We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asterias Village Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday! ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Having read all the wonderful reviews we went with high expectations. The Asterias excelled all of them. It is well kept and friendly hotel brilliantly situated in a beautiful village. Rooms were spacious and cleaned regularly. We had a beautiful view out to sea from our balcony. The pool area is clean with plenty of sun chairs. Would definitely go again and recommend without a doubt.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakleigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    192
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
150
276
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Arraived at the village late at night , the staff where very friendly got free drinks :) had free parking right next to our room , good clean pool cleaned each night and bar and dining area where exilent , the room.was spacious and clean had an very good time here would recommend the downfalls where having to pay 7 euro a night for air con which you need if your here during July and Aug because it's redders also theres no night time entainment so you end up in bed at half 10 other than that it was very good

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sj469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Asterias village at the end of June this year and it definitely did not disappoint. All the positive reviews on TA were true. We arrived fairly late in the evening and were greeted at the top of the steps (yes there are quite a few steps down to the hotel itself as everyone points out but really not a problem so long as you're OK with walking). We were taken into reception and told a little about the hotel and then we were all checked in and given our room keys. The luggage was brought down the hill for us afterwards by the hotel staff in their van. There are 2 options to get to the hotel from the road (either the steps or a steep road).
They have a restaurant at the top of the steps on the main road which we went to on the first night due to arriving late and not wanting to venture too far. Apparently (we found out later) the restaurant had very recently changed to a buffet style (pay one price, eat as much as you like option) which for those who had booked for HB came as a disappointment as they had stayed last year and the restaurant had previously got very good reviews. The meal we had was OK but nothing exciting.
The room we had was lovely and big and always clean (6 days per week). We had a separate bedroom area for the 2 of us, a lounge/kitchen area and a shower room. The room itself was on the ground floor and so had a lovely terrace area to sit out and you could just about see the sea. It's worth pointing out that there are again lots of steps either up or down to your room. If you do want to do any cooking whilst you're there the facilities are fairly basic but I'm sure you could rustle up something.
The pool area was lovely; it had lots of sunbeds, however as the holiday progressed the hotel got busier and so the pool area became much busier and at some points there were only a couple of beds free (I think they did bring some more in though). There is a sloped area to walk into the pool which is very slippy and there are small signs advising you to hold the rails which I would definitely advise you to do as I saw a few people (me included) almost slip over. There is a small whirlpool bath in the middle of the pool area which is nice to sit and relax in (the bubbles must be on a timer as couldn't figure out how they came on?).
Breakfast was typical greek and was served between 7-11am (I think? may have that wrong?) Teas/coffee/juices, croissants, pastries, cereals, fruit (fresh, tinned and dried), breads, toast were all served daily and then the hot section changed slightly between sausages, bacon, eggs (fried and scrambled) beans and various greek pastries. All very nice and set you up for the day; well until lunchtime! (we were on holiday :-))
The pool bar was again just lovely and a special mention has to go to Daniel behind the bar. He was so friendly and chatty and always had a smile for you. We would meet our friends here each evening before venturing into town and Daniel would always be there with a friendly smile and some chatter, thanks Daniel.
The rest of the staff also have to have a section here as they are all exceptional people who are always happy to help with any queries you may have.
There is a small childrens play area near to the pool and restaurant which has a few childrens toys etc. There are a lot of cats around this area (we had a family with kittens while we were there) which also venture into the restaurant which isn't great when you're eating.
Out of the hotel - directly over the road you will find a supermarket selling all the staples you'd expect in a small village. If you turn left you will find a variety of restaurants and small shops on either side of the road. All the restaurants we ate in were delicious (our favourites were Atrium (5*) Mezes, Galini and Oniro) I'm sure you won't get a bad meal anywhere though. if you want to go into Hersonisos; turn left out of the hotel and left again at the well in the road and head down the hill until you get to the bottom, it probably takes about 20 minutes walking (I believe the hotel provides a courtesy bus which you can book). Its a lot busier here but worth a visit and also you will find ATMs here as there are none to be found in the villages.
If you turn right out of the hotel you come to Piskipiano with a fair few shops and restaurants here too; you'll also find a small supermarket here which is a bit cheaper than the ones in Koutouloufari. If you then walk a little further past Piskipiano (probably about 20-30 minute leisurely stroll) you come to Old Hersonisos which is a lovely little village centred around a square. The restaurants all look into the square and each monday evening they hold a greek night which I would highly recommend you go to; eat an excellent meal in any one of the restaurants and watch the greek dancers, singers and performers; just fab. You can also join in if you want to? (we did). The only thing about the evening was that the road was not closed for the night and cars still insisted in driving through which was a bit of a nuisance.
All in all we would highly recommend this hotel and the area if you were thinking of visiting Crete. Fantastic location, staff and amenities; many thanks to all.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamboSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned from a weeks break in the Asterias village resort in Crete. We are a family of 4 (2 adults 2 children age 11 and 16) the hotel, pool and surrounding area are well kept clean and tidy. The gardens were being maintained frequently whilst we were there.
One of the best things about this hotel and resort were the people and their helpfulness - nothing is ever too much for them and the locals in the shops bars tavernas are just as friendly and genuinely nice people.
We would definitely recommend a holiday here. Although a little quiet this was very relaxing for a week but possibly 2 weeks may have been too long as there is not much going on in the hotel/resort itself so if you wanted more life you would need to venture out a bit further
The village is very interesting and historical.
We recommend the biggest water park in Crete - Aqua Plus definitely worth a day trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest to the pool and main building/reception. Wifi not always available in rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nickyb-94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 12 day stay. Having read all the excellent reviews, our expectations were high. Asterias Village certainly didn't disappoint. Compared to all other resorts in the area this is spacious with great views. The pool area is lovely. The staff are great, efficient and friendly. Rooms are basic but fine. Only negative is breakfast which could be a lot better. No fresh fruit. It is only a short distance from two absolutely beautiful villages. The restaurants in both villages are great and the food fresh and tasty. Lots is made of the steps but unless you have mobility issues they are no big deal.

Cannot praise this place highly enough. One of the best holidays we have ever had will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ruth54076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have just returned from a 1 week holiday at Asterias Village Resort, firstly I can say how impressed I am with not only the resort but the surrounding area, restaurants and scenic views. The swimming pool area was very clean and they cleared the pool at 19:00 every night to have it cleaned for the following day.

The room we original had wasn't the greatest and seemed different to what I originally booked but once I asked to be moved they were more than happy to change our room for us and I was more than happy. ( definitely upgrade your pillows )

I can't thank Sandy enough in the kids club who kept the kids well entertained and they loved her, they were more interested in going there instead of other events I was trying to plan lol!!

Even though there was a big mix of nationalities I found everyone to be very welcoming and had no problem with language barrier etc, the only little thing I would change was the same old breakfast buffet that got a little boring of the same thing every day.

Aside from that we are already looking to book for next year and have recommended it to friends who will also be coming with us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rop151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koutouloufari, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We are now into the start of our second week here at Asterias Village and are loving life here. We had read up on reviews before booking so were prepared for the steps down to reception/apartments. Arrived at night and the pool area all lit up looked incredible, we couldn't wait to be a part of it the next day. The studio apartment was perfect for us. Kitchen dining area with separate bedroom. Ample space for the both of us and lovely sized balcony. The rooms were cleaned almost every day, so far Sunday is the only day we haven't had room cleaned. Always plenty of beds by the pool, quite a family orientated place so never roudy, just nice chilled atmosphere around the pool. The guys that work here are super friendly and helpful. We've eaten at The Olive Restaurant once so far but will be eating again there as the choice from the buffet was really good. There are some incredible Restaurants in the village of Koutouloufari. Check the reviews on trip advisor-they are pretty spot on. We had to book a table at The Alchemist as it is always busy. We have been working our way down the top list and each meal each evening has been perfect. The Cretan food is delicious.
We have fallen in love with Koutoulafari. It is pretty, romantic, friendly, atmospheric. Just a stunning
little place and we are so glad this has been our first taste of Crete. Loving it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fairlie0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#8 of 36 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asterias Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asterias Village Resort

Property: Asterias Village Resort
Address: 59 Evropis, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Asterias Village Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asterias Village Resort is located on a prime crossroad of the Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutouloufari settlements, offering a unique panoramic view of Hersonissos and the Cretan Sea. That location gives one the opportunity to choose between the dynamic modern developments of the cosmopolitan settlement of Hersonissos, and the traditional culture and architecture of the two beautiful old villages: Koutouloufari and Piskopiano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asterias Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Village Hotel Chersonisos
Asterias Village Resort Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing