We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ratan Villas: Mount Abu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fern Ratan Villas
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mount Abu
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ratan Villas: Mount Abu”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We recently visited Ratan Villas Hotel in Mount Abu and it was truly a memorable experience.!!! The property is very good and view around hotel is quite serene. Hospitality of the hotel is excellent and extremely warm. Hotel Owner Mr. Siddharth is extremely supportive and accommodating and it would be a stay that one will surely cherish. Hotel rooms are spacious and very very good. Food quality, taste is really excellent and mouth watering. Round the availability of food within the hotel and its on-toes staff ensures that you never remain empty stomach even at midnight... If one is visiting Mount Abu then Ratan Villas is the place to stay...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuraj_benara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    182
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
249
160
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

It is a excellent property which is a home away from home excellent interiors and cosy homely bunglows, good homely food and very helpful staff,The owner Mr Siddhartha personally takes upmost care for all the little things that make a difference.
It was a memorable trip, and all thanks to his entire group .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamSingh, Owner at The Fern Ratan Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that the Ratan Villas was able to positively contribute to the first visit of your wife and daughters to Mount Abu. Your kind words of appreciation.

The team here strives to deliver a service which is genuine, discreet and at the guests pace.

I would imagine that you would not return to Mount Abu for a while, but if you do, we look forward to the pleasure of seeing you back.

Stay well.

Gautam Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were made most welcome by Siddharta, the young, elegant owner and his team. Very cosy bungalows with all amenities,( 24 hour hot water, extra blankets or heaters if needed as it can get quite cold at night) delicious rajasthani,vegetarian food cooked to order and served in the room. Peace and tranquility reign in this special haven where your wishes are granted with refined simplicity.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamSingh, Owner at The Fern Ratan Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and Siddharth is no doubt an amazing guy, he is handling everything in an immaculate way with his team. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities provided met your expectations.

The best part about Ratan Villas is the serene surroundings which really add a natural beauty of being here - away from the chaos of the city as you have rightly stated.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again.

Thank you and best regards.

Gautam Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ratan villas was recommended to us by one of our friend who stayed there last year....the hotel is located in open wild life sanctuary zone and is a perfect place to relax in peace.... the main attraction was the amazing home cooked food and ever smiling faces who were constantly on their feet to serve us.. the best part was sighting 2 sloth bears for almost 1 hour.... thanks Gautam, Siddharth and Khiyaram for the amazing time and lovely memories...

Room Tip: Avoid the palatial bungalow rooms as they dont have any view. Go for the luxury cottage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shruti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamSingh, Owner at The Fern Ratan Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and the unique experience to see the sloth bears from foot long distance met your expectations.

We thank Mr. Agarwal for recommending you Ratan Villas.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again.

Stay Well.

Gautam Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

we recently stayed at ratan vilas on 16 feb 2012.i would like to say that its worst hotel, cleanness is nil, hardly any staff .It took 2 hrs for check in and rooms are pathetic and quality of food is also horrible. After reading the below reviews we though of staying there but know i think its not written by real travelers ,its not value for money staying there but its waste of money.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sweagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamSingh, Owner at The Fern Ratan Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

While reading your response on Trip Advisor, I was really wondering as to whether you were actually writing about the Ratan Villas or about some other property! I would like to believe that we are far from what you have made us out to be - more in line with the very wonderful experience we have provided for our so many other guests on Trip Advisor.

What really does surprise me is that Siddharth met with you on at least three occasions during your stay with us and you did not give any indication of even one short-coming during our conversations, except for the driver facility - which due to construction ban in Mt Abu we are unable to provide.

Having said that, I am personally very disappointed that we were unable to provide you with the experience that you were looking for and I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay.

I must admit that you have taken a very extreme position, for reasons unknown to me.

Stay well.

Gautam Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently stayed at Ratan Vilas. 5 Adults and 3 kids from 19th Feb 2012 to 20th Feb 2012 Have to say its not worth the money and there are much much better places in Mt Abu than Ratan Vilas. Makes me wonder whether the reviews of Ratan Vilas were actually posted by real travellers or friends and well wishers of Ratan Vilas.

Our expereince of Ratan Vilas:

1) 7-8KMs from main city, nothing much around,
2) Poor infrastructure, nothing for kids, poor garden with zero manintenance, broken wooden swings, makeshift restaurant with tables and chairs kept, no recreation activities, no swiming pool, even when asked for a newspaper in the morning was told that Ratan Vilas does not get newspaper. As per Siddhartha Singh, the reason for poor infrastructure is slow down of Construction work in Mt Abu
3) If the idea of relaxation is to sleep in peace, then probably the place to be as there's nothing else you can do there, we were the only 5 people staying at Ratan Vilas besides the hotel staff
4) Reception is nothing more than a wooden counter kept in open, hardly attended
5) I must admit the property gives you expereince of animals atleast , we spotted 2 cows and a dog puppy who inspite of complaing a couple of times to the staff kepy chasing the kids.
6) Dont get fooled by Jungle trek as there's nothing that you can spot there.
7) Even the tooth paste and shaving cream in the room were 3 year old and had crossed the "Expiry Date". Maybe its the old stock which is still unused
7) Food was the only saving grace, however very limited choice, even lunch and dinner is fixed meal with no choice. We reached there in the afternoon and had to settle for Snacks as there was no option of a-la-carte food
8) Poor on commitment. We booked the hotel thru Siddhartha Singh who gave us package including B/F, Dinner and Jungle trek - B/F did not have fruits though their menu card states that, when we asked for a 2nd helping of upma, it took them 15 minutes as the chef prepared limited quantity and he had to make it again. We were not told that jungle trek cannot be done with kids, so we had to skip the same, may Siddhartha Singh assumed that we will go for the trek and leave the kids at the mercy of the hotel
9) Spoke to Siddhartha Singh on arrival and wanted to meet him since was disappointed entering the property, however he never turned up inspite of asking him to come and meet us, may be he knew he would not be able to face us.
All i have to say is dont waste your money staying at Ratan Vilas

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank abhinavgupta08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamSingh, Owner at The Fern Ratan Villas, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thanks for taking time out to post a review.

- toothpaste provide to you was actually expired and we would try not to make that mistake again.
- as you were the only guests, the food was freshly made but in limited quantity to check wastages.
- the jungles trek is to take you in wilderness to spot not only birds & animals but also the landscape.(coming across sloth bear and leopard is a rarity)
- our location is 7-8 kms away from town, which u may not have noticed(but clearly mentioned on website)

We commit to improve.

regards
RatanVillas Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I had been with my wife 2 yrs back in December 2010, and fortunate enough the temperature dropped between 4 degree i guess. It was an amazing experience the climate was kool and the service and quality of food was too good.

The location of resort was good and we experienced the Kashmiri Tents which was an amazing experience in itself

Thank You Siddhartha for the gift and the hospitality

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chirag_Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamSingh, Owner at The Fern Ratan Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

For Siddharth and his team, each guest is an individual - unlike most hotels, we are a lodge without any Standard Operating Procedures. Am glad that you enjoyed the sudden drop in Temperature during the winter nights.

We do look forward to having you back with us and assure you of a similar service and experience yet again.

Stay well.

Gautam Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Abu hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Hillock
Hotel Hillock
#1 of 39 in Mount Abu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cama Rajputana Club Resort
Cama Rajputana Club Resort
#18 of 39 in Mount Abu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mount Regency
Hotel Mount Regency
#14 of 39 in Mount Abu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Toppers Corner
Hotel Toppers Corner
#4 of 39 in Mount Abu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palanpur Palace
Palanpur Palace
#10 of 39 in Mount Abu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Karnavati
Hotel Karnavati
#6 of 39 in Mount Abu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Ratan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Ratan Villas

Property: The Fern Ratan Villas
Address: 44 Oriya, Mount Abu 307501, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sirohi District > Mount Abu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mount Abu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Ratan Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a distance of about 7 kms from the Nakki Lake, en-route Gurushikhar, The Fern Ratan Villas, true to its meaning of peace in a special place is nothing short of a heaven on earth. Nestled in the Aravalli’s that abode Mount Abu, this lodge is located at the highest altitude throughout western India, together with being in an open wild life sanctuary. Sloth bear (common) and leopard (rare and by luck) can be sighted. The luxury resort features 20 luxury villas set and 5 rooms around 3 serene acres of land. The resort eco-sensitive zone provides an ideal habitat for the bird - Green Munia. It is the presence of numerous birds which make Mount Abu a paradise for bird watchers. It is in proximity to 5 major tourist destinations in Mount abu:- Delwara - Jain Temple, Achalgarh, Trevor’s Tank and Peace Park. It is en route Gurushikhar, which is the highest peak of the Aravalli Ranges. The Fern Ratan Villas also offers every luxury that one can possibly think of while on a wildlife tour or a peaceful weekend vacation. Forest friendly cottages were incorporated to promote eco-friendly tourism in 2009 A.D at The Fern Ratan Villas, Mount Abu – Rajasthan. It is the first and only lodge which is situated in the heart of the Mount Abu Wild Life Sanctuary. The premise of the Lodge was based on the need to conserve the delicate balance between human and nature and show through example, how tourism can be constructive and when necessary, controlled effectively. We, from the urban environment, have forgotten how to relate to our natural habitat, to respect and nurture it. The Fern Ratan Villas’ endeavour is to propagate this, through real nature interactions, together with the special experience. This is very important balance and its comprehension is missing from the urban life. The Fern Ratan Villas, however is an oasis of serenity and offers a splendid view of gigantic granite rocks, dotted with caves and temple. Crowned by a natural rock of an African elephant - proud guardian to the open forest on one side and the crumbling Aravali hills on the other. It is set amidst trees on a private estate, overlooking a valley and along its northern periphery. It is a fifteen minute drive, further up from the Nakki Lake cutting through the mountains and forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Fern Ratan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing