We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or B&B?”
Review of Kishangarh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kishangarh House
Ranked #13 of 69 Mount Abu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Kishangarh House has a splendid garden, it's very quiet compared to the bustle of Mt Abu.
We stayed in one of the basic cottages.
There is not a manned reception as such and most of the time it is difficult to find anyone responsible.
Food is a bit of a problem. For breakfast you will first have to find someone to arrange this.
Dinner is even more difficult. You have to order 1 hour in advance. When you go and sit on the terrace there is no one around to help you. It may well take another 30 or 40 minutes before dinner is served.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jopo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our best stay during the entire Rajasthan trip. Its a heritage property, well maintained, lot of greenery around, spacious. Rooms are large and clean. Very good food as well as service. Varied menu available for breakfast.

Staff is well trained and courteous. We enjoyed the bonfire in the courtyard.

This property is located at 5 - 10 min walking distance from the market place. Very convenient to walk down during the day time. Not advisable to venture out after dark since apparently Bears are sighted often nearby this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShivangiPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I visit Mt. Abu every year with family or friends.....and there is only one choice for me when it comes to a Hotel - Kishangarh House. The rooms in the main Building are more spacious and have a rich old style feel to them. The ones in the courtyard at the back are bit smaller and newer. Overall its a very comfortable place to stay, with very friendly staff & most importantly Fresh food (which is always a problem to find in Mt.Abu). There are lovely sitting places in the stepped gardens and it is very peaceful yet near to the main market.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place with beautiful nature surroundings, This is the place.We have stayed here for many times, this heritage house of the king of kishangarh is worth a stay, and We loved the place for their Gardens, Veranda, food,service (slow Heritage Style) & location. A very nice place for Mt abu.

Room Tip: The backyard Rooms are not so big but Have a cool veranda & mornings with A cup of coffee is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirdosh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Kishangarh House used to be an outhouse for the Maharaja of Kishangarh, the property has been converted into a hotel..We did not stay in the front part of the hotel, but in the cottage like rooms in the rear part. The rooms were neat, and spacious, so was the bathroom. The rooms opened into a courtyard with a huge mango tree and was a nice relaxing setting. However, there was no view of Mount Abu, which is available from rooms that are part of the main building, and have balconies. The food is decent, but one has to place an order slightly in advance. No worries, as one would also like to check out the other restos nearby, which is something I always do when travelling. At Kishangarh, one can ask for food to be served at the balcony overlooking the sprawling garden...And we had dinner one night at the balcony. Must say it was lovely. It was drizzling outside, and we had hot chapattis served right at our table at just one call. complete privacy and the waiter/attendant was standing nearby but just taking care to not intrude into our quiet dinner. The garden is worth mentioning. On the whole a peaceful and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2012 And we had a great time. The cottage was big and had a verandah with a jhoola. Plus, the hotel has huge, beautiful gardens all around, where me and my husband relaxed and our kid played around freely. We ate at the hotel itself and the food was delicious. The staff was warm and friendly, specially Mr. Kamal. Overall, we had a nice, happy stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PreethiWarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

a very warm & cooperative staff, good clean rooms & excellent surroundings..... worth every penny. kids also enjoyed a lot, the food though is like home made but needs improvement as they took almost 1 hour for every meal to be served, otherwise this heritage house of the king of kishangarh is def worth a try.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vineethnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Abu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hilltone
Hotel Hilltone
#9 of 39 in Mount Abu
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cama Rajputana Club Resort
Cama Rajputana Club Resort
#18 of 39 in Mount Abu
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shiv Villa
Hotel Shiv Villa
#11 of 39 in Mount Abu
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hillock
Hotel Hillock
#2 of 39 in Mount Abu
723 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Fern Ratan Villas
The Fern Ratan Villas
#3 of 39 in Mount Abu
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aradhana
Hotel Aradhana
#8 of 39 in Mount Abu
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kishangarh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kishangarh House

Address: Rajendra Marg, Mount Abu, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sirohi District > Mount Abu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Abu
Price Range: £45 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kishangarh House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kishangarh House situated in the Hills of Mt. Abu, was originally made in the colonial period around c. 1890 as a royal retreat for the Maharaja of Kishangarh and keeping with those times it is built in the Victorian style of architecture. Located in the center of town, it boasts of massive gardens overlooking the hills. It provides the unique combination of being secluded from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding markets as well as being well connected to all popular site seeing areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kishangarh House Hotel Mount Abu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing