which makes for beautiful views but lots of steps! For us, it was a fifteen minute walk down the hill to the closest beach. The walk back up necessitated buying water and a good 20 minute uphill hike to get back to the hotel. We rented a quad to get around for two out of our seven days there, an that made things a lot more fun and easier. We also saw someone stall out, trying to get their manual transmission car up to the top of the hill from the hotel's parking lot. For us it was no trouble but just an FYI. One other minor irritation was that the bar by the pool was fond of playing the exact same electronic music every single day, starting in the morning. It got old! One thing we loved was the opportunity to watch movies at the hotel on a big screen by the pool. While we were there, they played Frozen, Transcendance, and Captain America.

We had a perfect week here and would definitely go back again. The customer service was great and all of our expectations were met. Above all, I'm already missing that beautiful and breathtaking view from our balcony!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank HollisBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

For the second year, we spend two weeks of vacation at asterias village in juli 2014.
Such a beautiful hotel with great staff and management. Clean rooms, excellent service and the buffet restaurant is also a big plus. Prices ar very good. We will come back again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liesbethcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked a late deal with half board at the Asterias Village resort. A really nice holiday with good food and excellent service. All staff were very helpful and worked tirelessly.

Fantastic panoramic views from our balcony on the top floor. I would not however recommend this holiday village to anyone who is elderly or disabled as there are lots of steps. Over 60 steps for us to get down to the pool bar to breakfast or to the reception.

Rooms were cleaned daily and were of a decent size, bathrooms a little small but fully functioning. Air conditioning was a must but a little expensive a 7 Euro's per day but you definitely needed it in July.

Breakfast was typical continental buffet style with plenty of room at the pool bar and dinner was taken at the Oliva Restaurant attached to the village.

To sum things up a excellent week. Great service and very clean. We will return some time in the future.

Room Tip: E-mail the Asterias Village directly and ask for a balcony and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FatBobby_1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

.............. courtesy of Olympic Holidays website late deals. Read previous reviews before booking the Asterias Village and have to say the reviews were spot on!!!! We had a maisonette which overlooked the pool area. The maisonette was exactly as in the pictures on the Asterias Village website. Lovely double bed on an upper level with excellent air conditioning (which we needed as we arrived in a mini heatwave at 38 degrees in mid June!!!). Wardrobe was located just outside the shower/toilet area which was on a different level to the bed - which was a bit odd but we coped!! The safety deposit box is located within the wardrobe. (7 euros a day for the air con and 2 euros a day for the safety deposit box - both worth every penny). Kitchenette area was adequate with double cooker ring, kettle, toaster, pots, pans etc - everything you needed if you really did want to cater for yourself. Of course no need to cater for yourself with the numerous eating places in the villages of Koutouloufari and Piskopiano - virtually unspoilt villages and have to say we wanted a week away from it all and that's exactly what we got. There are two ways in to and out of the Asterias Village - 60 steps or a steep hill - so if you have mobility issues you will need the assistance of the very helpful staff (who from cleaners to receptionists and bar staff could not be faulted)!! Nothing was too much trouble for any staff member. The pool area is very nice with plentiful sunbeds and parasols but do be aware of the slippery entrance/exit to the pool itself - whist there is a sign I managed to miss it and nearly slipped up!!! There is also a Jacuzzi beside the pool which worked intermittently but can be difficult to get in and out of - no steps !!! Sunscreen is expensive so make sure you take plenty with you - you'll be surprised how much you can get through in just a week (with or without a mini heatwave!!!).

Go on give this one a try - you will not be disappointed!!!

Happy Holidays :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Cairo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just came back from the asterias village. Had a great time with the family and our friends. Just like to say a big thank you to dany the bar man who worked the night shift. Had a great time dany we had some laugh!!!! thanks for everything Dan the man!!! Also a big thanks to sandy at the kids club for looking after the girls.

Room Tip: The rooms are typical Greek but clean and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we have just spent two weeks in the asterias village and could not fault the place rooms were cleaned daily, reception and .
bar staff were all very friendly and could not do enough for you
pool area is lovely,the apartments are situated in a lovely place really friendly people, excellent restaurants and bars
would recommend and will be booking up again for next year
sharon and jamie
co.durham
england

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We came here for a week in early July with high expectations and were not disappointed. This really is the loveliest place, very relaxed pool area with an excellent bar but also the staff who certainly made every effort to please and accommodate our needs. The room was very clean and spacious with a nice layout. We never ate in the Olive restaurant until the last night thinking it was convenient before being picked up to go to the airport. This was a mistake as we realised that all week we had been missing out. All in all a superb little hotel very well located that seems to attract a nice quality of guest. Cannot recommend enough.

Stayed: July 2014
10  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
85.2 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,220 reviews
70.3 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asterias Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asterias Village Resort

Address: 59 Evropis, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: £25 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Asterias Village Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asterias Village Resort is located on a prime crossroad of the Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutouloufari settlements, offering a unique panoramic view of Hersonissos and the Cretan Sea. That location gives one the opportunity to choose between the dynamic modern developments of the cosmopolitan settlement of Hersonissos, and the traditional culture and architecture of the two beautiful old villages: Koutouloufari and Piskopiano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asterias Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Village Hotel Chersonisos
Asterias Village Resort Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing