We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A castle for our dog”
Review of The Stables

The Stables
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Malling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stables
Ranked #4 of 5 West Malling B&B and Inns
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A castle for our dog”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A very good place for holidays with a dog. Only a short walk into the city. No risk for drivers. But much fun and good food simple at the Five Stars Pub or the little Breakfast-Offer in the small road near the chinese. Of course the chinese is a good adress for good food too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralf w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The rooms are dingy with very cheap uncomfortable beds. The toilet cistern wouldn't stop filling all night, the shower was a dribble and the heating was erratic.

On making a booking for Xmas we were told we could either pay with a card now or leave cash in the room after our stay.

There was a bit of confusion so didn't leave cash, and they wouldn't accept a credit card over the phone. "We only take cash over the Christmas period because we are not always around", "But you are now!", "Sorry only take cash". But they would have taken cash at the time of booking.

I have never known it so hard to pay for my accommodation and found the staff over the phone very surly.

If it is too difficult for them to open over Christmas then they shouldn't open over Christmas.

I can thoroughly recommend putting a lot of effort into finding somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotDave320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I were due to stay here for one night but had to return home after a couple of hours of arriving due to a family emergency. It's very difficult to find even using the post code on a sat nav as there is no signage to indicate the entrance is a B&B or a property called the stables. The surrounding and area is very pleasant but the rooms are located within what appears to be a working farm, therefore there were quad bikes and tractors driving past within a few feet of our window. On arrival reception wasn't attended and communiaction was via the phone in the room. Access to the room is gained by an access code on a keypad. The room was clean but very basic with cheap furnishings etc and a very small screened television. Not sure the DIY breakfast qualifies as a continental as it only consists of some bread to use for toast,small boxes of cereal, milk and cartoned juice. Although most of the shortcomings were reflected in the price we would only recommend it to business users, the lack of contact with customers and impression that it is run as a business and not by an owner with passion and a focus on 'the customer experience' left us feeling disappointed in the short experience we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Unfortunately the directions on the website are some kind of flash animation that we couldn't print out, they also assume that you are approaching from the M20 which we didn't and it wasn't until we went back on the A228 that we were able to find it. Comfortable room but slightly saggy internally sprung mattress. Good shower. Liked having our own front door with stable doors. Good range of breakfast cereals, fruit and things to put on toast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank m25doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family as we had a party in West Malling, we had 2 rooms and entry is via a keypad you provide a number for in advance. You are supplied with a foodstuffs, bread, cereals and fruit with tea and coffee making facilities. The accommodation is spotless, a very comfortable bed a kitchenette and shower/ bathroom. We had a marvellous time and thoroughly recommend the stables. On the morning we left we were in a dash to get to church and my sons had not washed up, I didn't have the time to do it so belated apologies to the Stables for that and thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room is smallish but has a kitchenette with the quietest fridge that makes no noise at night! There is a small table with 2 chairs to eat at and an easy chair in front of the flat screen free view TV. A do-it-yourself breakfast is left each morning - cereals, milk, bread (for toast), juice, water as well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits. Bathroom is very well equipped with good hot water. Location is in Stables, a walk away from West Malling, so is very quiet.

We would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatFromPottenEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we had booked a meal in a local restaurant and wanted to stager back to our accommodation afterwards.

Their website is very basic, but do not let that put you off, contact on the telephone was very polite and the booking process straightforward. Each room is a converted stable and access is via a keypad and security code which you provide in advance.

The room was very clean and had everything which we required. The kitchen area was furnished with fresh bread, milk and cereals for breakfast, as well as a selection of fresh fruit.

The shower was nice and warm and it is only a 5 minute walk into West Malling high street.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 which was very nice with the sun shining through the window in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulhchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Malling
0.9 mi away
Larkfield Priory Hotel
Larkfield Priory Hotel
#15 of 15 in Maidstone
313 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
5.0 mi away
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Hadlow Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hadlow
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,593 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
7.4 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables

Property: The Stables
Address: Hermitage Farm Lucks Hill, West Malling ME19 6HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > West Malling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Malling
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two converted Farm buildings at Hermitage Farm, provide very comfortable en-suite accommodation with self catering facilities, just 10 minutes walk to the attractive small town of West Malling, and 5 minutes walk to the main line train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stables West Malling, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing