We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asterias Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
Astra Village Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Creta Blue Suites(Koutouloufari)
US$120
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marni Village(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundance Apartments & Suites(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$45
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petra Village Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$17
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dedalus Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
347
217
29
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
217
29
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoliva restaurantkids clubhalf boardself cateringpool barair concourse mealshuttle busyour luggagehomemade lemonadebuffet stylelovely locationplenty of sunbedsgreat holidayrestaurant staffreception staffwalking difficulties
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2007

We recently stayed for a week at the Asterias Village in Piskopiano, Hersonissos and it was one of the best holidays we have had.
We arrived very early in the morning and were faced with the many steps down to reception but were pleasantly surprised to see the night staff man (built like Arnie!!) arriving in his little van to take our bags down for us. We then attempted the steps ourselves, much easier going down of course but not really a problem anyway unless you have mobility problems. We were provided with a Booklet about the Asterias and a kind welcome from the owner, it also contained maps, information leaflets and recommendations on activities and restuarants etc.
We were taken to our room and we were lucky enough to have one of the rooms with a traditional 'onta' room which is a loft space to sleep in, so we had a small flat really which was very nice. There was a TV, Kettle and Hairdryer and a shower cubicle in the room which is unusual in self catering in Greece. Our room 91 in Nautilus House also had a nice balcony with a front view of the pool area and the mountains and a side view of the sea.
There are many travel companies in the hotel from Kosmar who we traveled with to MyTravel and many German, Dutch and others too so a nice varied mix.
In the Ground of the Complex is a Chuch of St George which is actually in use and a meeting took place while we were there which is fascinating. You can go inside and take pictures and possibly repent your sins for all the Raki and Metaxa you might drink!!
There is a Pool Bar which is open from 10-6 everyday which is run by Tony who is great fun and always happy. He serves a great selection of food and drinks for very reasonable prices.
The restuarant Oliva is open to all is located on the main road but is part of the hotel. They have a very large menu and offer 10% discount for Asterias Guests, just show your room key before you order. The best thing is that they have a 4 course menu for 12.90 Euros which is amazing value seeing as you get a starter, followed by a salad, Main and Desert and they don't scrimp on the portions either. The Staff are very friendly although some of them couldn't understand me and I have a very English accent with no local dialect atall, they thought I was dutch, but trying a few Greek words always helps.
A few extra details are prices of the Aircon which is 7 Euros a day, the safe is 15 Euros per week and to keep your room on is 30 Euros although if you stay till the early hours of the following morning they will charge you 40 euros. We did this and to be honest I would much rather pay 40 euros than sleep on a sun lounger outside!!
It is a 20 minute walk to the beach on the way down but much longer on the way up, some people walked it although we hired a car and drove down. A Taxi costs about 5 Euros each way.
The location of the Asterias Village is right in the middle of the villages Piskopiano and Koutelefari which are both less touristy than the main Hersonissos resort. It has many lovely restuarants ranging from Traditional Greek to Mezes, chinese and international cuisine. There are some good bars, the sports bar is good for watching a match and the Astra Bar on the main road is good too. Also many traditional shops, ladies clothes boutiques, supermarkets and some tourist shops. Hersonissos itself has a good nightlife and restuarants too.
All in all we had a fabulous holiday and would love to thank the owner and his family and all the staff for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank 122109b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

10 out of 10!!!!!! to the owners Dimitris and family and every member of staff even the domestic staff.
My family and i travelled to ASTERIAS apartments last summer and had a super time here.

There are many steps down to most of the apartments and the poolside etc., so not ideal for anyone with walking difficulties, so take note, but if stairs are not a problem then go for it!!!
Our apartments were very clean, and cleaned every day, with fresh bedlinnen and towels every few days. There is a hair dryer in most of the apartments so worth checking out before you lug your own with you! The pool and poolside, play area, gardens, etc. are beautiful always very clean and well maintained, The pool is a fair size though no diving, mind your feet, its a wee bit slippy on the way in, I nearly landed on my butt, much to the amusement of my family a few times, one for the video too!!!!! A Jacuzzi, but only on at certain times though, There is a kids pool, a small play park for the wee ones and some pool and table tennis tables.
It is very very warm at night, but you are in Greece after all, so if you want some air con, then budget for it before you go, as it can be a little expensive, during the day it can get very very hot, but there is a lovely cooling breeze and sometimes wind, as the resort is built on the hillside and it can be very refreshing but dont forget the sun cream! Asterias has some of the most beautiful views over the hillside and Hersonissos and lovely sunsets also.
Everyone knows that when you go on a self catering holiday that you dont expect to find your own kitchen awaiting you, the kitchen areas anywhere are always very basic but all said we had enough utensils to cook ourselves the odd breakfast, lunch or dinner, but we are on holiday so ate out many times, and most of the restaurants are very reasonably priced.
Asterias boasts its own restaurant upstairs, called, OLIVA, the service we received and the food we ate were second to none and we were always made feel welcome by Dimitri his family and staff.
There is also a pool bar downstairs which serves snacks during the day and we again were always treated with a warm friendly face, namely Tony during the day and Remus at night.
George was our receptionist and was always very helpful and friendly towards us too.
In and around Asterias are the lovely villages of Piskopiano, Koutouloufari and old Hersonissos all boasting tasty restaurants, tavernas, gift shops and more. The added friendliness and warm welcome we always received was superb.
If you hire a car or brave the local bus service then you can find some nice beaches further afield, buy a map or ask the locals, they are worth a look.
Old Hersonissos village has a Greek night every Monday evening with live music and traditional dancing, so make sure you have suitable shoes if you want to join in, maybe book a table at one of the many restaurants or just go along a little earlier (maybe before 8) so you can get a table as it can get very busy, its about a ten minute walk from Piskopiano and there are some stunning views along the way, but on your return its a very dark road so maybe take a torch or book a taxi.
There are a lot of fun bars to visit for bbq nights or karaoke if you want to give your singing voice a go, but if you want to head to a nightclub youv got a long hike downhill to Hersonissos itself, maybe 15 mins at a nice walk, slightly longer if your coming home, and longer still if youv been sampling the local beverages, but taxis from town are usually no more than 5 euros.
Crete is a beautiful island and there are many sites and places you must visit, but shop around for prices, and sometimes you may get a good deal if you book more than one excursion, same with car hire.
We are lucky enough to have made many friends around this area over the years, and are delighted to say that we made more new friends at Asterias last year.
I could probably name every restaurant or taverna/bar as my favourite as each one had its own special dish or reason for going back a second or third or more time but everyone has there own tastes so your favourite would be down to you.
I dont think, and I would hope, that nobody would ever have a bad holiday in this area, and at the end of the day YOU make your own holiday too,
My family and i want to return again to Asterias unanimously and are going again in June this year, maybe we will see you at the bar for an ouzo!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
24  Thank weesunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonisVoltyrakis, Manager at Asterias Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonisVoltyrakis, Manager at Asterias Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Appartementen naast de trap vinden wij het beste.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonisVoltyrakis, Manager at Asterias Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews