We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fern Ratan Villas
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Mount Abu
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It was a nice stay in Ratan Villas with family. The cottages and the overall resorts surrounding is great to relax. Lawn, Swings and atmosphere makes you feel great. My kid enjoyed a lot playing in lawn and swings. Food is also good.

Only the service and the facilities mentioned by the management were not up-to the mark.
Few issues to mention:
- We have been offered the trekking in package but haven't been provided. After we asked for it, they were providing trekking guide on the day of leaving when we had to leave early for the next location.
- During our stay, Phone, TV were not working. I had to request TV-remote like 8-10 times.
- Being in forest area, Internet facility is not available.

But overall if you need time to relax, Ratan Villas is nice play to stay...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveKet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ratan Villas is touted to be the best property on Mt.Abu - tucked a little away from the main town (?) of Abu - spread out with roomy cottages and a lovely green lawns in front - that rises up to give way to naturally carved caves in the shapes of faces - that makes for lovely treks as well.

We weren't disappointed. In spite of the heavy rains and the unassailable fog that brought visibility down to only a few inches ahead - once we hit our destination, the Villas, we loved it!

Especially the resident dog - a very friendly lab named Julie that took upon itself to greet us enthusiastically with thumping tail and a very lovely attitude to match :) Our gloomy rain-hit spirits soared - the check-in was a breeze - so were the folks at the front desk. friendly and spreading cheer :)

The cottage or rather the room was pretty spacious - kingsize beds. The lamps or switches took some time to find. But after having already seen the Dilwara temples in the creeping fog ( It was super cool !! like a scene out of the Raiders of Lost Ark movie. The temples itself were pretty majestic and awe-inspiring. The fog added to the atmosphere as well !) - There wasn't much we wanted to do at Abu. The town is a typical hill-station centred around a lake - called Nakki Lake ( believed to be carved out by the nails of the Gods and Goddesses. Nakki - from Nakkhoon or nails ) with lotta eateries spread all around and noisy vendors and tourists milling.

We stuck to the resort - did take a nice leisurely stroll around the property - guided by Julie we set off on the roads as well but soon got bored to come back, boldly venturing a few distance out into the wilds beyond those caves. watched the sunset on a rock with the wind blasting our faces and the rain gods threatening to let go. Then hiked it back to the lawns - and savored the atmosphere drinking in the famous Abu ki Chai.

We weren't planning on much - so the resort was a nice break. to relax and do a stay-cation in between our hectic Rajasthan tour. We loved everything about it.

Ahem - the food well, nothing to write home about. The dining hall is pretty nicely decorated with flags of various countries - nice little quirky stuff on walls. We just had toast/poha and the ever-present Poori ( that was fast becoming staple on our Rajasthani trip now!!)
Early morning we checked out and drove to Jodhpur - seeing the Nakki Lake en route; covered in an unmoving wreath of fog - that was damn cool a sight !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xenosach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Ratan Villas is a beautiful, tastefully decorated and well maintained property and I was there with 31 of my colleagues for an organisational retreat. Positives:

- The property and stay itself was comfortable and appropriate to our needs
-The staff (cleaners, people at restaurant etc) are very courteous and accommodating

BUT, the negatives in my experience seem to outweigh the positives:

-The manager of the property Tulika, needs a lesson or two in guest services and management. Negotiations for the 32 person group was very awkward and not handled well.
- The incident which left us rather stumped was that in the laws of Ratan Villas where we usually hung out in the evenings, there four large marble tables. (Now anyone with a basic training in decoration knows that marble is permeable and is not a great outdoors material, especially if there is exposure to extreme sunlight and rain which weakens it). One night, a colleague leaned at one end of the marble table and it gave way in the spot where the table rested on its wrought iron base. Let alone asking if our colleague was hurt, we were slapped a charge of Rs. 5000 to replace this. This after they confirmed that 60% of the table's marble could be reused.

All in all a good place to stay, but....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sowmyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Away from city located near gurushikhar with beautiful landscapes and garden it is a lovely place to stay. Of you love nature this is the place for you. Good service makes it home away from home. Beautiful cottages yummy food and pictarous surroundings make it best place in Abu to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob_b4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Its a great place to stay. The view from the resort was great, the hospitality was fantastic. It has to be the best place to stay in Mount Abu which is very much lonely in the otherwise crowded hill station The highlight here was the friendly discussion with Siddhartha and Tulika, they made us more comfortable. all other staff are gentle and polite. little far away from city but worth staying there for two nights.

Worst Experience: Nothing.

Room Tip: all cottages are good, only avoid corner cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank swapnilverma99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was very excited to stay at this number 1 rated Specialty lodging in Mount Abu hotel on Trip Advisor.com..
It was a good experience.
Hotel location and other services were excellent..
Food was awesome...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jignesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the place I was looking for. I have visit Mount Abu many times and now there is not place in Abu that I haven’t seen. So this time I was looking only to relax and spend fulltime with my family and I got the same at Ratan Villas what I was looking for.
This is the place we can visit with family or friends.
• Great Service (this is the service we all are looking for much appreciate)
• Great rooms (we can feel oldies (80s or 90s) house in villas)
• Nice breakfast and dinner (they are having many items in breakfast like: bread-butter, puri-shabji, pauva, soup, omlet, fruits salad and etc.)
• Great property (must visit the property, you are going to love this)
• Very nice peoples/service boy, each time when there is eye contact, they use to give us a very sweet smile.
• Don’t forget to enjoy the cup of tea with listening to the bird’s voice at morning just outside you villa.
• And of course no city noise, air pollution, crowd. Only peace of mind.

Special thanks to Tulika and Siddharth (Owners) for all the enjoyment and peace of mind we got at your Villa.

Thanks!
Amit Anchal
09725405551

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AmitAnchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Abu hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Hillock
Hotel Hillock
#2 of 42 in Mount Abu
743 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cama Rajputana Club Resort
Cama Rajputana Club Resort
#21 of 42 in Mount Abu
132 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Hilltone
Hotel Hilltone
#8 of 42 in Mount Abu
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Oak
Hotel Silver Oak
#4 of 42 in Mount Abu
888 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Toppers Corner
Hotel Toppers Corner
#3 of 42 in Mount Abu
185 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Jaipur House
The Jaipur House
#20 of 42 in Mount Abu
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Ratan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Ratan Villas

Address: 44 Oriya, Mount Abu 307501, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sirohi District > Mount Abu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Mount Abu
Price Range: £55 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Ratan Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a distance of about 7 kms from the Nakki Lake, en-route Gurushikhar, The Fern Ratan Villas, true to its meaning of peace in a special place is nothing short of a heaven on earth. Nestled in the Aravalli’s that abode Mount Abu, this lodge is located at the highest altitude throughout western India, together with being in an open wild life sanctuary. Sloth bear (common) and leopard (rare and by luck) can be sighted. The luxury resort features 20 luxury villas set and 5 rooms around 3 serene acres of land. The resort eco-sensitive zone provides an ideal habitat for the bird - Green Munia. It is the presence of numerous birds which make Mount Abu a paradise for bird watchers. It is in proximity to 5 major tourist destinations in Mount abu:- Delwara - Jain Temple, Achalgarh, Trevor’s Tank and Peace Park. It is en route Gurushikhar, which is the highest peak of the Aravalli Ranges. The Fern Ratan Villas also offers every luxury that one can possibly think of while on a wildlife tour or a peaceful weekend vacation. Forest friendly cottages were incorporated to promote eco-friendly tourism in 2009 A.D at The Fern Ratan Villas, Mount Abu – Rajasthan. It is the first and only lodge which is situated in the heart of the Mount Abu Wild Life Sanctuary. The premise of the Lodge was based on the need to conserve the delicate balance between human and nature and show through example, how tourism can be constructive and when necessary, controlled effectively. We, from the urban environment, have forgotten how to relate to our natural habitat, to respect and nurture it. The Fern Ratan Villas’ endeavour is to propagate this, through real nature interactions, together with the special experience. This is very important balance and its comprehension is missing from the urban life. The Fern Ratan Villas, however is an oasis of serenity and offers a splendid view of gigantic granite rocks, dotted with caves and temple. Crowned by a natural rock of an African elephant - proud guardian to the open forest on one side and the crumbling Aravali hills on the other. It is set amidst trees on a private estate, overlooking a valley and along its northern periphery. It is a fifteen minute drive, further up from the Nakki Lake cutting through the mountains and forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fern Ratan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing