We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly - Villa Iokasti, Koutouloufari”
Review of Villa Iokasti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Iokasti
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one week in mid July. We very much enjoyed our stay, all staff made us feel very welcome, and 'Kate' and 'Dimitri' were superb hosts.

The village was described by our taxi driver from the airport as 'traditional' and it didn't disappoint in terms of an excellent array of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. Whilst clearly an area that is frequented by tourists, this location is the complete opposite from Hersonisos port (approx. 2miles below Koutouloufari).

The Villa had a lovely pool, and there was always enough sun loungers available. We had a well appointed, clean studio apartment. It was equipped with everything required and was comfortable (pay extra for the aircon as it is worth it). Our room did have a fairly loud fridge which took a couple of nights getting used to, but this was the first time staying in self catering apartments so that could be the norm, and by no means detracted from the holiday.

For food, the on-site restaurant / café is very good, and well worth eating in. There is also a shop opposite, which sells usual items found in a convenience store. It also has small bakery which was very handy for breakfast and lunch. Within the village as mentioned, there are lots of great restaurants and we tried about 7 or 8 whilst there, not one was disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Iokasti hotel we have only positiv to speak about you. The staff and the owners are most welcome and we like you so much. We hope other People from Norway read this and visit Iokasti Hotel becuase this is a great stay. The Food in Iokasti is perhaps in the top ten in all of Crete resturants. The Food are fresh and nice coked for customers. We also like the rooms in the appartments With nice and plane white style in the rooms. Bathrooms look New and cleen, in other words very good all over in Iokasti.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed here with a friend for four nights and we fell in love with the place! Every individual villa has its own kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom, and a balcony. There was plenty of space and everything was tidy and clean.

The place is away from the party crowd and about a 20-minute walk to the town, buses, and the beach. Katie was super friendly and made the stay even more enjoyable. Lokasti is also a restaurant that serves excellent food in a nice setting.

I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at this wonderful little hotel. Dimitris and katerina were so lovely and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble for them. This is the most friendly place we've ever been to. The restaurant food was delicious especially the Cretan roast lamb and potatoes. The room was adequate but excellent for the price and we had the ground floor poolside room which was very convenient. Although we hated Hersonissos as a resort -loud and noisy, the village of Koutouloufari and the neighbouring villages were delightful and I could have happily spent a week in the villages without touching the town. Plenty of lovely restaurants in the village. We had a car to visit a few of the sites - Spinalonga, Knossos and Lisithi and it was very easy to get on to the main road without touching the main resort of hersonissos.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in villa Iokasti in September 2012. I promised Katie( Katarina ) that we would write a review but I haven't come round to it until now.
We do definitaly recommend Villa Ioakasti to anyone who is looking for a quiet holiday in a traditional Greek setting. Villa Iokasti is a very pitoresque place to stay, made up out of several appartments which are situated on different levels giving it the atmosphere of a small village on it's own. The appartements are clean and tidy and the kitchen has the basic house hold items. If you require anything else you can always ask Katie and she is always happy to try and provide you with the item you require. If I remember right cleaning is done twice per week.
The swimming pool is kept clean very good as well and the time that we stayed there were always plenty of sunbeds available. We had diner several times during our weeks stay in Villa Iokasti and as many other we agree that the food is excellent!

Villa Ioakasti is in 2 minutes walking distance of the historic center of Koutoulofari where there are plenty of restaurants to enjoy oneself in the evenings. The town is situated on the slopes of the mountain above the very touristic Chersonissos. Although we have read that you can walk down the mountain we were glad we had a rental car to go there since in combination with the heat in can be quite a tough walk. Expect to be walking down for about 15 to 20 minutes and remember you will have to walk back up again as well. Shoes are recommended. Alternatively you can easily rent a scooter in one of the many rentals available in town.

You can find a small supermarket in the street straight across Villa Ioakasti which also includes a backery which we found to be very handy for some fresh baked bread in the morning to be enjoyed in front of our appartement.

Although it is already a while ago we would like to thank Katie, Dimitris and Nicolas for a great stay and the excellent service that we experienced here. If you want to experience authentic Greece and a relaxing holiday be sure to visit Villa Iokasti.

Danny and Esther from Holland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Great place tot stay, exceptionally friendly! You feel right at ease. Accomodation was clean and tasteful. The food in the restaurant is very good and you sit on a beautiful terrace. In one word LOVELY.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Iokasti is the best you could hope for when looking for somewhere to stay in Crete. Built on the side of a hill overlooking the sea, it's simple shuttered rooms ( and air con ) make you feel as if you are in an old fashioned greek village, with terraces and tree-shaded courtyards . You walk in to the hotel through the veranda 'cafe '... rather a misnomer, the food, cooked by the owner is the best I have eaten in Crete. River cafe eat your heart out. Dimitri Vassilaki chooses the very best fresh ingredients and cooks them so that each ingredient speaks for itself . We had haloumi and sun dried tomatoes ( dried by himself, of course..) which made you think quite differently about each, and what a combination they made. Ketty makes the breakfast marmalade and jams and the puddings

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundance Apartments & Suites
Sundance Apartments & Suites
#9 of 13 in Koutouloufari
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Iokasti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Iokasti

Address: 10 Ag. Konstantinou, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Iokasti 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Iokasti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iokasti Hotel Koutouloufari
Villa Iokasti Crete/Koutouloufari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing